Charlie update and a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello friends! I am happy to report that Charlies numbers are starting to calm down a little! He hasn't been in the red for 5 days now, his numbers seem to be consistently in the purple range mostly staying in the 300's for most of his bgs. I know in a perfect world, he should be in the yellows. We seem to have gotten into a good routine with feeding 4x daily. Should I tweak anything to see if we can get him into the yellows? I started giving him between 2.5 and 2.75 units instead of the 3 units and it seems like that was when the numbers started getting better. Advice? I had been contemplating switching him to Lantus, but now I am having second thoughts. Also, he is due for his Revolution, is this ok to give? What does everyone else recommend for diabetics for flea/tick control? His spreadsheet is attached on my signature line. Thanks again and hope everyone is having a beautiful day! Hugs to all the kitties!!
 
The yellows are nicer, but he does seem to still be flat and fairly high. I like your increase to 2.75 and will watch for your midcycle numbers on that dose. I'd try to a number in that +8 time frame also as earlier he was at his lowest point late in the cycle.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
The yellows are nicer, but he does seem to still be flat and fairly high.
Do you think we should adjust the dose or feeding times, etc? I am willing to do whatever it takes. Thanks! I just updated his sheet, his +4 was 289 and +8 was 306 :)
 
I guess you could up the dose for those higher 300s to 3 units and then 2.75 for the lower preshots. I definitely would plan to be around to monitor if you do that.

When are you feeding him now?
 
He gets fancy feast low carb 4 times daily. I am baffled by this cat. He is due for his shot now and his PMPS is 162.....He is a mystery! What should I do? Its never been this low at this time before..thank you!
 
Hmmm. The easiest thing is to stall - 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If he is up to 200 or pretty close, you can shoot. But I'd shoot a lower dose - maybe 2 units.

He may be a cat who takes several cycles to react to an increase. Good info to have.
 
this is so frustrating...I just retested him and its now 445...he had not a bite to eat...I am going to give 2.75 units and feed now...:(
 
He bounced. His body sensed a lower number than it is used to and released some extra sugars. It happens. Don't forget that nice number - a step in the right direction. :-D
 
is it normal for new diabetics to continuously bounce? I really don't think he ever had a steady pattern. I just want to be sure I am doing everything I can for my sweetheart. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or should I just keep plugging along with current dose/routine?
 
Some cats just bounce until they don't. Patience helps. ;-)

It may help to aim for nadirs (lowest inter-shot glucose level) in the 100-200 mg/dL range first, then aim for 50 to 100 mg/dL.
 
Skooter LOVES his bounces....you can check out his spreadsheet to see.....

The bounces are probably the most frustrating part of all of this for me, at least. I think we are doing so well and then BOUNCE up he goes. But what I have had to learn is the bounce isn't necessarily a BAD thing....it's just Skooter's body's way of learning what is normal and what isn't. I have no idea how long Skooter was diabetic (but I am guessing awhile) so he got very used to numbers in the 400s and 500s.....as soon as he got on the insulin, and even more so when he switched to wet food, the bounces became more pronounced.....

But if you think about it, if a cat gets used to 400s as a "normal" level and then he "goes down" to the 200s the poor kitty is thinking something is wrong and he better produce some insulin quick to "fix the problem".....but over time, at least with Skooter, he is learning to dig the lower numbers and not freak out about them. The more time he spends in the lower numbers, the more healing that can occur and the more your kitty will get used to them....

I am fairly new to all of this myself, so I am not sure if that is the correct thinking to have about bounces, but it does make me feel a little better :)
 
Thank you all for your help. I know it will take time to get a better routine. Just still trying to settle into the whole diabetic thing. You guys have been unbelievably helpful and consoling :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top