China,+13 129,+14.5 112,+17 189,+21 226 PMPS 296,+2.5 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
After a 438 at +2 last night and a reduction in dose, a 90 was the last thing I was expecting this morning. After yesterdays craziness, I could have used a quieter day.

Will retest in 60 minutes @ +12 (She did eat a little but not near as much as she usually would)

+12 @ 105 Can retest in an hour again, but going to have to get some advice as to how to handle tomorrow since I have a doctor appointment I've waited 6 weeks to get



I really needed to try to push her back some to more like 10:30 than 11:45 due to doctor appointments for me, but will just have to play it by ear. Won't sacrifice her health for my time constraints

Yesterdays condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97938
 
Re: 6/19 China +11 90, +12 102 Stall until when?

The 90 is pretty much the same number as the 102, so at least she is surfing along and not rising or dropping.
When you shoot is up to you and when you feel comfortable shooting. Keep in mind that the delayed shot will affect the time of the next shot and those following.

Read the stickeys at the top of the page on how to handle low numbers.

If you choose to skip the shot then you can adjust your shot time to whatever you like for this evening, like you could shoot at +23 if that suits you best.

Hopefully, some others can help you decide. I have to log off now, because I'm at work.
 
Re: 6/19 China +11 90, +12 102 +13 129...Advice please

Considering yesterday, I'm just a little gun shy of giving her ANY insulin at such a low number today....She's not eating as much as she normally would either

What would you advise at this point?
 
Re: 6/19 China +11 90, +12 102 +13 129...Advice please

Chris --

I'm just seeing your post. I'm at work and won't be able to stick around. What did you decide?
 
Re: 6/19 China +11 90, +12 102 +13 129...Advice please

I really don't know what to do. I'm going to retest now and see where we're at. As little as she's eating today, I'm scared to give her the insulin considering yesterday
 
Re: 6/19 China +11 90, +12 102 +13 129...Advice please

She's coming up, but you have to decide whether you can live with the new schedule if you shoot now. If you want to shoot, I'll be around today. Since this is the lowest you've ever shot, I'd get a +1 and a +2 test. BTW, when they start lower, the cycles are usually flatter, but it could still be an active one. As the saying goes, you hold the syringe.

Due to the nature of the Lantus depot, sometimes you can see action for a couple of cycles after a reduction until the depot is drained. That's likely what happened last night. Skipping a shot would help drain the depot, but China would likely zoom up.
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +1 129, +2.5 112...Advice plea

OK...Recap so far today

+11 BG 90


At this point, not sure how to continue with numbers..+12, +13, +14.5 because no shot yet????

at what would have been the AMPS time (+12) BG 102 No shot given
+1 BG 129
+2.5 BG 112 But she did eat better than she has today, so go ahead and give shot? If so, how much? The same "heavy" .75? Or just hold and retest?
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +13 129, +14.5 112...Advice pl

Have you decided not to shoot today? Normally when we are delaying to see if the numbers rise, we don't feed, but it sounds like you've given China breakfast already?

If so, you've got it right with the +13, +14.5 etc.
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +13 129, +14.5 112...Advice pl

Well it's 2:20pm...didn't think I could expect her to go without food the entire day...this is all still new (especially these lower numbers) so just not sure what to do
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +13 129, +14.5 112...Advice pl

At this point, I think skipping is the best option. You can then resume with your desired PS time of 10:30 tonight. China will get back on track and will be safe today because you didn't give insulin this cycle.
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +13 129, +14.5 112...Advice pl

OK..Thank you for helping me. I'm not naive enough to think she's going to stay in these pretty blue colors, but when they're so close to "normal", it's a scary thing to give the shot...especially considering yesterday's numbers

Since I haven't given any insulin today, would tonight be a good time to make a change to shot times? Just to 10/10
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +13 129, +14.5 112...Advice pl

I totally understand. I freaked out the first couple of times Neko gave me blue preshots. She loves to dive, earned her first deduction from 470. :o It's so much better if the cat eases you gradually getting lower and lower preshots - but they seldom do that. They are cats after all. You are also still learning what China's cycles look like and they probably will look different when she starts lower. Just wait until she gives you a green preshot - it will happen, but hopefully only after you've lots of practice at blues.

Since you didn't give insulin, it's up to you when you want to give the next shot. 10/10 is fine if that works best for your schedule. Just remember that you shouldn't feed any food for 2 hours before the shot, as that can influence the PS number.

It's great that you got a few tests after normal shot time. It tells you a bit about how long the previous shot lasts in China. It's this overlap with the previous shot that can give lovely flat cycles with Lantus.

I hope she's eating better now.
 
Re: 6/19 China+11 90, +12 102 +13 129, +14.5 112...Advice pl

If she hadn't had the dives to 60 and then 37 yesterday, I probably wouldn't have been quite as freaked, but those were my first flirtations with low numbers..and we started in a high blue..so today's high green/low blue numbers were just setting off too many alarms for me

She did finally eat better, but it was after 2pm before she had much at all. I give her just a taste as a treat for BG tests (followed by her usual meals) and she's usually looking for more, so when she walked off this morning after the first test, it added even more stress, since we were already at a lower than normal number, and she didn't seem to be interested in "breakfast" so if I'd given the insulin, there wouldn't be much to counter it.

I always take the food up at least 2 hours before PS tests and "regular meals" are only offered after those PS numbers (other than a tiny taste as a treat)
 
Re: 6/19 China+12 102,+13 129,+14.5 112,+17 189,+21 226 PMPS

Recap of today

+11 90
+12 102 --stalling
+13 129--stalling
+14.5 112--No shot for AM
+17 189
+21.5 226

Adjustment to 9:30/9:30 shot schedule

PMPS 296 so back to .75+

Here's hoping there's no surprises tomorrow!!

Thanks again for the advice!
 
Re: China,+13 129,+14.5 112,+17 189,+21 226 PMPS 296,+2.5 26

Recap of today

+11 90
+12 102 --stalling
+13 129--stalling
+14.5 112--No shot for AM
+17 189
+21.5 226

Adjustment to 9:30/9:30 shot schedule

PMPS 296 so back to .75+
+2.5 BG 260
+4 BG 189


Sure hope tomorrows numbers make more seen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top