Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 now 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Here is my current thread on the relaxed forum. I know there maybe more eyes on this forum and just curious what to do as far as testing and feeding today. She recently had a .25 dose increase. Thanks
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=115630

I need advise please! She is dropping..do I feed now?
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Personally I would feed something, not necessarily high carb, but get 'some' food in. Especially if kitty is acting starving. (I am not a lantus user, so take this with a grain of salt)

edit: I'm sure the Lantus pro's will chime in too, but I believe a 49 calls for a dose reduction in the lantus protocol (saw on your SS, guessing the increase is too much for kitty)
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

OK,

Just saw on her chart that she's 49 at +3.5.
You don't want her dropping any lower at this stage so you've done the right thing in giving a couple of tsps of higher carb food.
If that doesn't bring her BG up then I'd suggest you give another tsp of higher carb food with a couple of drops of syrup/glucose or honey in it.
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Me again,

This exact same thing happened to my cat, Bertie, yesteday. So I really know how stressful this can be. (((Hugs))).

If it were my cat I'd be testing about every 10-12 minutes at this point purely because you don't want your kitty dropping lower. There's still quite a while to go before the peak of the cycle.
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

If you give a few drops of honey/glucose you should that should affect her blood glucose pretty fast.
In my cat it has an effect within about 12 - 15 minutes.
It works fast and it wears off fairly fast, so it's important not to assume that it's effect will hold. You may need to repeat that action.

Solid food works more slowly to raise the BG but has an effect for longer. So ideally, it is good to have a bit of both on board, but only small amounts of food. You don't want her getting too full. You may need her to eat later.

Any update?
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 n

Ok..she was at 60 +4 after 2 tsp hc gravy. I am posting updated on the Lantus tight reg. forum and Angela has been great helping me over there! Thanks for all the replies and paws crossed for the rest of today!
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Thanks Elizabeth! I am a little stressed but Im doing fine. I knew sooner or later I would have to post for help on a low number. Ive seen it over and over on here, but it still is a bit frightening when its happening to me! I am glad I timed the recent dose increase so that I would be home to monitor in case. Altho that being said, Chi Chi has fooled me more than once and decided to drop or rise unexpectedly confused_cat .
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Laura&Chichi said:
...it still is a bit frightening when its happening to me!
I am glad I timed the recent dose increase so that I would be home to monitor in case. Altho that being said, Chi Chi has fooled me more than once and decided to drop or rise unexpectedly confused_cat .

Oh hi, Laura,
I just popped over to the Lantus forum to see how you're doing over there, and meanwhile you're over here on health. :lol:

Yes, it IS a bit frightening! It's happened to Bertie quite a few times over the years (and he had a few hypos too in the early days), and even though I've got pretty used to managing his BG drops now it still really gets the adrenalin pumping every time. It can leave you feeling completely exhausted (although somewhat relieved!).

I strongly recommend wine or chocolate later. Or both. (For you, I mean, not Chi Chi! :lol: )

Eliz
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Yes Elizabeth, Im on 3 forums today! I sorta panicked this am and got impatient, so I posted on 3 forums to get eyes on my dilemma. Chocolate is def in my plans later! Heck, I just realized that its 2:30 pm and I haven't eaten a bite! Oh, and still in my sleep clothes and house coat :o
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Laura&Chichi said:
... Heck, I just realized that its 2:30 pm and I haven't eaten a bite! Oh, and still in my sleep clothes and house coat :o

Ha-ha, Laura. I know I shouldn't laugh but I SO know what that's like. You don't think about anything else while this is going on, do you? It really concentrates the mind like nothing else I know.

Enjoy that chocolate (and 'real food' would probably help too! )

You did amazingly today. Those of us who post to give support or advice in these situations have the advantage of being removed/distanced from the real situation and from the ultimate responsibilty. When it's 'our own cat' whose blood glucose has nose-dived, and it's up to us to manage it, well, it is a tough situation at times. As I said before, it's happened to me quite a bit with my Bertie, but you never really get used to it. And in a way that's a good thing. It wouldn't do to become cavalier or compacent. :roll:

What you really have learned today - through your own experience of having been there - is that you can manage Chi Chi's blood glucose if it drops lower than you expect. That experience is SO valuable. And if it happens again you will be strengthened by the fact that you have been through it before and the knowledge that you coped brilliantly. You may still need chocolate afterwards though... ;-)

Eliz
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Recap of todays #s
ambg=132/stalled and retested=154/fed and shot
+2=114
+2.5=88
+3=76
+3.5=49 (yikes!) fed 2 teas. hc gravy
+4=60
+4.5=56/fed normal meal time lc food
+5=56
+5.5=78
+6=87
+7=111
Thanks to Angela who "held my hand" thru this!(on tight regulation forum) and everyone else who gave suggestions and advice, or just gave encouragement! :thumbup Oh.. and still testing every hour!
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Congratulations on handling those low readings today.

Those daytime pajama parties are so much easier than the nighttime ones.

As Elizabeth said, you did 'brilliantly' today. A fantastic job of guiding the numbers.

Hope you got a chance for some food yourself and a chocolate reward for you.
 
Re: Chi Chi question on lower # today amps 154 +2.5 is 88 no

Thanks Deb! I can imagine a night time pajama party would be exhausting. At least I haven't lost any sleep(knock on wood!)
I think some Talenti Chocolate/Peanut butter gelato is in order later on! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top