Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello I posted a while ago and have not gotten any responses. Charlie is getting worse. He won't eat a thing. Even went to store n got chicken. Even high carb food. He's vomited twice since I've been home. All was good this am. Got home from work to find him a little lethargic but ate and I gave him 2 u r then he vomited. This will be the third time being hospitalized in Er if it's dka shock I'm thinking it is. My husband won't go for another gigantic bill. I don't want to put him to sleep. Please help me figure out my options. He was supposed to get his lantus a half hour ago but I haven't given it because he won't eat. Current bg is 308. He hasn't gone to the box other than diarrhea so I haven't checked ketones yet
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

I wish I had other options to offer, but unfortunately I do think you need to take Charlie to a vetty right away, given his history. If it's DKA, he really needs to be treated in a hospital environment.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

it may be that a vet visit, a shot of cerenia to quell the nausea, followed later by something to stimulate his appetite, might be all he needs.

Ketones can move quickly from trace to large, so it's possible it's ketones. Are these the symptoms he had before with KDA? when was the last ketone test and what was it?

there isn't anyway to know if you don't have a blood ketone meter. i think it's a vet visit too, but perhaps not a hospitalization. i'd get on it asap.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

Hi,
I'm so sorry to hear that Charlie is not doing well. It does sound like he needs to get to the vet. You may already know about this, but there is a credit card called Care Credit that can be used exclusively for medical needs (for people and kitties). I got one when my civvie needed emergency surgery last year. You can get approved instantly and use it immediately because they will give you the number right when you sign up.. If you're interested in that, go to www.carecredit.com.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

Persistent vomiting will throw his electrolytes off. Given his history, it's best to get him checked out by a vet. This could be something simple or it might not. If this were your child, you'd be off to the ER. I kinda look at it in those terms.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

it's important to remember that none of us is a vet - we understand feline diabetes and Lantus/Lev dosing, but when you have a crisis, you really need your vet.

please keep us updated! sending our best thoughts with you.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

how is he this morning, ellie? i hope you guys are ok.

later last night i saw your post from earlier yesterday - yes, he needs a dose increase for his next shot. ah, i just saw you increased by 0.5u. hold that for 4 cycles and let's re-evaluate. he should have been increased on Thursday night.

i'm really sorry your post earlier yesterday got missed. sometimes posts drop down and if there are a lot of questions at the top of the board they don't get seen. always feel free to bump up your post by adding a reply at the bottom - then it will for certain get seen.

:YMHUG: hang in there, little charlie! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

Hello all. Charlie is feeling a bit better today. I spoke to his dr last night and she told me to go get some cerenia and mirtazapine and continue sub q fluids and I think that's helped. Still having blow out diarrhea (was on metronidazole then switched to tylan but tylan was not helping so I switched back to metro) his appetite is coming back and he's a little more like himself. Thanks for the well wishes
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

Sending continued prayers for Charlie for a full recovery. I know this is so nervewracking.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

Just a heads up on the mirtazapine, it worked very well for my Lola, actually too good. She was wanting to eat everything in sight.
One side affect that I did not like was what seemed like paranoia. She was always looking over her back and acting freaked out over the littlest sounds. The sides started to fade by the 3rd dose. She was also taking cerenia for nausea that did wonders.
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

Poor Charlie! I'm so glad he is feeling better today. Sending healing vines and prayers for his recovery.

Ellie, could you please go back to your original post and take down the 911? It gives us a jolt to see that, and we think your kitty is still in danger. Thanks! :-D
 
Re: Charlie is not well. Vomiting. Won't eat. 30 min past do

glad to hear an update. it's a good idea to give the cerenia time to work (at least 1/2 -1 hr) before you give the mirtz. that way he's not feeling grossly like vomiting and yet wanting to eat on top of it.

Why don't you go ahead and start a new condo for today when you post next?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top