Charlie pmps 374 still going strong!

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hi guys! Another great day for Charlie this far. I will even say he played with a new toy I got him this am and he hasn't played in months! I hope we are finally reaching a stability point in which we can all breathe for a moment! I dint mind continuing sc fluids and meds forever if that's what it takes. I'm talking more about the fact that my baby is feeling better! Got a few cans of venison from evo that he really loves. On the suggestion that the GI upset might be a possible food allergy so I figured why not. Charlie amps 347 +3/144, +5/116 no R use today! I am thrilled at his progress but I don't know what changed to make such a dramatic difference. Anyone want to give their opinion on that? Only thing different is zeniquin! But it's affected his numbers in such a great way! What's the lowest number u should be happy with before staring to think about giving hc food? Remember he uses alpha track. Thanks again!
 
Re: Charlie amps 347 +3/144, +5/116 no R use today!

Roughly 50/0.65, or about 76 mg/dL, using the info that human meters read about 35% lower than animal meters.

I've also seen you could add 18 to the human meters at the low end of the scale. That would give you a 68 as as a level not to drop below.

And of course, monitoring for any signs that the cat is experiencing a hypo, as some cats may have a higher threshold at which symptoms appear.
 
Re: Charlie amps 347 +3/144, +5/116 no R use today!

What a great report on Charlie today! Fantastic news that he's playing and you've got a unique protein food that he loves. Did you just start feeding that today? Might want to put a comment in the spreadsheet remarks column about the food change, in case it makes a difference.

As for low numbers, 68 is our "take action" number for the Alphatrak, according the protocol. That's the point you feed high carb food. That 116 is around the mid 80's on a human meter - so congrats on that green! :mrgreen: Anything mid 130's and below on the Alphatrak is what we consider green here and normal BG numbers. :-D :-D Anytime Charlie gets into green, try giving him a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. Often it can help kitties surf there for a while. Go Charlie!
 
Re: Charlie amps 347 +3/144, +5/116 no R use today!

infection/inflammation can really drive up blood sugar, so my guess is that the AB is kicking in and the reduction in the infection in his gut is improving his blood sugar.

Great to hear that he's feeling better - and PLAYING! WOOT! that's the best! so he's feeling better! and 2 days in a row of normal-range nadirs is fantastic!

The most recent document says 68 is the AT# that's equivalent to 50 on the human meters. That doc is located on the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky - look about 5 "paragraphs" down from the top for the doc that has to be downloaded called "Management of Diabetic Cats Using Long-Lasting Insulins." Dr. Rand uses AT numbers in there, which is kind of odd because the original protocol that was published (by her) used human meters. It's worth muddling through if you have time.

congrats on the great #s today - i'm so glad to hear that things are improving. by the way, since mid-130's and less are in the green zone on the spreadsheet, feel free to invite Mr. Greenie to fly as your post icon! Gotta celebrate this victory! :mrgreen:
 
Charlie pmps 374 still going strong! So glad Charlie keeps improving! Does anyone thing his ravenous appetite might start to balance out or is this what I see is what will be his new normal as a diabetic? I'm assuming your cats don't eat 4 tuna fish sized cans daily?! He was eating 8 cans of fancy feast but I've switched him to Dave's brand and evo venison and they are the larger cans. His tummy feels full still but not bloated and distended like last week. He needs to regain lost muscle mass and a few lbs but I need to do it safely. Any suggestions? You guys are the best. Thanks for sharing in Charlie's recent victories! He sends purrs and kitty hugs!
 
I can't remember if you've said how you feed Charlie. Are you spreading his meals out into mini meals? Cats in high numbers will always be hungrier than if they are spending the majority of their time under 200 (or about 270 on the Alphatrak). Once Charlie spends more and more time in normal numbers, his hunger should ease off. Neko has acromegaly, so the excess growth hormone makes her have appetite like a growing teenager, but even that calmed down after getting her into better numbers. I found spreading out into multiple mini meals helped too. She's on raw food and getting about 1/4 lb of food a day, but you always feed less by volume of raw. Are you weighing Charlie weekly to see how his weight is progressing? That's another thing I track in the spreadsheet for myself.
 
Not to hyjack, Wendy do you use commercial raw or make your own. I make mine(Dr Lisa recipe) and never knew how much to feed or what the calories and carbs worked out to be. You can answer this in my condo, thanks
 
Hi there :cool:

I see Charlie is getting in the groove :mrgreen:

EllieKozak said:
I am thrilled at his progress but I don't know what changed to make such a dramatic difference. Anyone want to give their opinion on that?
Having diarrhea for several weeks quite literally drains the intracellular fluid from his body, With the antibiotic having stopped the diarrhea, food is once again moving through the digestive system in a manner that gives his body a chance to absorb nutrients.
EllieKozak said:
Does anyone thing his ravenous appetite might start to balance out or is this what I see is what will be his new normal as a diabetic? I'm assuming your cats don't eat 4 tuna fish sized cans daily?!
Getting enough calories is essential. A kitty recovering from DKA that's been flirting with ketones needs a minimum of 1.5x the calories required to maintain ideal wight.

My BK was down to 7lbs and some change after DKA #2. He ate 15-16 oz per day for quite some time . As he started putting weight back on his consumption went downl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top