Ceenka is not responding to insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

ellenr319

Member
Hello,
My name is Ellen and my cat's name is Ceenka, aka Jungle-Kitty. Ceenka is a 5yo blue Aby dx'd with FD in March 2011. For the last year I have been treating her with Dr. Hodgkins's tight regulation protocol on the diabeticcathelp.com forum. I am happy with her treatment method, it is a good fit for her and me. However I have run into problems getting her regulated and am coming here to see if anyone has encountered a cat with the problems Ceenka has had.

Ceenka has been on four different insulins. She did best on ProZinc, her first insulin. For 5 months she did well on it, in her fifth month it looked like she was imminently going into remission. Her longest "run" was +105 hours on a dose of 0.4u. That month she had lots of runs in the +70s, +80s, +90s with shorter ones in between. Then in her sixth month, something went awry. She stayed in the lower 200s no matter what dose she was given, reductions or increases. It was like shooting water. It seemed like her numbers stayed the same no matter what dose I gave her.

In September I changed Ceenka to Lantus. I was seeing a lot of success with Lantus with other kitties on the board. Ceenka did great on Lantus at first. She seemed to go to +16-+24 runs very quickly. She would stay in double digit BGs, which we seek with our version of Tight Regulation, for hours and hours. As with the ProZinc, Ceenka seemed like the model kitty who was going to go into remission in short order. At the end of her third month on Lantus, Ceenka did an about face. Again overnight she was in BGs from 200 to 250. This time we tried for two months to regulate her. We tried doses from 0.25u to 2.5u. Her normal dose had been 1.0u. Again it didn't matter what her dose was, she stayed in the same numbers. Again like shooting water. I had extensive labs done, nothing was off significantly except her BG and cholesterol. After about 2 months in these numbers, Ceenka went into DKA. This was the second time, the first was when she was dx'd. My vet was astounded at her off-the-chart ketones--she had the highest level of ketones with dipsticks and blood tests. The vet said it couldn't be DKA, it had to be pancreatitis or a UTI. She tested for both, both came out negative.

So we changed Ceenka's insulin again, this time to BCP bovine PZI. We figured that perhaps Ceenka would tolerate the bovine insulin better than ProZinc or Lantus since it was only one amino acid away from a cat's insulin. Ceenka did SO well on the BCP--she was getting +27 runs after 8 or 9 days on it. And hours and hours in ideal numbers. Her doses were markedly larger than her doses on ProZinc. Since they are both PZI insulins I kind of expected that her doses would be similar in size, but this time Ceenka's doses averaged about 3.5-4.5u, as opposed to the 0.4u dose she was geting with ProZinc. And this time Ceenka's insulin honeymoon lasted only 6 weeks. Then back into the 200s. That was a little over two weeks ago. We tried adjusting her dose again, thought it might be going up from too much insulin. Tried reducing her doses. Nothing. Increasing, nothing. Same old, same old.

So then we decided to try ProZinc again. I started Ceenka's doses at the dose she had done well on, no effect. Started moving her up slowly. Within a couple of days she was still in the 200s. Since she was in the 200s again, I was testing for ketones. I managed to catch her a couple of times peeing. No ketones. Then I did a blood test--.01. Last Friday she stopped eating. I thought maybe a tummy problem, gave her pepsidAC. My husband caught her peeing in the late afternoon and she was at the next to highest color. He called me at work to tell me and I called my vet. When she heard that Ceenka had stopped eating and her ketones were so high, she prescribed Humulin-R which I went and picked up before going home. When I got home, Ceenka had that trance look that I had seen the previous two times, she was getting in the bathtub and staring at water but not drinking. Her blood ketone test registered 5.0. We shot her with both insulins.She looked better the next morning. But her numbers didn't come down for about 36 hours. She still wasn't eating, we gave her food and water with supplements by syringe. Added pinch of salt and half that amt of potassium chloride to add a bit of electrolytes in hopes of preventing dehydration. Saturday night I wondered if I might be losing her--her breathing seemed really labored and the trance-state continued. I took her to bed and tested every two hours. Fianlly during the night her numbers started to come down. Sunday morning she seemed alert and affectionate. Her ketones were down to 2.0. She stayed in ideal numbers all day, she didn't need to be dosed again for 19.5 hours. Go figure. (Because of the new insulin, R?) She had a couple of short runs after her long one. But she is coming down, not staying in the 200s.

So, here are my thoughts. It looks to me like it could be insulin resistance, that she stops responding to each insulin after awhile. But she doesn't fit the profile of IAA, acro or Cushings. She doesn't get huge doses. (But they ARE huge for her compared to the initial doses that seemed to work wonders for her.) She doesn't have the incessant hunger that the acro cats on my board exhibit, nor any enlargement of head or paws, though I know that acro doesn't always present this way, especially early on. She is on the thin side rather than pudgy. (She has lost at least a lb with the last 2 DKA's, with the Lantus down 1.5lbs over about 3 weeks, from 9.5 to 7.9lbs, with BCP down from 9.1 to 8.1lbs over a week. With her DKA at dx she was down to 6.9lbs). She doesn't have any skin tearing as they describe with Cushings. Sounds more like the IAA to me, but could it be any of these conditions with her relatively small doses of insulin?

So far my plan from here is to continue with the ProZinc, but to keep raising the doses to really big ones if necessary to see if she breaks through to a point where her BGs come down. I am keeping her on the R until her ketones are gone--she was still 2.2 on the meter this morning. Will taking the R away push her numbers back up?

The fact that Ceenka stops responding to the insulin after a honeymoon period, which pushes her numbers up, and that she goes into DKA at relatively low numbers, seems to me to be a deadly combination. It also seems to me that Jungle-Kitty's honeymoon period is growing shorter and shorter with each insulin, and that she is going into DKA in shorter and shorter periods of time in high numbers. Sadly, all of this does not seem to bode well for my kitty's longevity.

Any suggestions? Should I test Ceenka for the 3 insulin resistance conditions? What else should I do? Any other thoughts on what this might be? Has anybody seen similar experiences with DKA or with insulins? I would appreciate any feedback you may have for me.

Thanks,

Ellen and Ceenka
 
Have you been to the vet and ruled out hyperthyroidism, dental infection, bladder, infection, comorbid conditions such as IBD, cholangiohepatitis, and pancreatitis which may affect appetite and glucose levels? A loss of appetitie could actually take her low, then the liver could compensate raising the glucose levels.

Have you got a spreadsheet of her numbers you could share with us? We have a instructions and a template that works well here. It color codes the glucose levels to help highlight how you're doing.

Maybe pop over to that our Acro/IAA sub-forum and ask them specifically, plus read over their notes on managing IAA.
 
Yes, we've had labs done and ruled out hyperthyroidism, UTI, pancreatitis, no signs of IBD, no dental problems so far. She doesn't generally have a lack of appetite, but she does when she has DKA. We have ruled out pretty much everything but insulin resistance. I talked to our vet tonight and am taking her in on Friday to have her blood drawn for the acro and IAA tests. Thanks.
 
Hi Ellen,
Sorry to hear Ceenka is not doing well, again. Missy and I are still fighting her problems, too. We went to an internal medicine specialist and are trying her on a higher dose of Lantus, with a possible insulin switch in the near future. I know how frustrating it can be to deal with high numbers for no apparent reason. I am so sorry about the ketone episodes. It must be scary.
Missy does the same thing, acting like I am not even giving her insulin sometimes and then shooting me a BG of 78 out of nowhere. If I learn anything from this specialist that may help Ceenka, I will let you know. I understand your frustration.
Hope Ceenka continues to recover from the ketones. Take care, best wishes....
Maryl and Missy
 
Hi Ellen,
What you are describing sounds a lot like my Harley. He was on a slightly higher dose when I had him tested for IAA and it came out positive. Once you know what you are dealing with, you can begin treatment. I would definitely get the tests done.

Pattie
 
Hi, Pattie,

We have an appt with the vet to do the tests tomorrow morning. Since coming off the R insulin and dosing only Prozinc, Ceenka's numbers have gone up. Since she is so prone to DKA at BGs over 200, I have been raising her scale every two runs. She's now getting between 15-20u/day. She is starting to come down. So she's looking more and more. This is the cat who had a duration of +105 last July from a dose of 0.4u!! I am pretty convinced at this point that she is insulin resistant.

Ellen
 
Ellen,
I read an article a few weeks ago that they found a subset in Type 2 diabetes that has an autoimmune component to it. It makes those people hard to regulate. I know that in MS, some people develope neutralizing antibodies to interferon and I wonder if this is what is happening to Ceenka and Missy. I don't know if that is the same thing as IAA or not. I hopefully hear back from the specialist tomorrow, after I finish her curve tonight. I will ask if that is a possibility and if it is different from IAA. It sounds like the same thing, but since I am not a microbiologist, I don't have a clue. :lol:
This vet told me he didn't consider Missy insulin resistant because she does get down in to normal numbers and so does Ceenka. It will be very interesting to hear the results of Ceenka's test, since you know she can get into normal numbers and spend long periods of time there. I am going to do a fructosamine test, but I think I will wait to hear the results of Ceenka's test, as I may as well do the IAA test at the same time, if it turns out Ceenka is resistant.
Good luck. Hope to hear the results of her test soon.
 
I think I may have read that same article, Maryl! Have been surfing the net a lot lately. Ceenka can only get get down into good numbers when she is on a new insulin. My theory is that it takes her immune system awhile to attack an exogenous insulin when it is introduced. However it's figuring the successive insulins out in shorter and shorter amounts of time. For now I am just sticking to one insulin, Prozinc. I am raising her scale aggressively, I've got to keep her out of the low 200s or she'll go back into DKA. Right now she's up to around 15u of Prozinc per day. That's a far cry from the 0.4u dose that gave her as much as +105 last summer. I really think it's IAA. We'll see....I think I'll put Jungle-Kitty on Levemir if she tests positive.
 
ellenr319 said:
... Right now she's up to around 15u of Prozinc per day. That's a far cry from the 0.4u dose that gave her as much as +105 last summer. I really think it's IAA. ...

That certainly looks supportive of the diagnosis!
 
ellenr319 said:
Ceenka can only get get down into good numbers when she is on a new insulin. My theory is that it takes her immune system awhile to attack an exogenous insulin when it is introduced.

Hi Ellen,
Yup - this takes me back. The vet tried every insulin there was (with exception of PZI) on Harley and initially there was success in getting his numbers down, but then they would go up again and I would have to increase the dose. There was a point that she had me try only R - that was not successful at all.

Let us know what the results are, then you can plan your attack with the insulin. If you need some support, just let me know.

Pattie
 
Ellen,
I have to say I think your theory is right. I hope I can convince this new vet to prescribe a different insulin. Haven't heard back from him today, so I suppose I will have to wait until Monday. :sad: (although they do have late office hours and weekends)
I have noticed with Miss, almost any change I introduce helps her numbers, for a little while. When I had her dental done in February, she did well for a few days. I thought that was it..... I thought the Panacur we tried in Dec/Jan was it..... The new medicine she is on, metoclopramide, does seem to help her out in general, but it isn't doing anything for her numbers. She totally baffles me. She was 99 to 105 the first five hours of her curve and by the end of the night she was 342!
I sure will be interested to hear the results of Ceenka's blood work. That is such a drastic change in insulin levels for her. I am so lucky that Miss isn't prone to ketones....it must terrify you!
 
ellenr319 said:
Ceenka can only get get down into good numbers when she is on a new insulin. My theory is that it takes her immune system awhile to attack an exogenous insulin when it is introduced. However it's figuring the successive insulins out in shorter and shorter amounts of time. For now I am just sticking to one insulin, Prozinc. I am raising her scale aggressively, I've got to keep her out of the low 200s or she'll go back into DKA. Right now she's up to around 15u of Prozinc per day. That's a far cry from the 0.4u dose that gave her as much as +105 last summer. I really think it's IAA.

Sorry Ellen, did I miss that you were definitely getting the acro & IAA tests done? I totally understand about the different insulins. Harley was on NPH, Regular, and something else but again, after a while it was like shooting water. I finally agreed on the lantus (again), got the IAA test and never looked back. He, at one time was on 10u and is now only on 3u. I have aggressively fought those antibodies and feel I am winning. Once in a while they will rear their ugly heads and I have to increase dose but not for very long. Going to lev would be a good choice.

pattie
 
Harley and Pattie said:
Sorry Ellen, did I miss that you were definitely getting the acro & IAA tests done? I totally understand about the different insulins. Harley was on NPH, Regular, and something else but again, after a while it was like shooting water. I finally agreed on the lantus (again), got the IAA test and never looked back. He, at one time was on 10u and is now only on 3u. I have aggressively fought those antibodies and feel I am winning. Once in a while they will rear their ugly heads and I have to increase dose but not for very long. Going to lev would be a good choice.

pattie

Yep, Pattie, I did get the tests for the acro and IAA done last Friday. They said it could take up to 2 weeks to get the results. So...we wait! Ceenka's getting into nice numbers--I have been raising her doses rather aggressively. Yesterday she got 25u, and today she's at +22--with TR we don't dose till BG is 150 or above.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top