Changing dosing schedule - advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Hi all! I'm pretty new here. I'm definitely "relaxed." TR is soooo not for me ;-)

Anyway, I've managed to get my dosing schedule all screwed up and I need to fix it. My Skunky got her "am" shot today at 2 p.m. Yikes.

We started Lantus, 1/2 unit BID, on Saturday at 11:40. I wanted to do it earlier but I overslept and then spent time practicing drawing up dose, squirting it into a banana pepper, etc. ;-)

Then through a sequence of events I got later and later, then lost track of time today.

Ideally, I'd like to do 1030 a.m. and 1030 p.m. I contemplated skipping tonight's dose and starting at as close to 1030 as possible on Tuesday. (tomorrow). I have a meeting that may go long so, it could be later than 1030. Or I could try to back it up more gradually. We're only just starting to "fill the depot."
We are hoping to take a day trip to the mountains Wednesday, hopefully leaving around 9 a.m. But I'm not sure that is going to happen.
Dangit. Working out this 12/12 is harder than I thought. My schedule is crazy. 12 and 12 would actually be ideal except for when I need to go places early, which isn't often but does happen on ocassion.

I could skip tonight's dose, give her her AM shot at 830 Tuesday morning (tomorrow) and then start moving it down until it hits 1030. I'm more of a night owl than an early bird.

Last night's PMPS was 216. Woo Hoo. Today's amps was over 300. Not so woo.

I think we may have to up the dose to 1 unit, starting Sunday. I figured it would be better to get the schedule set before the dosage increase.

Ok, so, I'm flaky and freaking out. Thoughts?
thanks!
sarah
 
Hi Sarah

Cool flaky and freaking out you'll fit right in here.

Now for schedule. Skip tonight, start back at whatever time works for departure time for the day trip. 8:30. Then to get back on track shoot .25 at 8:30 and .25 at 10:30 if that's where you need them to be.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Great. Thanks! I didn't know if it would be better to go 15 minutes later each day until I was where I needed to be, etc.


On a related note. . . how bad is it if a shot is occassionally late? Do we go back to the regular schedule, (thereby making the next shot early) or start a new 12 hour based on the late shot, etc?

Shooting late is better than early right?

Thanks again.. And now I'm excited we got a nadir of 116. Woo Hoo! We're making progress.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top