Change in Diet—Change in Insulin Needs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karla and Oliver

Member Since 2019
Hi,

My cat, Oliver, has been on insulin (ProZinc) since he was diagnosed with diabetes about 3 years ago. For the past couple of months I've started making major changes to his diet (it had been mostly high-carb dry with some canned). I tried several things, but finally decided to try Young Again (started one week ago) as well as some canned and some VitalCat freeze-dried raw (started two weeks ago). (I have 6+ cats and 1 dog, so I'm trying to figure out the best food combination that is affordable for all of them.)

Since I was aware that this new diet could decrease his insulin need, I cut it down first from 4 units to 2, then from 2 to 1. I then started home testing on a CVS Health Advanced Glucose Meter. (It took a while, but I'm starting to get it.) His numbers keep going down. They started around 137 and then went down to 124 over the past few days. I quit giving him insulin on Saturday because I was afraid he was too low to shoot. This morning (about an hour after he ate) he was 116. This evening after no food for 9 hours, he is at 111. I still haven't given him insulin.

Am I making the right choice in not giving him insulin, or should I give him a very low dose? I'm planning to take him into the vet to get a new curve done, but I'm not sure when I should.

Thanks,

Karla and Oliver
 
Sounds like maybe he doesn't need it with this diet change and has gone into remission. It can be enough for some cats to keep them regulated. Keep monitoring him every day, but hold off on giving the shot unless his numbers go up again. They may or may not. Here's hoping!
 
Sounds like maybe he doesn't need it with this diet change and has gone into remission. It can be enough for some cats to keep them regulated. Keep monitoring him every day, but hold off on giving the shot unless his numbers go up again. They may or may not. Here's hoping!

Just wanted to report that I took Oliver to the vet this evening. His BG was 176 at the office and they did a fructosamine test that came back as low. He is OFF insulin for now! (Hopefully forever.)
 
Just wanted to report that I took Oliver to the vet this evening. His BG was 176 at the office and they did a fructosamine test that came back as low. He is OFF insulin for now! (Hopefully forever.)
Karla, it would be a good idea to post this last message in the Prozinc forum and get the experienced Prozinc users input. They can perhaps make some recommendations based on long experience with that insulin. Being off the juice is exciting, I know you want this to last and they may have some advice that will help Oliver to a strong remission.
 
Karla, it would be a good idea to post this last message in the Prozinc forum and get the experienced Prozinc users input. They can perhaps make some recommendations based on long experience with that insulin. Being off the juice is exciting, I know you want this to last and they may have some advice that will help Oliver to a strong remission.
Thanks! I will do that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top