changing insulin from Humulin NHP to Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicki and Jerry

Member Since 2015
Jerry has been on Humulin NHP insulin and after learning so much from this forum I am wanting to change his insulin to Levemir I have done a spreadsheet and do home testing but know I know how important doing a curve is. I think the humulin is taking his BG down to quickly and therefore the high preshot numbers. Bouncing effect?? Any help on making the transition would be very much appreciated. TIA
 
Have you discussed changing insulin with your vet? Not sure how familiar vets in the US are with Levemir. When I wanted to switch my girl, my vet in Canada had never heard of Levemir and wanted to research it a bit before we switched. I think it would be ideal to at least advice your vet about this decision. Levemir is dosed the same as Lantus.

Levemir is a long lasting insulin and as you know, works differently than the Humulin NHP you've been using, so my thinking would be that you'd want to start off as if starting from scratch. The usual starting dose for Lantus and Levemir is calculated as 0.5u/kg of weight twice daily. You'd calculate Jerry's weight in kg by dividing his weight in lbs. by 2.2. Then take his weight in kg. and multiply that by 0.5 to get his starting dose.

Dosing is determined on the lowest reading of the each 12 hour cycle. With Lantus and Levemir, that low usually occurs around 4 -7 hours post shot (some cats are earlier and some later and it's not always at the same time each cycle) so getting mid cycle readings as often as possible will be the readings you'll need to determine how to adjust Jerry's dose going forward.

There are two protocols here....TR (Tight Regulation) and SLGS (Start Low , Go Slow). You can decide which protocol you are comfortable with or follow your vet's advice. Most vets seem to subscribe to something similar to the SLGS here. Please note however that the reference numbers in these protocols are based on the use of human meters rather than your AlphaTrak. There are a lot of expert members familiar with your AT meter and they can guide you accordingly. When/if you switch to Levemir, you can post in the Lantus/Levemir forum and get any assistance need.

Not being familiar with Humulin, I can't speak to whether what you are seeing is bouncing or not but it definitely looks like the Humulin is not lasting long enough and bouncing is a good possibility so changing to a longer acting insulin should help smooth out his curve. I notice you have been changing Jerry's dose frequently and with his drops and rises, I can understand why. With Levemir, it's best to hold a dose for at least 6 cycles with TR and longer (5 to 7 days) using SLGS unless of course Jerry goes low enough to need a reduction.
 
Welcome to the FDMB!! Great job getting Jerry’s SS up and running and home testing. You’ve been doing a great job at testing during the day lately!

I’d just like to clarify a few things to best help you.

If you would like to change to levemir, it’s an awesome insulin and there’s no need to use lantus if you and your vet have determined levemir is the one you want to use. They are both long duration insulins. They differ in the method in which the insulin is actually released to the body but they have the same potential to deliver nice, long flat curves. I’ve used both and switched from lantus to levemir just because lantus wasn’t working as well for Gracie but every cat is different (ECID). The other differences are in terms of onset and nadirs. Some report that levemir can also give longer durations but, again, ECID. Lantus, in general (again..remember ECID so this can vary), onsets about +2 and a “typical” nadir would be around +6. Levemir onsets, generally, around +4 and can nadir anywhere between +8 and +12. (The plus numbers are the hours since insulin was last given). Lantus may sting some cats but for others, even 2 or 3us may not bother them. Unlike the shorter or medium duration insulins, lantus and levemir are dosed primarily on the nadir with some consideration given to preshot BG instead of being dosed just on the preshot BG.

Levemir is a long lasting insulin and as you know, works differently than the Humulin NHP you've been using, so my thinking would be that you'd want to start off as if starting from scratch. The usual starting dose for Lantus and Levemir is calculated as 0.5u/kg of weight twice daily. You'd calculate Jerry's weight in kg by dividing his weight in lbs. by 2.2. Then take his weight in kg. and multiply that by 0.5 to get his starting dose.

Unfortunately, this is not correct advice. Those starting doses are used when cats have not been on a previous insulin. If a cat is on another insulin that is not one of the L insulins (lantus or levemir), we take the current dose and patterns into consideration. Also, the starting dose quoted above, if the cat is new to insulin, is for those who plan to use the tight regulation protocol with lantus or levemir. If a caregiver plans to use the SLGS approach and is new to any insulin, the starting dose is not calculated as shown by Linda.

Edited to add: I neglected to mention that the formula for starting dose for Lantus/levemir for the TR protocol for cats new to any insulin is not 0.5u/kg. It is 0.25u/kg of ideal body weight. If kitty is underweight, one would use kitty's current weight.

Just also want to clarify here that SLGS is not a protocol. I want to be sure you have the correct information. The Tight Regulation Protocol is based on scientific research. SLGS is an “approach” or “methodology” based more on anecdotal information, not scientific research, and is, therefore, not a protocol. Both have the ability to get cats well regulated and into remission although the TR protocol is more aggressive and has a fairly decent track record of remission. I like to suggest that new members focus foremost on getting kitty regulated and so the important decision for you is whether the TR protocol or the SLGS approach is best for your ability and availability to monitor Jerry. We do have a lot of members who work and do the TR protocol but it’s best that you read about both and determine which is best for the two of you.

Sorry to go on all about that before getting to the dose questions but it’s important you receive correct info as well as others who might be reading but not asking questions.

When I’m looking at Jerry’s SS, he has seen response to insulin even at 2.25u (and by response, I mean normal numbers on the AT). In fact, he’s seen some normal numbers at 2us on the AT. The reason I think you are seeing so much black is that Jerry is dropping on you, particularly at night when you have no data. Many cats tend to go lower at night. When the BG drops fast, drops lower than the cat is used to, or drops low (as in below 68 on the AT), it causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones which drive the BG back up to keep kitty safe (we call this “bouncing”). Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear but Jerry looks to me like he’s clearing them faster on some days. I would encourage you, no matter which insulin you switch to, to try, at night, and get at least a before bed test on Jerry. The more data you are able to build, the more you will be able to help Jerry flatten out and minimize his bouncing.

Because Jerry has seen some response into lower numbers at 2u, I would suggest that’s where you start with the levemir. The more spot checks you can get on him, the better you will be able to tell how he’s responding and I’d encourage you to monitor him closely over the next few days when you switch. While lantus and levemir both have depots that typically need to build, we have, on occasion, seen a fast response. You can shoot the NPH one cycle and the levemir the next. From experience, I’d recommend you start the new insulin during the day :) There are just a lot more eyes around to assist you.

You might also want to post in the Lantus and Levemir Insulin Support Group on this forum. That’s where the majority of L/L users are and there are a lot of very experienced eyes there to assist you. There is also a plethora of information (in the form of “Stickys”) in that ISG that can help you determine whether you want to do the TR protocol or SLGS approach. There is also information regarding the difference between lantus and levemir, how to properly store and handle it, etc. The wealth of information is astounding and should help you as you move forward.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Last edited:
Great job catching that +2 test last night. Jerry was headed down pretty fast. He started out the same way yesterday morning and ended up at 156 which is pretty close to normal numbers on the AT. This is a great example of how his BG is probably coming down at night.

I hope you will be able to get him on levemir soon. It's not nearly as harsh as NPH and although you might see him doing this, hopefully it won't be so drastic.
 
Thank you Marje and Gracie for all the information and taking the time to explain the difference in terms I can understand. It makes sense now that maybe the high preshot numbers were due to him dropping so fast with the NPH. I did recheck him last night at the +5 and it was at 262 and I fed him at that time also. Wonder if the feeding at that time made his numbers lower this morning at his AMPS. I do leave him some food before I go to bed but I don't get up to feed him again during the night. I really think now that I need to make the switch to Levemir and hopefully get those nice flat curves for Jerry. Do most on here use the vials or do they get the pens and extract it into a syringe? Also is it a u100 insulin? I think when I switch I will also switch to the human BG meter the Relion from Walmart since it seems most use that one and It might make it easier for me to compare other Kitty SS numbers to Jerry's .
Thanks again for all your help!!!
 
You’re very welcome.

Yes...most of us buy pens as it is more cost effective unless the kitty is on a really high dose. Your vet will have to write a prescription specifically for the pens. You want U100, 0.3cc syringes with 1/2 unit markings. You can get these at Walmart but you have to be sure you are persistent because some of the pharmacy people will say they don’t carry 1/2 unit marked syringes, but they do. I prefer 31g because it’s a smaller needle so they don’t feel as much. There are two lengths of needle and that’s a personal preference whether you want the longer ones or the shorter ones. I think the shorter ones help not give as many fur shots but again, that is a personal preference. And yes, you will use those syringes to just draw from the soft end of the pen.

Many of us use the Relion Micro or Contour meters from Walmart. It’s totally up to you.

If he came up last night and didn’t drop as low or as fast, it could be the reason he might not be as high this morning.
 
Thank you again. I will make sure I get the prescription for the Levemir pens. My Walmart does sell the 1/2 unit U100 syringe and that is what I am using but your right you do need to ask for them.
Just thinking maybe I will get up and feed him at the +5 at night time if that helps until I can make the switch to Levemir. Hard to keep canned food out without is drying out. Jerry is picky and like the freshly opened FF canned.
 
I have gotten the Levemir pens now and have read up on proper handling, storage etc. Glad I read about withdrawing the insulin from a pen into a syringe and to be careful not to re-inject any insulin back into the pen. I have tried to get some more eyes on this by posting in the Lantus/Levemir forum and have gotten some great advice but still unsure on some things. I was a little confused when some say if you are on all wet low carb food to start at .05 units. I am guessing that this is for new insulin users and not ones that are using other insulins like Humulin NHP and are wanting to switch like me. After consideration I still want to use the SLGS method and right now thinking about the 2.0 U to start his Levemir. He is on 2.25U right now with the Humulin NHP. Guess I just need the nudge to get the ball rolling for Jerry. Your ways of explaining this switch @Marje and Gracie have been very helpful. Thank you
 
Hard to keep canned food out without is drying out. Jerry is picky and like the freshly opened FF canned.

Hi Vicki - Genghis - the she-cat-who-would-eat-anything sometimes wouldn't finish her wet food, even if I broke it up with a fork. She benefitted greatly from the addition of some warm water (just a few tablespoons) and I mix it up to make a bit of a slurry. This would help keep it from drying out.

If Jerry doesn't like the consistency, you could also try freezing some in ice cube trays and setting it out to thaw. This would help keep it moister and fresher for him. Maybe give both a try and see if Mr. Picky will be okay with that.
 
Even with SLGS, I would highly recommend you start at 2u although he almost has me convinced he might need 2.25u. However, to be on the safe side, I believe you are fine with 2u.

From the SLGS sticky:

Starting Dose
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
I added the blue to bring it to your attention. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top