charly - new dose

and having a good morning. more normal cat behaviours returning. shes been pretty much living upstairs for the last few months but shes up and down stairs and outside and back inside already today. and shes jumping up into some favourite spots again.
 
shes yellow at +8. nearly blue in fact. i expect she will back higher by pmps.

if she is around 200 at pmps i will shoot full dose.

but if by any chance she is closer to 150 then probably safer to shoot a reduced dose?

is there a no shot number that i shouldnt shoot below?
 
With MPM, you can shoot anything above 50 BUT we aren’t there yet. Gradually your “shoot the full dose” number will come down. Right now we only have shot about 200. Is it about two hours until shot time?
 
About 2 hrs yes. But it won't be me giving the shot tonight this eve I'm going to about til about plus +4 so I'm just trying to figure out what instructions to leave.....
 
I would try a half dose. I am sure she’s going to be going up and that it won’t be enough insulin, but maybe it will keep her from going too high. Will whoever is doing the shot be able to test? Can you stall for not more than 30 minutes to see if she’s going up?

If none of this works then I would try the following:
190 or above — give full dose
150-190 — give 1.75 - 2 units
100 - 149 — give 1.25 units
Below 100 skip shot.
 
I see her PMPS. She’s not dropping quickly. She’s probably going to have a nice run in blue before she goes up. It’s borderline (so close to 150.)
 
Look at those numbers tonight :D
Yes it's great to see green on her chart. I can hardly believe it:)

She's paying for it this morning though bless her. Not looking very happy today so far. She's back under the chair.

Seems she won't eat the usual low carb food when she feels like this. I suspect it's the texture. It's kind of like mincemeat and I think the other food is smoother and maybe easier for her sore mouth.

But she's eating the 5% carb food quite enthusiasticly.

Giving her a little break from ear pricking while she's feeling rough but will get a mid cycle or two later. Hopefully she will have dropped a little and be feeling better.
 
Last edited:
I would try a half dose. I am sure she’s going to be going up and that it won’t be enough insulin, but maybe it will keep her from going too high. Will whoever is doing the shot be able to test? Can you stall for not more than 30 minutes to see if she’s going up?

If none of this works then I would try the following:
190 or above — give full dose
150-190 — give 1.75 - 2 units
100 - 149 — give 1.25 units
Below 100 skip shot.
Brilliant thank you so much. It could have been quite a stressful evening without your help again.

One quick question for future reference. When shooting low like this how important is the amount she's eating?
She had good appetite last night at pmps but if she was off her food would the above suggestions still hold good?
 
wow. shes 72 at +6

this is a whole new situation to worry about!

i've fed her a +6 small meal / snack that she doesn't usually get. still the 5% carbs food she seems to like at the moment.

hopefully this is the nadir. but i am locating the high carb food and honey and reading the hypo fact sheet just in case.

never a dull day.
 
What a lovely cycle. It was fine to give her LC snacks to help her surf in green for a little while. It may have caused her numbers to come back up a little too soon, but who knows. Don’t use high carb unless she’s below 50. She did fantastic. Look at how she’s not staying high for very long after the blues and greens. Her body is starting to adjust to normal numbers again.
 
One quick question for future reference. When shooting low like this how important is the amount she's eating?
She had good appetite last night at pmps but if she was off her food would the above suggestions still hold good?
Well, as long as she’s willing to eat small amounts- even teaspoonsful, it’s all right to give her insulin although depending on the preshot number you may want to modify the dose. As we go along and gather BG data on her, you will be able to shoot lower and lower numbers and will have a much better idea of how much to shoot with lower preshot values.
 
Charlys had a good day. She's been out hunting, she looks relaxed when she's sleeping. She's jogging up and down stairs. She actually looks like she's enjoying life a little again today. It's so lovely to see.

It looks like she might possibly be blue again at pmps. If she is ill follow the same guidelines from the other night. Unless you think we have the data to be a bit bolder now?

Will stick with the same plan unless I hear otherwise...
 
Charlys had a good day. She's been out hunting, she looks relaxed when she's sleeping. She's jogging up and down stairs. She actually looks like she's enjoying life a little again today. It's so lovely to see.

It looks like she might possibly be blue again at pmps. If she is ill follow the same guidelines from the other night. Unless you think we have the data to be a bit bolder now?

Will stick with the same plan unless I hear otherwise...
I think 2 units was probably a good decision for tonight’s cycle. You will be able to see if maybe 2.25 would have been better. When you are at home with her you can be a little more aggressive with the dose, but for tonight I am happy with the 2 units. I don’t mean to say that you aren’t at home tonight (it sounds like that’s what I am saying) I was thinking of the other night when I was trying to figure out what would be best since you were away for the early part of the cycle.
 
Whoa. She stayed pretty flat and then … green 74! Tell me about her eating tonight. How much and when? I am just trying to figure out if anything different happened.
 
much the same as always. 50g @ jab time. she was a bit slow eating initially. didn't want the katkin to start with so gave her 20g of her 4% food to be sure I could jab her which she ate pretty quickly. then 30g of katkin which took her longer.

then 50g katkin @ +2 and 30g katkin @ + 4 both of which she ate happily.
 
You are doing perfect. Charly is doing so well on this dose. I hope things will smooth out and she will become predictable and … dare I say… boring…. not Charly, per se, but her numbers/cycles.
 
I hope things will smooth out and she will become predictable and … dare I say… boring….

yes me too. today looks very much like yesterday so far so I guess that's a good start!

if she is low again at pmps shall i follow the same dosing scale we've used the last few nights? are we thinking last nights dose was what we would want to go with again if she is around the same numbers at pmps or a little too much? she didn't actually dip below 50 but I fed her at 59 so I guess we don't know how low she might have gone.
 
yes me too. today looks very much like yesterday so far so I guess that's a good start!

if she is low again at pmps shall i follow the same dosing scale we've used the last few nights? are we thinking last nights dose was what we would want to go with again if she is around the same numbers at pmps or a little too much? she didn't actually dip below 50 but I fed her at 59 so I guess we don't know how low she might have gone.
But you only fed her the regular lower carb food, right?
 
But you only fed her the regular lower carb food, right?
No I did break open the High Carb food at 3.3 - sorry! I was a bit stressed and working from the hypo fact sheet that says 3.3 is the number to take action. It was only later I remembered you said not to give the HC unless under 50.

so yes she had some HC food at 3.3 and then a some regular low carb food about a half hour later after her numbers had come up a bit.
 
No I did break open the High Carb food at 3.3 - sorry! I was a bit stressed and working from the hypo fact sheet that says 3.3 is the number to take action. It was only later I remembered you said not to give the HC unless under 50.

so yes she had some HC food at 3.3 and then a some regular low carb food about a half hour later after her numbers had come up a bit.
Oh that explains the jump up after the 59. I was disappointed about her not surfing in green for a little longer. I do understand that you already didn’t get much sleep though; also evident from the spreadsheet! We don’t usually recommend giving HC unless they’re at 50 or below. Usually a little LC helps them stay in green without hijacking the cycle
 
Also, you should have options like higher end LC food (if you can find anything closer to ten percent - in the 8/9 range.). Or even medium carb food that’s 12/13/14 percent approximately.
 
Yes I've been through our cat food cupboard today calculating carb contents and I think we have a range of options ready for next time. I'm better prepared now after this experience so hopefully will be able to think more clearly next time.

So we'll stick with the same dosing scale if she's in blue again at pmps?
 
Yes I've been through our cat food cupboard today calculating carb contents and I think we have a range of options ready for next time. I'm better prepared now after this experience so hopefully will be able to think more clearly next time.

So we'll stick with the same dosing scale if she's in blue again at pmps?
Yes. I think for the time being we should stay with the same dosing scale. She’s having a bit of a higher day/night today, which is a bit disappointing — but I am hoping you will have more sleep tonight.
 
yes her numbers are a bit higher. but i'm not feeling too disappointed. she had a great day. she's been keeping herself to herself in the one room since diagnosis but today she has rejoined the rest of the household and been sleeping happily all day in front of the fire instead of sitting on her own upstairs all day. I felt like she is a happy cat again yesterday.
 
This is why I am here still on this Board. :) Happier cats and healthier cats (and happier caregivers too!) and happy Suzanne. You can send me a photo of happy Charly!
 
She earned a reduction down to 2.25 yesterday. No further tests after last night’s 162 PMPS - to see how she did on the reduced dose of 1.75? Since her numbers were trending upward at PMPS and it would take some time for the evening shot to onset — I would have shot a higher dose BUT maybe you were not able to monitor her last night.
 
She earned a reduction down to 2.25 yesterday. No further tests after last night’s 162 PMPS - to see how she did on the reduced dose of 1.75? Since her numbers were trending upward at PMPS and it would take some time for the evening shot to onset — I would have shot a higher dose BUT maybe you were not able to monitor her last night.
You've got me a bit confused. The 162 is tonight's PMPS ie 24 Feb. Does the SS you can see say it was yesterday?

Yes I wilk monitor this evening.

Went with 1.75 bevause I as working off of the dosing scale we've been using for blue numbers and erring slightly on the side of caution as she has just earned the reduction. But yes I see what you mean. I overlooked the fact she was treating upwards after all the light green excitement. Will remember to think about the trend at pmps next time!
 
Okay. I see it was today she hit lime green. And since it was, I probably would have been a little hesitant to shoot much more after that day! I also would be afraid pf setting myself up for too much excitement in the evening…figuring that I could see what tomorrow’s AMPS would bring.
 
Whoa. What’s going on with Charly? Is she all right. I was just checking her SS. I see she’s been feisty. What else? Is she ill?
 
Back
Top