Charlie - no shot? (AMPS 157, +1 164, +2 148, +4 113, +6 74, +8 90, +10 99, +11.5 92)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sarah Gamm, Nov 12, 2020.

  1. Sarah Gamm

    Sarah Gamm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-9-5-1-8-5-3-5-9-5-5-4-2.238428/#post-2677563


    I know I’m supposed to hold the dose for a week. But I will be skipping his shot at PMPS and thinking of a dose decrease to 0.5 in the morning.

    We have changed him over to Young Again effective on November 6. On November 10 and 11th I gave him high carb food in the afternoon because I was worried he’d drop too low).

    Nadir’s are below 90, so a dose decrease is “earned” immediately. We’re currently at 1.25, but I’m thinking of dropping to 0.5 or 0.75 and then increasing if needed. I don’t want a hypo scenario
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Congrats on the earned reduction. He’s looking really good. The food change has helped a lot. Hypo range on a human meter is under 50. Max never had a symptomatic hypo and was low many times but I understand your concern. If you want to try .75 you can always go back up to 1.0 if he trends upward. It’s better for him to get insulin every 12 hours than to skip so give it a try.
     
    Sarah Gamm likes this.
  3. Sarah Gamm

    Sarah Gamm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    Even tonight give him 0.75? I don’t think I’ll sleep if I do LOL
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Definitely not. I meant in the morning. Skipping was the right thing to do.
     
  5. Sarah Gamm

    Sarah Gamm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    OK thank you!! I think I’m finally getting the hang of this but I still resort to this board to confirm that I’m doing things right. I very much appreciate your feedback and support
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Unless he goes under 90, in which case you reduce immediately. Congrats on the reduction.
     
    Sarah Gamm likes this.

Share This Page