Darin & Charlie
Member Since 2014
Charlie is a 7yr old dsh tabby @ 16lbs and was dx on 11/27/13, prior to dx noticed charlie looked like he had lost some weight he was 12.4 9/27/13 (at this time i was moving to California from South Dakota and my mom had my cats till i could buy a house) we used the 12.4lbs as the base weight, he was at same weight on 10/14/13 had my mom weighed him next on 11/24/13 he was down to 10.8 took to vet on 11/27/13 and was dx diabetic bg of 549 rx vetsulin at 6u bid. The only change to diet the vet wanted was to add 1/4-1/2 cup of chicken at shot time. No change to wet food.
At the end of april, i went back to South Dakota to pick up Charlie and his mates, and drove them back here to Califronia. Brought charlie to a Cat only Vet who said she wanted to pull her hair out after i told her how my old vet wanted to proceed with his diabetes, she told me to get switched to wet cat food and lowered his units to 4 bid and that when i was getting close to the end of the vial we would switch to Lantus. Well that day has come, i will start with his first lantus thurs at his morning shot. The vet wanted to start at 2u bid but, I have been reading on the board for the last month and am going to start at 1u bid. I am really excited to make the switch as the vetsulin seemed to only last around 8hrs. I home test with relion confirm micro and also have a spreadsheet set up in my sig.
At the end of april, i went back to South Dakota to pick up Charlie and his mates, and drove them back here to Califronia. Brought charlie to a Cat only Vet who said she wanted to pull her hair out after i told her how my old vet wanted to proceed with his diabetes, she told me to get switched to wet cat food and lowered his units to 4 bid and that when i was getting close to the end of the vial we would switch to Lantus. Well that day has come, i will start with his first lantus thurs at his morning shot. The vet wanted to start at 2u bid but, I have been reading on the board for the last month and am going to start at 1u bid. I am really excited to make the switch as the vetsulin seemed to only last around 8hrs. I home test with relion confirm micro and also have a spreadsheet set up in my sig.