Chatran not eating, should I give insulin? Pls help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatran (GA)

Member Since 2014
Chatran won't eat since last night. I'm due to give his dose in an hour and a half. I read if cat not eating, should not give insulin. His bg is quite high. What should I do? Pls help.

Thank you
 
Hi Rosie.

You want to be sure he has some food on board before shooting. Is there anything he especially likes, even if it's higher carb than you would normally feed? How about baby food (chicken with nothing else is best)? Do you have anything you can crush and sprinkle on top of the regular food, like freeze-dried chicken or salmon? Forti-flora? Some cats like parmesean cheese on their food.

Do you have any idea why he isn't eating? Is he smacking his lips when he smells food? That could indicate he's feeling nauseous.

These are just some ideas off the top of my head. I'm sure others will be along with more suggestions and good advice to help you. Hang in there and keep checking back for new posts. Meanwhile, I'm sending Chatran some good appy vines!
 
Rosie

I saw on Health that he's on flagyl now? Flagyl can also make them sick to their stomachs. My Gracie cannot take it.

Tricia is right that you need to be able to get him to eat before you shoot but if he's still really high, you could give him half of his normal dose as a token dose just to get some insulin in him. However, I'd actually feel much better about you shooting insulin if you could get him to eat. It would be ok to stall his shot a couple hours, if need be, and if you can get back on schedule slowly. The other option is to work at getting him to eat and then shoot at +18. Then his next shot would be 18 hours later which would put you back on your normal shot time. Does that make sense?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Rosie

I saw on Health that he's on flagyl now? Flagyl can also make them sick to their stomachs. My Gracie cannot take it.

Tricia is right that you need to be able to get him to eat before you shoot but if he's still really high, you could give him half of his normal dose as a token dose just to get some insulin in him. However, I'd actually feel much better about you shooting insulin if you could get him to eat. It would be ok to stall his shot a couple hours, if need be, and if you can get back on schedule slowly. The other option is to work at getting him to eat and then shoot at +18. Then his next shot would be 18 hours later which would put you back on your normal shot time. Does that make sense?

He is not taking Flagyl yet, I am going to pick up tomorrow.
Tricia & Cinco said:
Hi Rosie.

You want to be sure he has some food on board before shooting. Is there anything he especially likes, even if it's higher carb than you would normally feed? How about baby food (chicken with nothing else is best)? Do you have anything you can crush and sprinkle on top of the regular food, like freeze-dried chicken or salmon? Forti-flora? Some cats like parmesean cheese on their food.

Do you have any idea why he isn't eating? Is he smacking his lips when he smells food? That could indicate he's feeling nauseous.

I think he had sore tummy. Yes he is smacking hi lips and I see that he have trouble swallowing.
 
Can you at least call your vet? Surely someone is on call for emergencies?

When you say his BG is quite high, what is it? I don't see anything for today on the spreadsheet, but with the time difference maybe I'm not looking at the right day.

A kitty can't go long without eating, especially a diabetic cat. I'd contact your vet and if yours isn't available, phone an emergency clinic for advice.

I can't stay with you, but am sending virtual "EAT CHATRAN!" vibes your way. I sure hope he feels better.
 
Just checking back in but I agree that if you can't get hold of your vet, perhaps a visit to the emergency vet to get something for nausea? A cat who is nauseous just can't eat. They shouldn't have appetite stimulants without something for nausea on board. Two things that can be given for nausea/vomiting are:

1. ondansetron (also called zofran): this is a human drug (so you will need a prescription if your vet does not carry it) often prescribed to reduce nausea from chemo, it works really well for some cats and is recommended by a veterinary panel on pancreatitis. Some cats do better with the second drug listed below for nausea.

2. cerenia: your vet may have this in stock as it is a veterinary drug; while it is primarily for vomiting, it can help with nausea.

Please keep us updated. Sending many healing vines.
 
My vet doesn't have emergency contact - I know it sucks.
He managed to eat at least a tsp of wet food and about 15 kibbles of dry food from my hand, his tum making a funny noises.
I will keep feeding him slowly today and I hope the vet can give me answer with his blood test from few days ago, everything here is very slooooow.

Emergency clinic here don't give advise, I have to chatran there and we only have one here, (we live way out of city)

julie & punkin (ga) said:
Can you at least call your vet? Surely someone is on call for emergencies?

When you say his BG is quite high, what is it? I don't see anything for today on the spreadsheet, but with the time difference maybe I'm not looking at the right day.

A kitty can't go long without eating, especially a diabetic cat. I'd contact your vet and if yours isn't available, phone an emergency clinic for advice.

I can't stay with you, but am sending virtual "EAT CHATRAN!" vibes your way. I sure hope he feels better.

Hi bg before shot is 450 - I went ahead with the shots of 2.5
He was still eating normally up until pre shot and +2 last night and hubby said he did ate a little bit just before he went to bed.

Thank you all for your help
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Just checking back in but I agree that if you can't get hold of your vet, perhaps a visit to the emergency vet to get something for nausea? A cat who is nauseous just can't eat. They shouldn't have appetite stimulants without something for nausea on board. Two things that can be given for nausea/vomiting are:

1. ondansetron (also called zofran): this is a human drug (so you will need a prescription if your vet does not carry it) often prescribed to reduce nausea from chemo, it works really well for some cats and is recommended by a veterinary panel on pancreatitis. Some cats do better with the second drug listed below for nausea.

2. cerenia: your vet may have this in stock as it is a veterinary drug; while it is primarily for vomiting, it can help with nausea.

Please keep us updated. Sending many healing vines.

Will ask my vet tomorrow. Thank you
 
just hoping he's doing better tonight. i'm glad you went ahead and gave him the kibble. if a cat doesn't want to eat, anything they'll eat is ok. in other words, even if it's something like crunchies that you wouldn't normally give a diabetic cat, it's better for him to eat it if he's willing. Lunchmeat, canned tuna (but no onions or garlic if it has veggie broth), warming up the food, sprinkling on parmesan, oregano, catnip can all entice a kitty to eat. If you have access to rotisserie chicken, that's something most cats can't resist.

sending good thoughts your way. I hope he perks up.

if he goes low (under 68 pet glucometer, under 50 human glucometer) and you can't get him to eat, rub karo/honey on his gums.
If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The complete directions for dealing with a hypo are here.
 
Just checking back and hope you got Chatran to eat. Julie's right....sometimes the best food for a cat is the one it will eat; we can always adjust the insulin.

One other favor to ask, please. Once members have responded to your 911, we ask that you remove it. While it's still up, people think there is still an emergency. Thank you :-D
 
Hi Rosie,

How's he doing this afternoon? Sunday is a very long day when you're waiting for your vet to open on Monday. If you live way out of Cairns, I can imagine you feel a bit isolated right now. I can't help but I'm sending lots of good appetite well wishes your way ("appy vines" in FDMB speak).

Grace
 
GraceAndAngie said:
Hi Rosie,

How's he doing this afternoon? Sunday is a very long day when you're waiting for your vet to open on Monday. If you live way out of Cairns, I can imagine you feel a bit isolated right now. I can't help but I'm sending lots of good appetite well wishes your way ("appy vines" in FDMB speak).

Grace

Hi grace, thank you checkin in. Chatran ate about 10 kibbles and had a nibble on wet. He wander around the garden under supervision which is a good sign.

Yes it's a very long day. We are actually in cairns but everything is shut today and the only emergency vet is the one with the bad reputation so I would rather wait than taking him there.

Marje and Gracie said:
One other favor to ask, please. Once members have responded to your 911, we ask that you remove it. While it's still up, people think there is still an emergency. Thank you :-D

It's done :-D

Thank you all

Rosie
 
Thanks, Rosie.

I'd continue to try and get him to eat the kibble. The other thing you can try is to just crush a few pieces of kibble and sprinkle them on his wet food to see if he he will eat it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top