Charlie's amps 333 +2/322, +5/260,+7/268, +9/274, pmps 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello friends! Charlie seems to be doing very well the last few days. He is even seeing some yellows! Still negative for ketones and hoping to have the acro test results back tomorrow. Specialist wants to extend the zeniquin for 4 weeks and continue metro and fortiflora as well. He has completely transitioned to the Dave's brand cat food all with 95% protein and no grains. Any suggestions on how to get him to start gaining some weight back? He's a walking skeleton. Hope everyone is well!
 
Re: Charlie's amps 333 +2/322, +5/260,+7/268, +9/274, pmps 3

let him eat more volume of food; add some higher calorie food to his - i think MaxCal is one that can be bought from vets that might help.

as his blood sugar comes down, the glucose will get into his cells and that will also help.

the yellows in the am cycle today *might* have been the bounce clearing from the 76 on 9/22. maybe. if he doesn't come down lower tonight, i'd think that was it. He still might go lower tonight, so i'd check him again still.
 
Re: Charlie's amps 333 +2/322, +5/260,+7/268, +9/274, pmps 3

Great to see those yellows. :-D I got my acro results on a Sunday, I think they get sent out from MSU on Friday so you may or may not get them tomorrow.

One the food list on http://www.catinfo.org, there is also a listing of the calories on the far right side. You do want one with higher calorie content per serving. I know Wellness is fairly high calorie. Raw food is also pretty calorie dense per quantity and good for adding weight. And another trick Marje has mentioned is adding a bit of virgin cold pressed coconut oil.
 
Re: Charlie's amps 333 +2/322, +5/260,+7/268, +9/274, pmps 3

Hi there :cool:

That PMPS of 303 tonight is the lowest PMPS hes seen in a week! Heads up :!: a kitty could go places from there ;-)

So happy to hear Charlie is doing so well.
Glad you were able to sit on your hands and resist shooting R while waiting out that wicked bounce. It's tough to do.
However now you have some data on how Charlies body currently handles a bounce - a baseline to compare any future bounces to.

And a PM+11 - first step toward becoming 'data ready' - excellent! :thumbup

Now you will see a clearer picture of where he is with his L dose and increase or decrease according to the protocol.

Regarding weight - Let him eat As more food energy is properly transported into his cells the weight will come back and the appetite will normalize.

BK was down to 7lbs and change after his 2nd DKA. When he finally got on the road to recovery he was eating 15-16 oz per 24 hours!
I used to order the big tall cans of Wellness by the case. In a couple months he had filled out very nicely
 

Attachments

  • BK 5-2008 vs 10-2008 (400x332).jpg
    BK 5-2008 vs 10-2008 (400x332).jpg
    129.3 KB · Views: 100
  • BK 6-2008 vs 9-2008 (400x263).jpg
    BK 6-2008 vs 9-2008 (400x263).jpg
    121.6 KB · Views: 97
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top