Crista & Ming
Member Since 2018
Let's see how charlie does without food. I would test in half an hour.
I'm doing fine and so is Charlie, no symptoms. Just ate some chicken and laying down to sleep but will have to test again soon. Sorry Charlie!How are you doing? Don't forget to breath.
You can squeeze off some of the gravy if you think he would lick some of it, the gravy is full of carbs.
Ok thanks. I will post number in a half hour.Let's see how charlie does without food. I would test in half an hour.
Will post next reading in 30 minutes. Thanks everyone for the continued help!OK. Yes, very close. Let's see if it increases during the next 30 minutes.

Great! please keep testing him this afternoon, and also during the evening, because Lantus is a long lasting insulin.BG 119 so doing well

I am trying to do SLGS but was not following strictly because I knew many shots were not effective. I hope that improves as we go along. I will be sure to get a daily before bed reading when possible. My son is more of a night owl so when he can I will ask him to check his sugar and enter in SS (at least until he goes to college in a few weeks). Charlies ear is bleeding now much better than in the beginning. Is it ok for me to switch back to my Relion meter at some point to save money on the test strips? AlphaTrak are so expensive.Now for some housekeeping things: Have you decided on a dosing method? If you haven't already, take a look at this sticky: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
And like people have already suggested, try to take some night tests. Think of the SS as a puzzle. You want to fill out the blanks and see what Charlie is doing at different times of the night and day. Of course, it is not always possible but try your best
Most people try to get a before bed test at +2 or +3 so they know what the cycle will look like during the night and whether or not they will need to intervene.
Yeah I hope he does better on 1 u starting tonight. BTW I tracked him down to the litter box earlier today with my soup ladle and got his pee to test for ketones. The things I do for Charlie lol. Anyway his test was negative for ketones.The methods here are based upon the human meters!
So I think we know for sure that 1.25u is too much. So he definitely earned that reduction to 1 u.
Yes switch!!Is it ok for me to switch back to my Relion meter at some point to save money on the test strips? AlphaTrak are so expensive.
Good job today! You and Charlie did so amazing. Please post here and ask as many questions as you need. We're all very happy to help and would love to follow along you and Charlie's progress. And yay for Son for doing tests![]()
Honestly I have more of those expensive test strips I need to use up, then I will switch back and see if theres enough blood for those strips. Today has made a dent in my supply for sure!Yes switch!!
Oh boy, definitely bouncing. You'll just have to ride it out. Just remember bounces can last for several cycles so don't get discouraged. Even with high numbers you still need to test consistently. You handled today really well.Preshot 479 so definitely bouncing. I will get another reading at +2
I will post his next reading for advice if I will need to get up with him in the night.Oh boy, definitely bouncing. You'll just have to ride it out. Just remember bounces can last for several cycles so don't get discouraged. Even with high numbers you still need to test consistently. You handled today really well.![]()