Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone! I just did Charlie's amps and it came back as 293. This is the lowest that it has ever been. Should I still give three units? His spreadsheet is attached. Thank you also very much
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

Hi Ellie. I see that you were requesting suggestions for your AMPS this morning. Glad you also posted on the health forum too as there are more eyes there. You are doing a great job of gathering data so far. Today will definitely give you some additional clues on how Charlie is responding to your doses.

Glad you got a +1 and +3 test as it gives you a great idea of how his day will be. It looks like you will be getting into the greens today. Don't panic...that is a good thing and if he gets too low, you will be in control of it. Since he dropped pretty good at +3 (103), I would suggest testing at +4 to see what you will get as you may have to get +5 and +6 to see when his lowest number is. I am assuming that you are using a human meter? Do you have all your supplies in case Charlie gets a little low i.e. medium carb food, high carb food, honey or syrup. You probably already know this but you don't want to go below 40 with a human meter (80 if you have a pet meter). If you start getting close to 40 or 50, I usually start giving him a teaspoon of medium carb food say at 50 or below. If he gets to around 40, I give a little gravy. Remember you don't want to get Charlie filled up with food in case you have to keep feeding him to get his numbers back up.

Holler if you need anything.
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

Ellie, how is Charlie?
Just saw that he was heading into lower numbers.
I hope everything is OK.

Looking forward to an update....
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

Hi guys! Thanks so much for keeping in touch! I should have mentioned that I have an Alpha Trak meter that I am borrowing from the animal hospital. I know I have to buy my own meter eventually and to be quite honest I am afraid to use the human meter for fear of miscalculating what the "true" BG really is. I am HORRIBLE with any kind of math/conversions etc. I know its for monitoring ranges mostly but I have been printing and bringing his SS in to work every day so his doctor stays on top of his numbers like a hawk. His +1 was 318, +3 was 103 and +6 was 298. I had a few appointments today that I could not miss and those were the only times I could get a sample. I will be here until 6 (EST) tonight and will return at midnight but I have a friend that is coming to give him his dose tonight. She wont be able to get a PMPS but I will get a few more readings before I leave. I am off all day tomorrow and can test every hour if necessary. Once again thank you all!
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

I should add that my daughter just fed him his lunch (ff seafood) about 40 minutes before I got the +6 sample so that might be a little higher than expected for that reason. Just got him some bonita flakes and he loves them!
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

Thanks for the update. i am surprised that his +6 number was so high. I really thought Charlie was going to see green today.

Anyway, regarding the human vs. pet meter, I can tell you that I felt the same way ... at first. But now, I wish I would have started right off with the human meter. First reason for a human meter is; data is data and most of the spreadsheets that you read on this site are from human meters. Most all of the advisors are using human meters. So when I first tested with the pet meters, I had to constantly remind all that were helping me that I was using the pet meter so they had to translate. Second reason for a human meter is cost. My pet meter cost over $100 and each strip cost $1. My Relion Micro (from Walmart) was $15 and the strips are 18 cents each. There were days when I was testing ten times or more ... that would be $10 for the pet test strips. Third reason for a human meter is convenience. All I have to do is run to Walmart to get the strips where my pet meter (AlphaTrak), I had to plan ahead and order online. The only "con" that I can think of is having to remind your vet that you are using a human meter. Fortunately, Merlin's vet was okay with me using the human meter and I was especially pleased when he said, "data is data and all we are looking for are trends." He also said that, "high is high and once Merlin get in those higher numbers, it doesn't matter other than we need to try and get it lower." So I know where you are coming from and it was hard for me to switch over but I finally did, I was glad that I did.
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

No need to convert anything; just use the following.

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Re: Charlie amps 293 lowest it's been need advise ASAP AM do

Just to reassure you more, even my vet said to use a human meter. She told me pet meters were expensive and to just use a human one. So some vets even say that. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top