Charlie 10.25.23 AMPS 275, +2 278 +7 88

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...19-10-161-pmps-181-2-130.282879/#post-3117362

Spent all day sleeping next to me so when he followed me into the kitchen for a snack, I assumed he'd be like 250. LOLOL. Nope, 88.

Have been contemplating a lower threshold for dose reductions. If I did 80, then obviously, that's not a reduction.

Starting to get a little anxious with travel coming up. He will be home alone during the day. My husband refuses to test. I do have a vet tech coming in to test and give him insulin.
 
Have been contemplating a lower threshold for dose reductions. If I did 80, then obviously, that's not a reduction.
That's something to consider especially since you test enough :)

Starting to get a little anxious with travel coming up
When are you leaving? How long will you be gone?
A vacation dose might be in order. Charlie seems to be earning quite a few reductions :cat:
 
I wish I was going on vacation. Gone Wednesday through Saturday for a work trip on the 15th-18th of November.

We will be gone between Christmas and New Years and our vet tech cat sitter will be in the take care of all of them. But she still likely won't be able to test in the middle of the day.

On days when I work from home, I can test many times a day. I haven't had as many days away but I have one coming up, a 7 hour meeting on Nov 6. That stresses me out too.
 
Having to work outside of the home with a diabetic cat is stressful. At one point, I had seriously contemplated flying @Bandit's Mom Bhooma to NY for my peace of mind :joyful::joyful:.

I'd put the anxiety of the work trip in November on the back burner. A LOT can happen with FD between now and November 15th. Post again closer to the trip, say 11/10 for a recommendation for a "vacation dose". That's where the dose is lowered a bit while you are away and may not have someone available to test so kitty will stay safe.

Don't stress too much for Nov 7. You can always feed higher carb food :bighug:
 
I'm not actually sure I can feed higher carb food. He's on Purina OM wet right now. I still haven't figured out the actual carb count on that. Maybe the Friskies shreds is still higher?

He was back up to 128 at +10 after some food at +9. Maybe it's just cold but he hasn't really been running around the house like a kitten today. Just curled up sleeping but most of them wer curled up sleeping all day .
 
I'm not actually sure I can feed higher carb food. He's on Purina OM wet right now. I still haven't figured out the actual carb count on that. Maybe the Friskies shreds is still higher?
Here's a link to Dr Lisa's 2017 food chart so don't drive yourself crazy trying to calculate the carbs.o_O
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

Just curled up sleeping but most of them wer curled up sleeping all day .
I'm jealous :p
 
Back
Top