Changing dosage question per BG

Heather Hazel

Member Since 2020
Hi all. I’m unable to provide/update Angel’s spreadsheet bc it is blocked by my company and that is the only computer I have at the moment. Is it okay to switch dosage between 1 unit and 1/2 a unit based in numbers? If her level is at 500 I could give her 1 unit but then if she’s at 125 can I give her 1/2 a unit? Often times when she is at the lower end pre-feeding she will quickly drop to 50 or even 30 within a few hours. She just started lantus and was on basaglar. Thank you! Lastly, with spring forward tonight I’m confused. She’s normally injected at 645 am/pm. Should I do 715 then work backwards 5 minutes each day??
 
Here’s info on daylight savings.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...starts-sunday-march-14th.244310/#post-2755954

Lantus dosing is based upon how low a dose takes the cat. Lantus likes consistency so our methods don’t allow to switch doses from cycle to cycle. Here s info on our methods.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Are you using a human or a pet meter? A 30 on either meter requires a reduction insulin of .25. Continuing with the same dose when under 50 on a human meter can cause a symptomatic hypo and the same if under 68 on a pet meter.

Here is your previous post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/angel-bg-spreadsheet.243378/#post-2745228
 
My vet told me that the bio-equivalent to brand name drugs do not contain exactly the same amount of active ingredients or deliver it at the same rate. I’m praying there will be a change with Lantus since she hasn’t done well with the Basaglar. It is called a paradoxical reaction.
 
Back
Top