? Charlie AMPS 137, +2 137, +4 146, +7 158 PMPS 184 — Increase? Can someone please help? I think we’re losing regulation

Charlie'sMom22

Member Since 2025
Hi all,

Can someone take a look at Charlie's numbers the last couple of days and give me their opinion as to what's going on?

I started introducing raw food a couple weeks ago (the same stuff he used to eat before his diabetes), and he was doing well. His numbers were in the greens pretty much all day every day. Then a few days ago he had yet another constipation/pancreatitis flare/GI episode.

He got .075mg oral bupe that night and the next morning. After that second dose of bupe, he started having side effects: he was extremely skittish and jumpy, and he had weakness in his back legs that severely affected his ability to walk. These side effects lasted about 14 hours. I think clearance is longer because of his CKD. As they tapered off, he started sleeping under the bed (he almost never does this) and his BG went up to ~140-150. He was under the bed all that night and all day/night yesterday. Numbers are totally flat. It's so strange.

Any idea what's going on and if there's anything I can do about it? Did the extra dose of bupe mess him up? Stress? Or could it be lingering inflammation from the episode? So far today he has not gone under the bed and he seems to be feeling a bit better. I'm wondering if I don't see improvement in his numbers by tomorrow if I should give him an increase.

ETA: Just noting that this is the first time he's ever had more than one dose of bupe

Thanks, and I'm wishing everyone a safe and boring day.
 
Last edited:
Jess! Good to hear from you. I haven't checked Charlie's spreadsheet in a long while and I was blown away that he is down to 0.25 units. Woah. Sorry, I don't know the answer to your question....

Sorry about having to deal with the pancreatitis and food issues. I know that has been rough
 
Jess! Good to hear from you. I haven't checked Charlie's spreadsheet in a long while and I was blown away that he is down to 0.25 units. Woah. Sorry, I don't know the answer to your question....

Sorry about having to deal with the pancreatitis and food issues. I know that has been rough
Hi Seth! Thanks! I know, I’m so proud of him! We were cruising along pretty well there for the last month. Looks like Bell is doing pretty well too! That’s great.

The pancreatitis (or whatever it is) has been rough. He’s developed several other issues too including CKD and now possible heart disease. We’re in crisis every other week it seems. He has an echo coming up in early December and I’m really hoping for some good news. We need it.
 
I would still call nothing but blue for 4 cycles flat. If he's still going through p'titis, the inflammation can cause numbers to go up. Good luck with the increase, even if premature for following SLGS for dosing.
 
I would still call nothing but blue for 4 cycles flat. If he's still going through p'titis, the inflammation can cause numbers to go up. Good luck with the increase, even if premature for following SLGS for dosing.
Not sure what you mean, I follow TR now ;)
 
Back
Top