? charlotte's AMPS 299 .1 unit +2 342 ; +4.75 257; +8 306; +11 265 Nadir question/Advice please!

Charlotte and Lucky’s mom

Member Since 2019
Hi! so I had Charlotte at 1 drop for 6 cycles and she was noticeably drinking and peeing more so i upped her insulin dose to .1 units. I know I was supposed to hold it for a week but with the clinical signs and the fact that she was having more pinks than yellows, I changed it. I will hold the .1 for the 7 days as it seems she is responding a bit better to it. My question is determining the nadir- so some days it seems like it has been at +4,+5,+7, +8, +10. I know that the nadir can vary from day to day if they are not truly regulated but if I am supposed to know what it is so I can combine that knowledge with the preshot number to verify dose being given, what do I do if it is not apparent midcycle? She is growing wise to the sound of the uncapping of the test strip bottle and runs away. UGh! I hate to have to keep pricking her pads to find the nadir. Any words of wisdom from anyone??
 
You're correct -- nadirs can and do change. Rather than think in terms of the nadir always being at a specific point in the cycle (e.g., +6), it may be more helpful to think in terms of whether Charlotte had an early or late nadir or whether her nadir falls closer to mid-cycle.

You are testing more than enough to use TR. TR will allow you to adjust your dose every 6 cycles. Given the fundamental differences between the two dosing methods, you should really stick with one or the other. There's no problem with switching methods.
 
You're correct -- nadirs can and do change. Rather than think in terms of the nadir always being at a specific point in the cycle (e.g., +6), it may be more helpful to think in terms of whether Charlotte had an early or late nadir or whether her nadir falls closer to mid-cycle.

You are testing more than enough to use TR. TR will allow you to adjust your dose every 6 cycles. Given the fundamental differences between the two dosing methods, you should really stick with one or the other. There's no problem with switching methods.
Yes I was going to try to pursue TR and hope that nothing crazy falls on a Monday or Tuesday when I can not test after +1. I guess my concern was what to do with a +11/ and preshot value that are flat and I am uncertain if her nadir is later in that cycle than usual? Do you shoot a low number in the hundreds if she seems to be at a plateau? I’ve seen with others that a skipped shot sends the values back up high bc of the bounce. And if you shoot a dosecrease that seems to send the values crazy too?! It seems like you’re trapped in a sense? No?
 
Take a look at Gabby's SS. She had an early nadir (like at +3 or +4). If I saw low numbers, I could test up until around +1.5, maybe +2. I would bump her numbers up with carbs and set a timed feeder with higher carb food.
I just checked out Gabby’s SS. I see what you did. May I ask why you held the same dose for such a long time before changing it? Beautiful video you had of Gabby. I see she was a girl with a lot of cattitude!! I had a calico when I was a child. Gotta love them! ❤️
 
Ummm.... I have 6.5 years worth of data. Can you let me know when you were looking? In general, I was trying to avoid dose reductions because she was bouncy but I'm not sure if that was where you were looking.

Gabby defined attitude. She wanted no part of pretty much anyone else but me - very much a mama's girl. I think she liked only one of my friends. Every time he would come to visit, she would sit in his luggage and get cat hair all over everything. She was also a terror to cat sitters. I had one cat sitter refuse to see her. If you notice when I was traveling, my sitters were shooting blind. She would threaten to take an arm off of anyone who attempted to test her. (And she would purr through tests if it was me. Go figure.)
 
Ummm.... I have 6.5 years worth of data. Can you let me know when you were looking? In general, I was trying to avoid dose reductions because she was bouncy but I'm not sure if that was where you were looking.

Gabby defined attitude. She wanted no part of pretty much anyone else but me - very much a mama's girl. I think she liked only one of my friends. Every time he would come to visit, she would sit in his luggage and get cat hair all over everything. She was also a terror to cat sitters. I had one cat sitter refuse to see her. If you notice when I was traveling, my sitters were shooting blind. She would threaten to take an arm off of anyone who attempted to test her. (And she would purr through tests if it was me. Go figure.)
Oh, so typical of a calico!! Mine loved my mom and she tolerated the rest of the family. When I would pick her up against her will, she would inevitably express her anals on me! Ugh!! She lived til she was 21. That was the hardest day of my life having to put her down. I had scanned the very last page in the SS as that was the page that popped up first. Thanks.
 
Gabby was not going to go into remission; she was a long term diabetic. My goal was to keep her below renal threshold (120) for as long as possible. With a long term FD kitty, numbers need to drop below 40 or she'd need to be between 40 - 50 on 3 separate cycles for a reduction. If you noticed, much of the time when she was looking like a dose increase was due, she'd drop into numbers <100. She also had some typical patterns -- a flat yellow cycle would precede a drop in numbers. Her attitude extended to her FD -- she was often referred to as the "diving diva" after starting the day in the 400s, dropping into the 40s, and bouncing back to the 400s by PMPS. Her early in the cycle drops are also why I was a testaholic.
 
Gabby was not going to go into remission; she was a long term diabetic. My goal was to keep her below renal threshold (120) for as long as possible. With a long term FD kitty, numbers need to drop below 40 or she'd need to be between 40 - 50 on 3 separate cycles for a reduction. If you noticed, much of the time when she was looking like a dose increase was due, she'd drop into numbers <100. She also had some typical patterns -- a flat yellow cycle would precede a drop in numbers. Her attitude extended to her FD -- she was often referred to as the "diving diva" after starting the day in the 400s, dropping into the 40s, and bouncing back to the 400s by PMPS. Her early in the cycle drops are also why I was a testaholic.
Ok, thanks! I knew there had to be an explanation for the extended doses. Have a great day. Thanks for all your help. This group is great. :)
 
Back
Top