changing from lantus to prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aki

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone. I'm new to this site. My 12 yr old male cat, Roscoe, was diagnosed Aug 2 and prescribed Lantus. After three curves, fructosamine, and uninalysis and no change we went to another vet. He suggested Prozinc, so we're starting over. Has anyone had this experience?
 
Welcome.
- This forum is really for introductions, not specific questions. I recommend that you also post in the Health forum
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-the-main-forum.28/
Lantus or Levemir seems to be the preferred insulin but since each cat is different Lantus may not be the best for Roscoe.
- When you post in the health forum providing the following information would be very helpful.
--- What doses of Lantus was Roscue on?
What were the results of the three cures? Also where were the curves performed? If at the vet, vet stress can rains BG by 100 or more USA points.

Most of us here test our cat's blood glucose at home using a human meter. We test before each shot and periodically between shots. We record our reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Here is a link to home testing blood sugar
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

--- What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb canned


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/
 
Ali, also check out the ProZinc forum. We have two threads with protocol and other info. They are in my signature in blue.
Thanks again Sue and Oliver. So far, both vets discouraged me from getting a meter to test his blood. Since he has kidney trouble and won't eat much of the Rx wet food, he does eat dry food. If his kidneys can be maintained with acupuncture, we could switch to an all wet diet. More remains to be seen. All the best.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top