checking in~ Louie AMPS 140 11/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone~
Just thought I'd check in if anyone wanted to have a look at Louie's BG levels this week~ I've been holding him at .40 of Lantus for a couple days now, and he seems to be feeling better. The vet had him between 3-4 units at first, until I was warned that he was being given way to much!
We're adjusting and adapting!
Tracy & Louie
 
Tracy --

Please get at least one test during the PM cycle. Given that Louie can be full of surprises, it's very important to get spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles. You don't want to not test and Louie to register a "LO" again. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.

I'd also encourage you to review the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. In most cases, you want to hold doses for 3 days/6 cycles before making a change in the dose.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Tracy --

Please get at least one test during the PM cycle. Given that Louie can be full of surprises, it's very important to get spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles. You don't want to not test and Louie to register a "LO" again. Many cats experience lower numbers at night.

I'd also encourage you to review the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. In most cases, you want to hold doses for 3 days/6 cycles before making a change in the dose.


Thanks~ today was the first day that I needed to be gone all day, so I could not test mid-day. will test this evening.....must wait a bit since he ate an hour ago.
I'll do more reading~ clearly I'm still VERY much on a learning curve about how this insulin works......
Louie seems fine and wants to eat constantly.....
Tracy
 
personally, it took me months to get it all. and i don't have it all, but i understand most of it. there's just a lot of nuances to learn. that's why we encourage people to ask lots of questions.
 
Keep on doing as well as you're doing, Tracy, and you will find that you are getting it more and more together. Louie is doing fine. Do try to get those spot checks. A check right before bedtime is always recommended.

Enjoy your evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Louie seeming fine is huge!! That's great.

As far as his appetite, once his numbers are more regulated, his appetite will begin to return to normal. With diabetes, when food is metabolized into glucose, the glucose isn't getting into the cells to provide proper nutrition. Instead, it's floating around in the blood. As you find a good dose of insulin, the insulin helps the glucose to get into the cells. As a result, food is getting where it's supposed to and appetite decreases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top