Change in dose ????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
I was reading an article by Lisa A. Pierson, DVM. This is one VERY IMPORTANT TIP I read

If you change your diabetic cat's diet to one with lower carbohydrates, he will, in all probability, IMMEDIATELY (not days or weeks later) require a reduction in his insulin dosage. He may also immediately go into 'remission' and not need any insulin at all.

If this warning is ignored, you may very well end up with a cat in a hypoglycemic crisis (dangerously low blood sugar) which can result in death, or brain damage

If you take only one point away from this page, it needs to be the understanding that if you stop pouring carbs into your cat by switching to a low-carb canned food diet (or even a dry food diet with lower carbs than you have been feeding), you MUST be aware of the probable immediate and significant impact on your cat's insulin needs.

Maybe this is the reason why I had the good AM on 5/16 and PM on 5/23. ?????
Perhaps tomorrow I will reduce to 1.50 again ???

She also wrote this:
Additional help and support can be found on the Feline Diabetes Message Board and I urge all diabetic cat caregivers to join this forum as a support system to be used in conjunction with your veterinarian.

That would be us :shock: :-D
 
it is a very good point. She's talking about when a person switches their cat from a diet of high carb food (some canned ones are high, but especially dry cat foods) to low carb canned.

are you saying that Mom Mom was getting dry food in May? I thought she was completely on a low carb canned diet. The carbs that we give to pull up low numbers aren't in the same category as the continuous diet of high carb food, if that's what you mean. I'm not certain.

I think Mom Mom needs the 1.75u and it would be best if you just hold that dose, even if you see a preshot in the 200's, or 100's. In counting cycles until she could be increased again, your count would start over after the reduced shot yesterday morning. I'd give her 6 cycles total after yesterday morning before re-evaluating the dose to see if it should be increased or held longer. That would be evaluating after monday morning's shot and before Monday night's shot.
 
While that is true, when did you change Mom-Mom's food? There is nothing in her spreadsheet that indicates to me that her dose should be reduced. You really need to hold the same dose for, at least, 6 cycles (3 full days) before changing the dose up or down. Adjusting it too much will cause wonky numbers because her depot is constantly filling and draining, filling and draining.
 
Hello again all. Regarding Mom-mom, before she was diagnosed with diabetes she was CONSTANTLY eating, and it showed too. She used to be 13 pounds and now she is only 7, but, the day I bring her to the vet she was (FOR SURE) on the way out of here, she was 3 pounds then. She would eat her breakfast real fast and then try to eat her brothers food after that, it was hilarious. And it was CONSTANTLY available for them, 2 different flavors Also she used to eat dry food all the time too so just that, by itself, was a HUGE adjustment for her. :sad: :sad: :cry: :cry: Also,I used to buy her treats ALL the time.

I think you got Sunday mixed up with Monday, maybe because of the holiday? :oops: At least you have an excuse, I do it all the time, holiday or not. LOL I wish I had Dragon or some kind of talk to text, or one of those "magical" devices LMAO. I am constantly trying different low-carb food to see if she will eat it. She drives me crazy because she wants to eat ALL THE TIME. I do not want to starve her in ANY way, she already looks like an Ethiopian cat. :twisted: Talk soon
 
i think the point Dr. Lisa's trying to make is that while you are giving insulin, if you change the food from high carb to low carb, the cat will need less insulin. unless you've been giving her high carb on a daily basis, this isn't something that applies to Mom Mom right now.

edited to correct information
 
Until Mom-mom is regulated, she WILL eat all the time. It's normal, and you need to really keep to low carb food. Every time you switch foods, the #s will become wonky. You also MUST stay with the same dose for at least 3 days, or longer depending on the #s.
 
The other take away point from Dr. Lisa's page is that you need to become very aware of what you're feeding. Because one variety of one brand of food is low carb, it doesn't mean everything is low carb. In an effort to do the right thing, you were unaware that what you were feeding Mom-mon, while it was canned food, was high carb canned food. Label those cans as 15% and put them on a shelf where you won't accidentally grab one. You can use is if Mom-mom's numbers are low. You need a shopping list for low carb canned food that you know your kitty will eat.

While it appears that Mom-mom is a big fan of fish flavors, and many of these are low in carbs, a constant diet of fish isn't good for your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top