Charlie's +10 is 123 edited pmps 302. Should I give?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello friends. So I just got home from work and checked Charlie's bg. Normally this time of day it's climbinginto the upper 300-400 ranges. I have no idea why it's as low as it is, his dose hadn't changed in a week. I'm freaking out because isn't this the upswing time? I wonder how low his numbers got and I wasn't here! I have an automatic feeder that goes off every 4 hours. One side was empty and the other side wasn't touched. But there are 4 other cats who may have eaten the food. He didn't eat his normal food when I tried to feed him after I got that reading but then I opened a can of higher carb friskies and gave a few tsp of that and he gobbled it right up. Any ideas on why this happened? My biggest fear is coming home from work and finding him dead. I don't think it's fair to him to bring him to work
With me every day either. What should I do? And as far as the marshmallow tylan, he hadn't started the RX yet and I called the compounding pharm and am having tablets made up instead. Funny thing is the marshmallow flavoring they say gas no sugar but the suspension is made from stevia leaves and sucrose Thanks to you guys to pointing that out to me!
 
Re: Charlie's +10 is 123 this is alarming to me

Looks to me like the insulin is kicking in.. and that's a good thing.

I'm not one to advise on R dosing. I'll tap someone to weigh in.
But you got a nice blue ..... Yay!
 
Re: Charlie's +10 is 123 this is alarming to me

First off, I don't know that I would have suggested feeding HC at +10. At the very least, when this happens again, don't feed and re-test in 30 min.

We all have the, "I wonder what happened with the numbers when I wasn't here to test." experience. All you can do is give insulin in good faith and based on what you've seen and the patterns you've learned, leave food out or try to come back and grab a test during the day.
 
Re: Charlie's +10 is 123 this is alarming to me

I'm sorry about feeding the hc. I panicked and I didn't know what to do. Now I'm afraid his schedule will be off Bc I'm imagining I won't give his dose tonight? Being in the low numbers is brand new to me. We usually are struggling to keep him outta the red.
 
Re: Charlie's +10 is 123 this is alarming to me

You've got until PMPS to see what's happening. How about getting a test at +11? That way you'll know what direction Charlie's numbers are going at shot time. You can always post if you don't know what to do.
 
Re: Charlie's +10 is 123 this is alarming to me

Ok his pmps is 302. Technically he should of gotten his dose 30 min ago. He's acting fine. Should I give it?
 
Re: Charlie's +10 is 123 this is alarming to me

this is a good thing, ellie! great, in fact. Normal numbers on the AT are about 68-160 - so for the first time, you've gotten Charlie into normal numbers!

Cats often "settle into" a dose. That's one of the reasons why we increase the dose on schedule, per the protocol, holding enough days to see if they are going to get into better numbers on it. His numbers are still R-influenced, and we want to get to the point where you're not having to use R on a daily basis. I wouldn't be surprised if he bounces from this range - he isn't used to it. You could probably give R tonight with his dose, although maybe less. Tomorrow morning, I would consider skipping the R since you won't be home.

You just updated his ss - i think you can repeat the dose tonight, including the R. But if he were mine, i might skip the R in the morning, depending on how high he is.

what do you think about that plan?
 
Julie, if you think I should give his normal doses I definitely will. Cant say Im not a little scared because he has never been that low before. I know its a good thing that he is but I am deathly afraid of him going hypo. I know I have to relax a little and let him be a cat and not follow him around and spy on him lol! I usually give him 2 u r at the same time he gets his lantus. Do you think I should give the full 2? I can always take him to work with me tomorrow to monitor and or get a full day of bgs if you think its necessary
 
Lantus works best when you start from lower numbers. I suspect the 302 is a beginning of a bounce from the good numbers earlier today. If it were me, I'd shoot him tonight in a heartbeat. This isn't a low number - not by a long shot.

Shooting low creates flat cycles, a line instead of a curve. I'll give you some spreadsheets to look at. I'm around tonight and will hang out with you, but i suspect he's going up from here.

It's up to you, of course, he's your little buddy!
 
You are a godsend! Just tested fed and shot him. It was 347 so I feel a lil better about it. I am happy about the low numbers I just have to get used to it haha! Do you think I should take hi to work just to monitor him tomorrow (or maybe if his amps is in a certain range only?) let me know your thought. Thanks!
 
Now that you're not trying to decide what to shoot, here's a post that i gave someone recently on Shooting Low. Take a look here, and look at the spreadsheets i've linked in it.

Keep in mind that Charlie's AT numbers are about 30-40% higher than the numbers in the other spreadsheets. For the AT, normal numbers are roughly 68-160ish. So Shooting low means shooting numbers over 68 AT.

For tomorrow, i think i'd skip the R and decide whether or not to take him based upon his numbers. I'm betting on a bounce - probably 400's by morning. You might want to reread the info on bouncing - realizing that he's very unaccustomed to normal numbers and he might take the full 3 days of being high before he comes back down again.

Do you have the option of running home to test him during the day? I can't remember if you have a timed feeder and/or the ability to have food available to him during the day while you're at work.
 
I do have a times feeder that feeds q 4 hr. I can run home at lunch to check on him. If he's in the 400s in the am still skip the r? I will read your links in just a minute. Thanks for sending!
 
by the way, i just wanted to mention that the little bit of high carb you gave didn't cause the jump to 302 - that's Charlie's body responding to the blue bg numbers.
 
I really hope he stops bouncing. My poor guy has not yet had a day like today with the number so low and im very happy about that but I wish it wouldn't go to such high extremes. Is it normal in the beginning of a dx for a cat to bounce steadily for 3 months? that's the main reason I switched him from the prozinc to lantus. Sorry, the q 4 hr meant I feed him every 4 hours. He eats 6 times daily a whole can of fancy feast. And hes still just 7 lbs!
 
Hello again :cool:

EllieKozak said:
I have no idea why it's as low as it is, his dose hadn't changed in a week.
It's quite possible he has been going low on the overnights.

Todays +10 is a heads up that the picture is changing for the better, and also that it's time to re-evaluate and to plan next steps.
It's also time to step up your game
A very important part of the picture is missing - you don't have any data on where Charlie goes from PM +6 through and including PM+11
EllieKozak said:
If he's in the 400s in the am still skip the r
My $0.02 is that as long as the most recent ketone tests are negative, Charlie is eating well and all Ps are in place hold off on the R for a few cycles so you can see what the Lantus is or is not doing.

Guiding Charlie safely out of the grasp of ketone development that could potentially progress quite rapidly into DKA is a balancing act.
One of the key elements is safely arriving the right insulin dose; one that is enough to take care of the short term goal of getting the ketones behind you . .
and the long term goal of keeping them behind you, ultimately without R.
You are walking a tightrope - fall on one side and Charlie can end up in DKA again, fall on the other side and his numbers could bottom out.

I see Julie linked the Shooting Low information, which explains the importance of being 'Data Ready' and the part the +10s and +11s play in becoming so.

From the sticky:
Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. Some Lantus and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot. On the other hand, if your cat has a bounce clearing and is still careening downhill at shot time (usually characterized by numbers that drop for the whole cycle, without a clear nadir), then you will want to take that into consideration as you make a decision about shooting. Know thy cat.

Knowing whether your cat is one that dips at the end of the cycle can also help you with dose increases. If your nadirs are not that great and you are considering an increase, but then he dips again at the end of the cycle, you might be tempted to delay the increase. If you know that this is a usual pattern for your cat, you will know that you can ignore that dip and go ahead with the increase.

Do not forget the “neglected spot checks.” They are more useful than most realize.

Know thy cat. Be data ready to handle the situation.

if there are circumstances preventing you from getting any PM +10s and +11s please let us know.
It helps those who are willing to help make appropriate recommendations.

No one knows if it's in the cards but when it comes to regulation or remission potential, being newly diagnosed (less than a year) is an advantage.
Following the TR protocol is also an advantage. Since 2008, 299 kitties, mine included, have gone into remission thanks to the knowledge, camaraderie and generosity of this community.
You have those advantages with Charlie. Make the most of them.
its worth every effort.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top