? Charlotte +11 277 amps 350 advice please ! +2.5 279; + 5 290 ; +8 308 ; +11 299; PMPS 277 !

Charlotte and Lucky’s mom

Member Since 2019
So... I am not sure if Charlotte has had a failed reduction or if she is bouncing. She is definitely peeing more as well as drinking. Should I go back to a higher dose? And if so, .1 or .25? I have already dosed her this morning. Thanks in advance.
 
With SLGS, you wait a week on a dose, unless they earn another reduction. Today is cycle six after her last greens, paws crossed she comes down off the bounce for tonight. Bounce breaking cycles are not a good time to increase anyway.
 
With SLGS, you wait a week on a dose, unless they earn another reduction. Today is cycle six after her last greens, paws crossed she comes down off the bounce for tonight. Bounce breaking cycles are not a good time to increase anyway.
Ok. So I wait through tonight with no changes. Tomorrow should then be the true readings of how she is doing with 1 drop. If she stays in the yellows, continue on?? And if she stays in the pinks, move up to .1? Or do I finish the full 7 days? Sorry I’m just nervous about her being high for too long. And how would I know that maybe slgs is not right for her and that maybe it should be TR? And how can you tell if this insulin is just not right for her?? Sorry so many questions. But thanks for responding. :)
 
On SLGS you have to wait the full week on the dose. Before taking the dose up.
And how would I know that maybe slgs is not right for her and that maybe it should be TR?
It's more about whether you feel you can do TR.
IMHO TR is better for the cat, because it allows you to get the cat tightly regulated more quickly, and that is a better option for the cat. Additionally, getting the kitties BG tightly regulated quickly gives the best chance of remission.

You test enough that you could do TR, even with being out of the house for most of the day twice a week.

ETA
On TR eg you are able to call a failed reduction and take the dose back up.
 
You hold the dose seven days regardless.

TR allows you to keep her in good healing numbers longer, with a reduction point of 50 instead of 90. And you can increase sooner. But you have to be feeding low carb wet or raw food only. You do test enough for TR. you have to decide if you are comfortable with her going lower on days you are at work. Will she eat on her own if she is lower? Leaving out lots of food or an autofeeder can help. The decision on dosing method must be something you are comfortable with.

We usually give an insulin about six months to decide if it is working.
 
Ok. I’m not sure what I’ll do bc she always eats the CN which is 9% but she doesn’t always eat the ff which is 3%. So with TR if she bounces and it takes her three days to clear it, won’t my increasing her dose on the fourth day send her bouncing again? It seems like she would be high all the time, no? It seems like once she starts to hit the blues and greens
She only stays good for a few cycles and then dives. I feel that she would be higher than lower most of the time if you look at her history. Am I not understanding this correctly? I do want her better regulated quicker but it seems almost impossible with this insulin between the depot, any dose changes and her diving?!
 
9% is still considered low carb, just at the high end.

Once cats spend more time in normal numbers, the bouncing slows down, and they flatten out. With SLGS and reducing below 90, it is harder to get them to spend time in normal numbers. Doable, just harder.
 
9% is still considered low carb, just at the high end.

Once cats spend more time in normal numbers, the bouncing slows down, and they flatten out. With SLGS and reducing below 90, it is harder to get them to spend time in normal numbers. Doable, just harder.
Ok. I’ll let her finish her 7 days and we will see where we stand. Soo... you might see me asking more questions if you in regards to switching over to TR. thanks for all your help and explanations! :):):cat:
 
Back
Top