Chester 2/6

Status
Not open for further replies.

turbocat

Member Since 2012
Last evening PS was 247. I shot .5 and fed (didn't eat much) and at +2 it went up slightly to 279. If I understand correctly that's how long it approx takes for onset? This was with no shot in the morning yesterday due to lower BG reading. This morning he was still at 279. I was too exhausted to get up at 1 am to test him, but I am sure it must have gone down at some point, I hope. I am sick today so should be home most of the day. I'm going to try to skip the earlier tests and do more around nadir, which I have yet to catch because of scheduling.

His poor ears! Since they are so white/pink you can see the bruises still from when I didn't know what I was doing. They still seem to be bruising but I can't tell for sure if it is old bruises or new bruises. He has one spot on his left ear where I get a good droplet, but I hate to keep doing it there. Will the bruising stop if I consistently hold light pressure for a bit after the test? And he really isn't eating as much as I would like. He's gone from free feeding dry food to canned. I'm still feeding the other four dry food. I put it on the dryer (because of a drooler) and herd Chester into the bathroom with his wet. He eats better in the morning, but not as much as I think he should. I think he is so used to grazing. But after he eats what he wants he doesn't go to the dryer where the food has always been kept like he wants to eat the dry food. I keep an eye on him to make sure he doesn't and leave the dry food out to make sure the others all get enough for a while longer before I put it up. I'm just concerned he isn't getting enough to eat, though he seems contented enough.
 
Holding his ear should help as does Neosporin (the kind with pain relief is fine). Just a tiny smear so it doesn't mess with your poking.

What are you giving this am?
 
Yes, I bought some generic Neosporin w/pain relief. Didn't know if that helped with bruising, though. I gave him .5 this morning and going to check nadir to see what happens.
 
So +10 was 164 and +11 was 157. He had a snack after +8. If it's still below 200 in an hour I am in a quandry about what I will shoot. I want to shoot something, so it doesn't pop back up too high. Did .5 last night and this am. Suggestions?

BTW just wondering, at what BG numbers and for how long maintained do people usually try to go OTJ? I know it's way to soon for that, but just wondering if there was a general rule for it that folks are going by.
 
You need a rising number so that's what we'll look for first. Avoid feeding - a snack if he's really unhappy.

The way it "usually" works is that the cat needs less insulin at preshot time. Then the duration of the cycle may lengthen so the bean has to shoot smaller doses off that 12/12 schedule. We call it mini dosing.
 
156 at preshot. Is it awful I wish it was higher so I could give him a shot? I guess I will check it later. I gave him something to eat. He was so hungry, letting him eat a little.
 
Understandable. The scariest time is the first few days when he is in high numbers and you don't have any info. The next scariest time is the end when you are working with low numbers. For you, they have come pretty close together!

I am guessing you will need to skip tonight. No matter what your amps, I would reduce to .25. You want to get two preshot numbers 12 hours apart that you can safely shoot, if possible.
 
Thanks, Sue. I guess at walmart tomorrow I will look for U-100 syringes as well as ketone stix. I'm going to print the conversion table now. :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top