Charlie Update 5/31

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
We increased Charlie's dose today to .15 units. It's unbelievable how much a fraction of an amount of insulin can impact. I can still hardly see the difference between .10 and .15 so my partner fills all the syringes so we have some consistency. A week without enough greens and blues so I think an increase is the right way to go. Do you agree?

Sienne (from the levemir board) suggested that the tight regulation protocal says we should have let Charlie drop at least 3 times before reducing her dose (since charlie is now on a very low amount of insulin). I think we will perhaps try that for the next time, depending on how she's doing. Has anyone had any experience in doing that, and suggestions for when we're at work during the day? We can't really catch those drops if we're not here. This is why we immediately reduced the last time rather than waiting it out and going through it 2 more times. If we leave more food out during the day (in case of emergency), charlie will likely eat it before we even leave the house. We could perhaps set her feeder to open up after 3 hours instead of 6? Not sure... thoughts?

This morning I looked at Charlie and she had no energy. She didn't come to us in the morning, and hardly cared when I put her food out. I hope this increase will bring her energy back a bit.

Have a great Friday everyone. TGIF.

Jill
 
I don't know about waiting for the third drop before reducing. Maybe that worked for one person's cat, or it works for cats that have a huge bounce from a drop.

With Beau, I decreased after one drop, however, I waited until his PS numbers came down. For instance, after a low they are usually high at the next PS or two, then they come down and that is when I would decrease. If, while I was waiting for that lower PS there was another drop to a very low number I would have decreased on the next shot regardless.

It does look like Charlie had better numbers on .15u. How soon before you leave does she get her breakfast? When I was working FT away from home there was 2 hrs from the time I tested, fed, shot until I left for work and I always put more food down then. If she eats all her food at once and there is enough lag time (at least 1.5 hrs, I think) either split her breakfast or give a small snack before leaving, then leave the feeder timed as you have it now. Even an ounce would stall the drop.
 
Does your feeder have more than one bowl? You could set it to go at +3 and +6.

ETA-
No advice on the drop. With Sneakers it is a momentary, one time lowered dose and then I am right back up to normal dose.
 
Charlie Update 5/31: AMPS 266, +10 72, PMPS 98

The feeder has multiple slots. Should I give extra food at +3 or just take part of the food from the +6 normal feeding time?

Jill
 
If he's underweight, I'd go with more food. Otherwise, I might split up the feedings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top