Brashworks
Member Since 2015
My girl Genghis was Dx nearly a month ago. She was put on Caninsulin and has had one dose adjustment (from 2.0u to 1.0u after a low number).
She has had a few curves done at home and she always tests nicely. Not too steep a drop and not too high a rise over 12 hours. But other days, her nadir has been <5.6 (68 - 98 at +3 and sometimes +4 or even +6) and her AM and PMPS numbers suggest that the duration is well under 12 hours.
She had been on a mix of dry and wet food pre-Dx and she is now exclusively on FF low carb varieties. She eats pre-shot by about a half hour, then again at her shot. Pet sitter feeds her again about +3 or 4.
Based on her nadir number not supporting a dose increase and the fact that I can't dose every 8 hours or be here to feed her mini meals through the day, or increase dose in conjunction with increased meals at around nadir (if only I could see consistency in the peak time!), I am pondering changing to a longer acting insulin.
Suggestions? Is it too soon after only a month? Is there anything special I need to do before switching her to something longer acting like Lantus?
Thanks for any thoughts.
She has had a few curves done at home and she always tests nicely. Not too steep a drop and not too high a rise over 12 hours. But other days, her nadir has been <5.6 (68 - 98 at +3 and sometimes +4 or even +6) and her AM and PMPS numbers suggest that the duration is well under 12 hours.
She had been on a mix of dry and wet food pre-Dx and she is now exclusively on FF low carb varieties. She eats pre-shot by about a half hour, then again at her shot. Pet sitter feeds her again about +3 or 4.
Based on her nadir number not supporting a dose increase and the fact that I can't dose every 8 hours or be here to feed her mini meals through the day, or increase dose in conjunction with increased meals at around nadir (if only I could see consistency in the peak time!), I am pondering changing to a longer acting insulin.
Suggestions? Is it too soon after only a month? Is there anything special I need to do before switching her to something longer acting like Lantus?
Thanks for any thoughts.