Charley 2/14 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charley

Member
54 amps, odd, so we waited five minutes and ...56. He ate breakfast and seems like his normal self. No insulin this morning obviously. Going to try one more poke in an hour to make sure he is rising. He sure is keeping us hopping.
 
ok, please do not shoot this moring
What did you shooot last night...I know you shot 1 unit yesterday morning
 
just an fyi, In skipping the shot this moring, there is a chance he will be high tonight
but please dont overshootI am still thinking 1 unit might be too much
he most likely went pretty low last night, so tonight even if he is in the 400's
I would still only shoot .50 to .75..
 
Waht was his preshot...277 at +3 is not a bad number, which means he could be getting
a very long duration on one unit
which is why you might want to reduce also
so you wont have to deal with no shoot numbers at preshot time
and then havehim go really high later
 
Pmps 427. No insulin this morning. I just don't understand why this morning's amps was so very low.
 
Whatever the reason, it's good news!

I would shoot less than one unit tonight. I know his number is higher than last night, but a good part of that is that he went 24 hours without insulin. One unit was too much last night - that was why his number was so low this morning and he got a long duration.

How would you feel about .5? And trying to get a test in before bed so you can see where he is headed? It may not be enough, but we will find out tonight and adjust in the am. Better too little for the night cycle than too much.
 
We gave 1 unit. I didn't see this until after I already gave it. I will test him at +4 tonight before we go to bed. He has been really playful and social. I had just opened new test strips. Would that impact the results?
 
After what happened on Sunday, I'm nervous. He just tested at 281. He ate at 5:15. Shot 1 unit at 5:30 Seems to be dropping fast especially since he just ate. Or am I paranoid? Leaving for two hours. Will test as soon as I get home.
 
Yea, that is a fast drop. Leave out some food so he can bring himself up if he feels himself going low. Will anyone be around who could watch him?
 
225 at +4 after pm shot. I don't like where this is headed. I put out some food. He will get nothing over .5 until I can attempt another curve on Saturday. So glad I had the courage to start home testing.
 
I'm glad you are testing too!

I think he is looking okay. He seems to have slowed his drop quite a bit.

We need you to get a spreadsheet up. When you have a few minutes, send me a pm. You want to have one so if you have a problem, we can see quickly what is happening and can help.
 
I think when I pulled it up on my phone it deleted the automatic link. I will fix it tomorrow when I can get on my laptop.
 
Your spreadsheet is under charleysmom, not charley. That's why it doesn't show in the signature for Charley. :smile:

Sue, can she link the one spreadsheet under both accounts? Charleysmom and Charley?
 
I have no idea about the two accounts. It told me one name was already taken so I did it again with the other.

His amps was 287.
 
I could be mistaken. Is this your thread?

It was started by Charleysmom, then was being commented on by Charley...and sounded like you on both accounts so I figured you were one and the same. :smile: Wouldn't be the first time I was wrong. :-D
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
I could be mistaken. Is this your thread?

It was started by Charleysmom, then was being commented on by Charley...and sounded like you on both accounts so I figured you were one and the same. :smile: Wouldn't be the first time I was wrong. :-D
Yes. That's me. I don't know how both were activated. So odd. Does anyone have a suggestion of how to fix this?
 
If they are both you, (I thought they weren't because one discussed changing to Lantus) you would have to have two user names and two passwords. If you don't have that, I don't know. Click on your name. When your profile comes up, it has "search posts". That should give you all the threads where you have posted.

Go to Control Panel, profile and edit account settings. That "should" have your info.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
If they are both you, (I thought they weren't because one discussed changing to Lantus) you would have to have two user names and two passwords. If you don't have that, I don't know. Click on your name. When your profile comes up, it has "search posts". That should give you all the threads where you have posted.

Go to Control Panel, profile and edit account settings. That "should" have your info.
There is another Charlie, with ie. I will go on the computer tonight and try to get it all updated.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
It works! He is getting nice numbers. Hope you can get some mid cycle numbers this weekend so we can see how it is really working.

.5 is such a tiny amount. I plan on doing a curve, or at least attempt one, on Saturday. I just hate to think what would have happened if we gave the initial 3 units that was prescribed.
 
Yep. You can pay it forward by sharing your story with newbies. It is so hard to go against your vet's advice and give less than prescribed. Lots of newbies struggle with that.
 
If you could get a mid cycle number tonight it would
help see what is happening and then you could better judge to go up or hold
 
dmartini4 said:
If you could get a mid cycle number tonight it would
help see what is happening and then you could better judge to go up or hold

I'll try to get a poke in at 9. We are an early bedtime house. We get up at 4:30am. The life of high school teachers is not glamourous. lol. Have a good night. Thank you for extending such kindness.
 
I understand I am up at 4:30am too so it is hard to stay up late
hopefully the 9pm number will help see what is happening
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top