? Charlotte +11 219; safe to shoot reduced dose??

You've shot lower:)

Yes as long as u are home shoot, but with the Amos being a little lower than +7 you may want to grab a +1 and +2, then more if the numbers show her dropping.
Ok. Here we go again! So what happens with regards to future shoots if she does dive?? Once a day injections? It seems that she has not been consistent enough to just stop.
 
The fact that she is lower now than at +7, suggests she might be dropping, (of course, she may have nadired at say +10, and the Amos is her on her way up)

When we shoot a ps that is 'falli g' the cycle can often be quite active, but it can be a perfect opportunity to get kitty surfing.
 
Just got back on to my PC, was on my phone earlier.
Just want to expand.
So Charlotte is pretty bouncy, some kitties just are.
With bouncy kitties, a strategy that can often help to flatten them out is feeding the curve, and getting ahead of the insulin cycle.

This morning Charlotte looks like she is clearing the bounce.
Now in a 'normal' cycle we would expect the +1 to be slightly higher than amps, this is because the food they have had at PS will be influencing BG and the shot won't usually have onset yet.
When they are breaking a bounce or if they are getting a longer duration we might see that +1 be lower.
If it's significantly lower this morning, then I would recommend feeding higher low carb, so if you have it something in the 9% region. If you don't have anything in that carb % then mixing LC with MC will make the meal overall higher LC.
For example:
1tsp of 4% LC mixed with 1tsp of 15%MC would make the snack overall 9.5% (4+15=19 divide that by 2 = 9.5%)

What foods do you have that you could use with Charlotte
 
Just got back on to my PC, was on my phone earlier.
Just want to expand.
So Charlotte is pretty bouncy, some kitties just are.
With bouncy kitties, a strategy that can often help to flatten them out is feeding the curve, and getting ahead of the insulin cycle.

This morning Charlotte looks like she is clearing the bounce.
Now in a 'normal' cycle we would expect the +1 to be slightly higher than amps, this is because the food they have had at PS will be influencing BG and the shot won't usually have onset yet.
When they are breaking a bounce or if they are getting a longer duration we might see that +1 be lower.
If it's significantly lower this morning, then I would recommend feeding higher low carb, so if you have it something in the 9% region. If you don't have anything in that carb % then mixing LC with MC will make the meal overall higher LC.
For example:
1tsp of 4% LC mixed with 1tsp of 15%MC would make the snack overall 9.5% (4+15=19 divide that by 2 = 9.5%)

What foods do you have that you could use with Charlotte
She is 79 +1.
 
How good an eater is she? With George, I would squeeze gravy and give some actual food as well since he has a very good appy, so the gravy would help bmp the numbers more immediately and the food would sustain him.
It's early in the cycle so you want to avoid filling her up, if she is not a big eater, sticking to the gravy at the moment might be a better choice.
 
OK, that's a big drop, so let's give her some HC now.
Perhaps squeeze the gravy out of the HC.
and test again in 30min.
79 Is a safe number, but we want to see if we can slow her down.
So I am feeding her a heaping tsp of KD stew. 22 gms HC . I had a funny feeling I was going to be in this roller coaster ride again. Ugh!!
 
How good an eater is she? With George, I would squeeze gravy and give some actual food as well since he has a very good appy, so the gravy would help bmp the numbers more immediately and the food would sustain him.
It's early in the cycle so you want to avoid filling her up, if she is not a big eater, sticking to the gravy at the moment might be a better choice.
She loves the KD so she’ll eat that for sure. She’s licking the bowl!!
 
They are very high in carb.
What was your thinking?
Do you often use this to steer her BG?
No I don’t use these often but she is dropping despite the KD. She is also getting annoyed with me pricking her so often these past few days. I’m just trying to avoid the 40’s again seeing how many hours we still have to go.
 
I might give her another teaspoon of wet food, something MC or higher low carb (she's flat at this point 72 and 79 are much the same even if it is an actual drop the carbs have slowed her down plenty, so the carbs seem to have made her sit up and take notice 72 is still a safe number).
Grab a test at +2, lets see what her pattern is, she may have onset really early, but if she's still yet to onset we may see her dip again.
The dry food like temptations, can in some cases take a little longer to be absorbed and influence BG, so I'd like to be sure she has some more food absorbed into her system.

I would ditch the temptations (sorry Charlotte if you're anything like my George you probably love those naughty snacks), use karo/honey if you need to bump her up further.
 
I might give her another teaspoon of wet food, something MC or higher low carb (she's flat at this point 72 and 79 are much the same even if it is an actual drop the carbs have slowed her down plenty, so the carbs seem to have made her sit up and take notice 72 is still a safe number).
Grab a test at +2, lets see what her pattern is, she may have onset really early, but if she's still yet to onset we may see her dip again.
The dry food like temptations, can in some cases take a little longer to be absorbed and influence BG, so I'd like to be sure she has some more food absorbed into her system.

I would ditch the temptations (sorry Charlotte if you're anything like my George you probably love those naughty snacks), use karo/honey if you need to bump her up further.
Ok. Sorry I didn’t see the 79-72 as flattening. I’m still trying to figure this insulin out. I guess I hit the panic button early! I’ll try her with some gravy ff. New to her but in my kit so let’s see if she’ll eat a little.
 
No I don’t use these often but she is dropping despite the KD. She is also getting annoyed with me pricking her so often these past few days. I’m just trying to avoid the 40’s again seeing how many hours we still have to go.
OK. No prob.
Just confirm I assumed the KD was wet, is that correct or is it the kibble that you are giving her.

I know the 40's are scary. You have caught the drop early in the cycle, so that gives you the best chance of steering her and staying ahead of the curve.
I remember panicking and getting honey alllll over George, he spent hours licking the stuff off himself, so you can imagine what that did to his numbers.:rolleyes:

Ok. Sorry I didn’t see the 79-72 as flattening. I’m still trying to figure this insulin out. I guess I hit the panic button early! I’ll try her with some gravy ff. New to her but in my kit so let’s see if she’ll eat a little.
It's not much of a difference, less than 10%.
Her rate of change has certainly slowed, so that's more significant.

Ok she is loving the ff salmon feast in gravy. 15%. Teaspoon again.
Excellent, so a bit of MC, hopefully it will give her a boost, and sustain her. ove an FD kitty with an appy.
When the temptations kick in, we will probably see a big spike in BG.
 
Still flat, nice.
As we are early in the cycle, I would go for some more MC at this point.

He may not have onset yet.
Then check at +2.5
 
Nice steering! Great timing too....Sunday morning...no loss of sleep, no work issues :) Yeah! I hope Charlotte surfs safely :D:D
Me too with Gil and George by my side! Just worried however with tomorrow bc I do have to work all day and although my daughter can feed there is no one to test. Me thinks I might have to skip a shoot??
 
Me thinks I might have to skip a shoot??

Too far ahead to tell...someone (we won't name any cat names here because they're reading this ya know):smuggrin:...might decide that it's time for a trip to the moon (bounce) after this nice low day...it's a wait and see game on that one...:D

And of course getting a couple of early tests tomorrow will tell the tale about which way she's headed...as Gill said.
 
Too far ahead to tell...someone (we won't name any cat names here because they're reading this ya know):smuggrin:...might decide that it's time for a trip to the moon (bounce) after this nice low day...it's a wait and see game on that one...:D

And of course getting a couple of early tests tomorrow will tell the tale about which way she's headed...as Gill said.
True!! I totally forgot about their radar helmet!:p
 
Ok
I think you can go to +3.5 now
Give her a LC snack perhaps now.
Possibly the temptations.... let's just see.
When they kick in it will likely abort the cycle and we will see a sharp rise.
Ok. So @ +3.5 her BG is @ 177. Damn those treats! Lesson learned. Ok so I’ll leave her be and check in at +6 and maybe again at +9? Sooner if you think I should. I shouldn’t offer anything else to her till dinner time, correct? Thanks!
 
Yes I'd go for +5.5, 2 hrs after her last soft food.
See what the number is, but yes +9 would seem sensible, unless she surprises you with a low +5.5.

The problem with the temptations is we also son't know how long they will stay in her system (longer than the wet HC which is two hours, probably).
that's why I prefer not to use them unless absolutely necessary (eg cat in very low numbers and will not eat anything else)

Good Job.
We all learn through our experiences.
I'll check back in later see how she's doing.
 
Thank you for all of your advice and help!! Both Charlotte and I appreciate it. :D Will post again in a few. You know at her next injection time I’m going to be questioning whether or not to shoot bc I have to sleep tonight bc of work tomorrow. Ugh!!
 
Yes I'd go for +5.5, 2 hrs after her last soft food.
See what the number is, but yes +9 would seem sensible, unless she surprises you with a low +5.5.

The problem with the temptations is we also son't know how long they will stay in her system (longer than the wet HC which is two hours, probably).
that's why I prefer not to use them unless absolutely necessary (eg cat in very low numbers and will not eat anything else)

Good Job.
We all learn through our experiences.
I'll check back in later see how she's doing.
Ok, sooo.. she is 165 +5.5. I have no food done at the moment. Leave some LC??
 
Back
Top