charlies intro

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
Charlie is a 7yr old dsh tabby @ 16lbs and was dx on 11/27/13, prior to dx noticed charlie looked like he had lost some weight he was 12.4 9/27/13 (at this time i was moving to California from South Dakota and my mom had my cats till i could buy a house) we used the 12.4lbs as the base weight, he was at same weight on 10/14/13 had my mom weighed him next on 11/24/13 he was down to 10.8 took to vet on 11/27/13 and was dx diabetic bg of 549 rx vetsulin at 6u bid. The only change to diet the vet wanted was to add 1/4-1/2 cup of chicken at shot time. No change to wet food.
At the end of april, i went back to South Dakota to pick up Charlie and his mates, and drove them back here to Califronia. Brought charlie to a Cat only Vet who said she wanted to pull her hair out after i told her how my old vet wanted to proceed with his diabetes, she told me to get switched to wet cat food and lowered his units to 4 bid and that when i was getting close to the end of the vial we would switch to Lantus. Well that day has come, i will start with his first lantus thurs at his morning shot. The vet wanted to start at 2u bid but, I have been reading on the board for the last month and am going to start at 1u bid. I am really excited to make the switch as the vetsulin seemed to only last around 8hrs. I home test with relion confirm micro and also have a spreadsheet set up in my sig.
 

Attachments

  • rsz_1rsz_167139_1833960210958_8005254_n.jpg
    rsz_1rsz_167139_1833960210958_8005254_n.jpg
    5.8 KB · Views: 269
Welcome to FDMB.

Lantus is a good insulin and starting at 1 unit, every 12 hours (or as close as you can get to that) is really important. Also, the effects build up over 5 days on the initial dose for most cats and dose changes take about 3 days to settle in and stabilize.

We strongly encourage home testing with an inexpensive human glucometer suchas the WalMart ReliOn Confirm, Confirm Micro, or Prime, while using cat specific reference numbers.

There is a terrific food list at Cat Info in the right hand column with the nutrition info for numerous North American foods. Sticking to foods with less than 10% calories from carbohydrate is encouraged. Switching may drop the glucose 100 mg/dL, so you need to be home testing when you do that, for safety.
 
Hi Darin and extra sweet Charlie and welcome to the message board.

Can't read Charlie's chart, we call them spreadsheets (SS for short) in your signature. You need to do one more thing. Go back into Google, open the SS and change the share options to "anyone with the link". That gives us read only access.

Good job by the way on getting the SS and your signature data setup. It sure does help us to help you better and is much appreciated.
 
Good job on finding that SHARE option for the Google docs and making the change. We can now read your SS to see what is going on.

Raging reds and stinky pinkies seem to be some of Charlie's favorite colors. Sure hope the Lantus helps to moderate those numbers.

How did he do today with his first shot of Lantus? This is when you need to pull on the patience pants, and wait things out, allowing the insulin depot to fill before you will see the full effect of the Lantus dosing. It usually takes 5-7 days for that to happen.

Have you been over to the Insulin Support Group (ISG) - Lantus (Glargine) Tight Regulation Forum yet? There is some great information there in the yellow starred Stickies at the top of the forum.

Is Charlie prone to ketones? Do you/ have you tested for ketones at home before?

ETA: I meant to ask before. How does the new vet feel about Charlie's weight? Underweight? Overweight? Just right (ideal weight)?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top