? Charlie was 71 on Alphatrak at PM +3.5 last night, reduce dose?

Charlie’s Mom

Member Since 2021
I fed him medium carb food at that time. Does he get a dose reduction from 1.25 to 1 this morning regardless of his number? At what number would I not shoot this morning?
My chart is bare between shots as we’ve had company for the holidays…
 
Yes, a drop below 90 is a reduction if you are following SLGS. So his new dose is 1U.

With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. How long till the AMPS?
 
His AMPS was just 388! Bounce or possibly all the food last night. He just bounced a couple days ago. Can’t get this boy regulated!
He is bouncing. He's been on insulin less than a month. It can take a little time for the cat's body to get used to insulin and to lower numbers. It's great that he is seeing so much blue and green already! :-)
 
He is bouncing. He's been on insulin less than a month. It can take a little time for the cat's body to get used to insulin and to lower numbers. It's great that he is seeing so much blue and green already! :)
Thank you, I’m glad that’s not unusual. I gave him one unit so let’s see how he does. Feels like I’ve had his doses all over the place in just 3 weeks!
 
Sherry -

Your signature notes that Charlie has had trace ketones. Are you testing for ketones? If so, could you put a note in the comments section of your spreadsheet? If you're not testing, you can pick up Ketostix at any pharmacy and test Charlie's urine providing you can stalk him to the litter box.
 
Sherry -

Your signature notes that Charlie has had trace ketones. Are you testing for ketones? If so, could you put a note in the comments section of your spreadsheet? If you're not testing, you can pick up Ketostix at any pharmacy and test Charlie's urine providing you can stalk him to the litter box.
I have tested for ketones, but he will no longer pee on the nonabsorbent litter, so I have to catch him in the act & put the strip in his urine stream. He’s caught on that I’m stalking him, so it’s getting harder!
Did you bring up this concern because he may not be eating enough? I have a hard time knowing if it’s better to give him half his calories in low carb dry food, or if it’s better to feed him the Tiki Cat fishy wet pates he likes, since I keep reading fish is bad too…
 
Will he not eat any low carb wet food other than fish? The dry even though low carb will often keep them higher. You are right that too much fish is not good and once they taste it that is all many want to eat.
 
Will he not eat any low carb wet food other than fish? The dry even though low carb will often keep them higher. You are right that too much fish is not good and once they taste it that is all many want to eat.
I’ve really cut down on his fish. He will eat some of his chicken or beef FF but not enough. I’ve tried warming it up, freeze dried chicken on top, a few pieces of low-carb dry. I just ordered Fortiflora to try now.
 
Sherry -

Your signature notes that Charlie has had trace ketones. Are you testing for ketones? If so, could you put a note in the comments section of your spreadsheet? If you're not testing, you can pick up Ketostix at any pharmacy and test Charlie's urine providing you can stalk him to the litter box.
 
Back
Top