Chianti's first charting

Status
Not open for further replies.

itzj

Member Since 2014
So I started keeping track of Chianti's testing. We've been easing in as he was really resistant to the bg testing. We are always testing preshot, but did a first mini curve today, testing at 3 hour intervals after his morning shot. His numbers seem a little all over the place, and I am a little confused by his curving numbers today. He does have access to chow still, though the bowl he eats from has been changed to a diabetic friendly chow (we have 11 cats, the chow is going to always be there). He gets wet before each shot and if he cries for it in the kitchen I will give him a little more. All diabetic friendly.

After today's curve, I plan to up him to 2 units tomorrow. I just don't understand why he was so high today. I thought after yesterday's numbers that they would be similar to that, so I am confused. He definitely seemed lower energy today as opposed to Monday the first day on 1.5 where he was really perky.

I'd appreciate any input on what I have so far. I know it is scanty, but it's just all we could manage so far. I didn't feel like I had enough to post in the relaxed lantus group yet.
 
Its a good start.

Please reade my signature link Glucometer Notes to understand more about what the numbers may mean.

I see that overall, you started in the 400s at amps and were down to the high 200s at pmps, rather than going back up to the 400s. That amps may be a bounce from going low overnight. And it can take bounces as much as 3 days to clear.
 
Hi

I am new too so can't really offer much help

What insulin are you using? As you might like to post your question in one of the specific forums. If it is lantus the advise that you take it up only in 1/4 units. I am not sure about the other insulin a. You then hold it on that dose for five to seven days unless you are managing to get a couple tests throughout the day and night and then increase.

As BJM said bounces can happen wish BG drops quickly and from what I have read unless they indicate the dose is too high you keep at he same dose until the bounce clears. The various stickies in the specific insulin forums are a great help.

Testing does get easier. Make sure you give a treat after each test and I found warming the ear with a rice sole really helpful.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
He is on lantus. I've been hesitant to post there until I feel like I know what I'm doing. I mean I feel like I do and then I look at his numbers and then I just don't know.

We upped his dose to 2 units and it looks like he is bouncing again. Maybe, idk. Guess we'll ride out the rest of the week and see what happens. He seems to post lower numbers before his pmps. I'm going (and by I'm I mean dh because he currently is the all things needles guy, Chianti seems to tolerate it better from him) to get nadir readings on the nights he tests lower to see what number is causing him to bounce.

So is the 3-5 days the amount of time for their bodies to stop freaking out over the dropping? Or will some of them always bounce if they hit a certain level? Is this kind of like going swimming and the water is too cold? You dip in the cold, freak out back up and then ease back in slowly?
 
From what I have read it takes three or so days for the bounce to clear. I think that maybe the first few times they drop lower than before their body freaks out and pumps more glucose out to compensate. But then it gets used to the lower numbers. That is why it is better to make small dose adjustments then wait for the bounces to settle.

Remi is currently bouncing from going low on his new dose. I am hoping it will settle. The more tests you can get in the more you can get an idea or what is going on..

Post on the relaxed lantus forum. It is great for newbies that don't have loads of tests on their spreadsheet.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top