?Charlie +5 BG 52, +5.25 35, +5.5 79, +6.5 129, +7 152

charliesmom1

Member Since 2019
Charlie is not having any symptoms and I am not freaking out! I fed him some high carb food and will recheck him in 15 minutes. With SLGS he has earned a dose reduction back to 1.5. I'm unsure if that's the right thing to do since I had a fur shot last night and wondering if this is the result? He is finally getting some yellow and blue numbers so I want to make sure I need to reduce the dose. Thanks.
 
Oh a green! Since it was at +6, it should go up now. Good catch!
At 15 minutes it had gone down 35 yikes! I might have panicked a bit there and gave him some karo syrup followed by more high carb dry food (wouldn't eat the gravy). I will check again in 15 minutes. So should I reduce dose starting tonight?
 
At 15 minutes it had gone down 35 yikes! I might have panicked a bit there and gave him some karo syrup followed by more high carb dry food (wouldn't eat the gravy). I will check again in 15 minutes. So should I reduce dose starting tonight?
oops, that's low, karo is a good idea, you can also mix it with his regular food if he doesn't like the gravy? (good to know).
According to the protocol, yes, you have to reduce tonight! Congrats!
 
oops, that's low, karo is a good idea, you can also mix it with his regular food if he doesn't like the gravy? (good to know).
According to the protocol, yes, you have to reduce tonight! Congrats!
In my panic I was holding him down and rubbing it on his gums lol. He ate more carb food and it back up to 79. I will keep checking this afternoon. I feel like reducing is going backwards since he was getting better numbers on this dose but I will reduce to 1.5. What do the numbers look like for a cat who is regulated?
 
At 15 minutes it had gone down 35 yikes! I might have panicked a bit there and gave him some karo syrup followed by more high carb dry food (wouldn't eat the gravy). I will check again in 15 minutes. So should I reduce dose starting tonight?

Do not feed too much. A cat with a full tummy will not want to eat and you are going to need him to eat for the next couple of hours.

+5 52 (HC dry)
+5.25 35 (HC dry + karo)
+5.5 79
Do you have plenty of strips?

Do not feed now and test in 20 minutes.
You will to continue to test every 20 minutes until Charlie is above 50 without the benefit of food for at least an hour, two is better.
If Charlie falls back below 50, then this clock starts all over again.

Hypo instructions can be found here.
And can you update your thread to show the numbers? It will draw more experienced eyes to the thread. – +5 52; +5.25 35; +5.5 79
Yes, definitely reduce the dose tonight.

I can stay with you for the next hour and then I have to go out. I will try to get someone to watch. Right now, just going downstairs to make a cuppa. You are doing a fantastic job.
 
A regulated goes between 50-150 I believe, on a human meter. The dose was starting to work yes, but too much, hence the lime. There's a depot too, so even if you reduce, you have to keep monitoring him because the effect will not be immediate. You can't stay at 1.75, you need to keep him safe right now! It's probable you'll have to increase again later, but... maybe not?
 
Numbers in the 30s warrant an immediate reduction, even if you were following TR. Better to be safe, congrats on the reduction.

From "The Basics" sticky: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

'What is Regulation?':

There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin

 
Do not feed too much. A cat with a full tummy will not want to eat and you are going to need him to eat for the next couple of hours.

+5 52 (HC dry)
+5.25 35 (HC dry + karo)
+5.5 79
Do you have plenty of strips?

Do not feed now and test in 20 minutes.
You will to continue to test every 20 minutes until Charlie is above 50 without the benefit of food for at least an hour, two is better.
If Charlie falls back below 50, then this clock starts all over again.

Hypo instructions can be found here.
And can you update your thread to show the numbers? It will draw more experienced eyes to the thread. – +5 52; +5.25 35; +5.5 79
Yes, definitely reduce the dose tonight.

I can stay with you for the next hour and then I have to go out. I will try to get someone to watch. Right now, just going downstairs to make a cuppa. You are doing a fantastic job.
He did eat quite a bit. I do have a lot of strips so will keep monitoring him. Thank you!
 
Some cats do not show symptoms of low numbers. I'm glad you caught the low numbers. Testing is so important.
The protocol is:
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Great. He is on his way up.
Feed at his usual times. And do get a +10, if you can. It may tell you if Charlie will be bouncing from the low numbers.
Tonight, you reduce back to 1.5 units. Do keep in mind that the depot from the 1.75 units will still be in play.
 
Great. He is on his way up.
Feed at his usual times. And do get a +10, if you can. It may tell you if Charlie will be bouncing from the low numbers.
Tonight, you reduce back to 1.5 units. Do keep in mind that the depot from the 1.75 units will still be in play.
I will get a +10. Charlie is a big bouncer so I am sure that will come into play tonight and tomorrow! I will keep an eye on him overnight if needed.
 
Back
Top