Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....Chewy's Pic!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Chewy

PMPS 344 shot .5
+4 312
+6 273

From the early evening reading, I am thinking my days of Mini dosing are limited! I will try to test again, but I am not expecting much drop. If the cycle stays this flat, I am thinking I need to go ahead and increase to 1 unit tomorrow. The only concern I have is Chewy is not eating. I know he was eating at the shelter, because I saw him-- and his bowl only had a little residual food left. I fed him FF beef--no go--so, I fed FF seafood--no go! He finally ate a piece of turkey. I left the food with him and I am hoping in the morning the bowl will be clean. I know that is not the "norm" for feeding and shooting, but he needs to eat. I have not been able to get a ketone test--he hasn't urinated since I have had him.

I am hoping the not eating is a result of the new enviroment, but most diabetic cats are very hungry...so, I will keep a close check on him.

Thoughts?

FWIW--Chewy's stepsister, Kitty's, PMPS (tid) +8 was 121...tick,tock, tick, tock....we wait!!!

Edited to add......Kitty (tid) 9.5---that's my girl...278, more than doubled in 1.5 hours! Shot 3.2.
 
Re: Chewy 2/17

The poor baby. cat_pet_icon I hope he settles quickly. What are options if he doesn't eat? (anti-jinx)

And, of course, go Cool Kitty!
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

Chewy

AMPS 329 shot 1 unit

Last night Chewy's bg moved very little on the .5- test results are in above post. I decided to increase to 1 unit this morning, based on the little movement last night. I was a little apprehensive to give 1 unit on the first cycle of insulin, especially on a night cycle! But, I will be around the house today, so I can keep a close check on him.

I mentioned last night that he didn't want to eat--but, this morning he had eaten all of the FF I left with him. When I fed him this morning, he went directly to the bowl and started eating! He is skin and bones, so I am leaving the food with him-- I know that is not protocal, but I don't want to withhold any food! He is a sweet boy, this morning he greeted me with purrs! Another good note-- only one little urine ball all night!

Chewy's stepsister, Kitty---

AMPS 207 shot 3 units! Go Kitty!


Wishing everyone a Great Saturday from Kittyville......
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

Kitty had a great number!

Chewy isn't doing so bad. Glad he finally ate & seems to be a happy cat. Bless his heart.

Happy Saturday!
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

Sounds like Chewy is adjusting well to his new home ;-) :smile: and GO, Kitty!

Hope y'all have a SUPER day!
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

I don't think it's a bad idea to let Chewy eat as much as he wants, considering he's skin and bones and isn't regulated. Poor baby needs what food he can eat to be able to use part of it.

I also think the 1u is a good idea, hopefully moving him closer to better numbers and better food absorption, especially since you're home to watch him. :smile:

And go Kitty! :-D
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

I'm happy that Chewy is feeling more comfortable and is eating. What a lucky boy to have landed in Kittyville with auntie Kim.

Go Kitty Go!
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

Chewy's mini curve today:

AMPS 329 shot 1 unit
+3.5 211
+5.5 217 surfing....but, not bad for the second cycle!
+8.5 305

Not a lot of drop, but at least he did drop some. I am hoping he will stay in the 300s for his pm preshot.

I am working in the yard and he is laying on the screened porch, in the sun--- watching me. He fits right in here....watching me work! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

That is the start of a good cycle.

Do you hire out for yard work? I'd be willing to lay on the screen porch and watch you too. :lol:
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

Kim you are the most awesome sugar critter momma ever. Good on ya! Glad Chewy is settling in. I’d sit on the porch and watch you too. But I’d need a drink ohmygod_smile drinking24
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

kse said:
I am working in the yard and he is laying on the screened porch, in the sun--- watching me. He fits right in here....watching me work! :mrgreen:

He didn't even offer to pick up a rake? As I said... cats have staff! ;-)
 
Re: Chewy and Kitty 2/17 and 2/18....

Good Evening!

Here is Chewy's mini curve from today's am cycle--

AMPS 329 shot 1 unit
+3.5 211
+5.5 217 surfing....but, not bad for the second cycle!
+8.5 305

PMPS 357 shot 1 unit

The half unit did very little last night. Today, the one unit looks decent to me-- not a lot of drop, but some. Considering this was his first cycle on the one unit and I left food out with him all day, I don't think it is bad.

I could probably increase the dose, but I would rather be SAFE than Sorry! In Time, his dose will probably need increasing, but for now I think it is best to be cautious. I don't need any late night surprises!

He is a really good cat! There is a Picture of Chewy on the DCIN facebook page. I would link it, but... I am not a techie! Saint Sue, where are you? Can someone get Chewy's picture off the blog and post it in PZI...Donna? Lu? Michelle? Someone?! Anyone!
 

Attachments

  • Chewy-1.JPG
    Chewy-1.JPG
    37.3 KB · Views: 578
Oh Chewy bless you little guy.
His picture makes me so sad.

I pray Chewy continues to be in the hands of nothing, but love.

Get strong, eat all of your food & be happy!
cat_pet_icon
 
You know, if Poopy would handle another male in the house (and I know he won't - been there, done that)......

*sigh*

Chewy is gorgeous!
 
Kim, I can't thank you enough for bring Chewy temporarily into your home. If it weren't for you, he might have been dead by now.

Please, if anyone is interested in adopted our dear Chewy, email me at Venita@dcin.info.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top