Re: Charlie trace ketones diarrhea is back +4 394 dose incre
For the time being, Charlie is exceptionally ketone prone. Hopefully, once things stabilize, this will be much less of an issue. For now, though, you are going to need to be hypervigilent (and I'm not suggesting you haven't been vigilant). It always helps if you can keep in the forefront of your thinking that ketones can occur if there's an infection/inflammation, a cat's consuming enough calories (so stored fat is being burned which then produces ketones), and not enough insulin is on board.
I'd suggest increasing Charlie's dose every 4 - 6 cycles until you start seeing nadirs that are below 200. We can help you decide if you need to increase the dose by 0.5 or 0.25u. This is aggressive but it's one way you can keep the ketones at bay.
Make sure Charlie is eating. If you have to feed him ice cream, it doesn't matter at the moment. (I'm only slightly kidding!) He needs calories. This may be a balancing act with the diarrhea.
Fluids, whether they come from adding liquid to Charlie's food or sub-q fluids can also help to flush ketones.
Finally, figuring out if there's an infection brewing or if there's an inflammation and getting an antibiotic or resolving the issue will reduce the risk of ketones.