Charleysmom
Member Since 2012
Charley just returned from a bg check at the vet. To our shock and the vet, Charley's bg was 59. The vet thought it might be a false reading, so he tested again - 57. SHOCK. He was just diagnosed on 1/9 and his glucose was 565, Fructosamine 680, no ketones. He was prescribed Prozinc 1.5 units twice a day. His glucose last Wednesday was down to 325. His vet said it's a step in the right direction and raised his insulin to 2 units twice a day. We have changed him to meal fed, stopped the m/d and switched to a combo of Special kitty/Fancy feast. The vet has recommended no insulin for the next 7-10 days. He feels we may be able to control the diabetes through diet alone, but obviously the next testing will tell the tale. The vet was at first pretty direct that we needed to go back to only m/d - he equated the fancy feast to a child who is only given McDonalds. So...I pulled out Binky's chart. He said he has never seen any research to support any diet for diabetic cats other than m/d, but he was open to trying this. We want to start home testing, just haven't because I wasn't so confident in his injections yet. The vet had also shared he felt it wasn't necessary. I disagreed. Have you seen numbers drop so quickly? What are your thoughts that we could regulate through diet alone after just two weeks? Very confused.