Chi Chi ambg 108..skipped dose..now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
This morning Chi Chi had a bg of 108 and I could not miss work today. I did not give her shot since I could not be there to monitor. My question now is, when I go home tonight and test, I assume it will be high and do I still give her shot at 2u. I increased dose back on Saturday pm, and have not seen any effect really, except for the amps yesterday. Her numbers are really confusing to me, so if anyone can make sense of why she's high at pmps lately, I would appreciate it. Thank you
 
It looks like you guys are getting close to the right dose so you have a couple of options: you can either practice shooting low to stay low or you might want to shave the 2u down to a "skinny" and see if that gives you more shootable pre-shots. Read through the Shoot Low Sticky I linked and let me know if you have any questions or if that seems like something you'll be able to follow.
 
I don't think I would have any issues with shooting that lower # this am if I had been able to be home to monitor her. Just had to be safe. Still no clue why shes high at pmps lately, unless its related to me increasing her meals to smaller more frequent meals. I haven't changed anything else besides the dose increase on Sat. pm.
 
She's high at PMPS because you skipped the AM shot, so there's been no insulin working to help break the food down into the nutrients that Chi Chi's body can use.

Since you skipped the AM shot, the "count" starts over again, so you'll need to go back to 2 units and the count starts over with tonight's PMPS test. Keep giving him the same 2 unit dose every 12 hours until he's been on it a full 6 cycles without any changes in dose. IF he happens to go below 50 during any cycle, that's an automatic reduction of .25 unit.

IF AT ALL POSSIBLE, it'll be a big help if you can get some PM testing in...even just one "before bed" test will help, as well as tell you if it might be a good idea to set an alarm for later in the night to grab another test. Most cats go lower at night, so we need to see where he's going

IF you get a preshot number that you're concerned about, you have these options...You can stall, don't feed, and recheck in 30 minutes. If the numbers go up on the next test, it's probably safe to go ahead and shoot. I've even shot a 55 one night, but I have a lot of testing experience and I know how China's patterns are now.

You can give a reduced dose if that makes you feel better too as well as leaving some higher carb food down for him to eat if his numbers start to drop.

If you get a low Preshot that you need help with, make your Subject line say something like "Chi Chi AMBG 108 STALLING,PLEASE HELP"..Hopefully someone will be online to help

Good luck to you and Chi Chi!!
 
Since you've skipped this shot, expect Chi Chi's #s to rise due to the insulin shed being depleted. It's normal. Simply give the same amount of insulin this evening. You will probably experience some bouncing because of it, but bounces typically clear within a few days, or perhaps a couple more days after that. If you need to raise the dose, please ask for advice before doing so. The folks who are more knowledgeable than I am will help you with that. Have a great day!
 
I second Chris's suggestion of getting night time spot checks in. Reason is that many cats drop lower at night and when you got that 108 in the morning it was likely not the lowest Chi Chi went. Had she gone under 50 it would even have shown you she needs a decrease

I usually recommend 4 tests a day to get a good idea of whats going on

- always before every shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low the cat’s blood sugar is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want the cat dropping too low (under 50).
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what the cat's overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top