Charlie - no shot? (AMPS 157, +1 164, +2 148, +4 113, +6 74, +8 90, +10 99, +11.5 92)

Sarah Gamm

Member Since 2020
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-9-5-1-8-5-3-5-9-5-5-4-2.238428/#post-2677563


I know I’m supposed to hold the dose for a week. But I will be skipping his shot at PMPS and thinking of a dose decrease to 0.5 in the morning.

We have changed him over to Young Again effective on November 6. On November 10 and 11th I gave him high carb food in the afternoon because I was worried he’d drop too low).

Nadir’s are below 90, so a dose decrease is “earned” immediately. We’re currently at 1.25, but I’m thinking of dropping to 0.5 or 0.75 and then increasing if needed. I don’t want a hypo scenario
 
Last edited:
Congrats on the earned reduction. He’s looking really good. The food change has helped a lot. Hypo range on a human meter is under 50. Max never had a symptomatic hypo and was low many times but I understand your concern. If you want to try .75 you can always go back up to 1.0 if he trends upward. It’s better for him to get insulin every 12 hours than to skip so give it a try.
 
Congrats on the earned reduction. He’s looking really good. The food change has helped a lot. Hypo range on a human meter is under 50. Max never had a symptomatic hypo and was low many times but I understand your concern. If you want to try .75 you can always go back up to 1.0 if he trends upward. It’s better for him to get insulin every 12 hours than to skip so give it a try.
Even tonight give him 0.75? I don’t think I’ll sleep if I do LOL
 
Definitely not. I meant in the morning. Skipping was the right thing to do.
OK thank you!! I think I’m finally getting the hang of this but I still resort to this board to confirm that I’m doing things right. I very much appreciate your feedback and support
 
Back
Top