Depends on what type of handheld meter you use also. Pet meters like the Alphatrak read higher than the human meters. The Libre Freestyle CGM (continuous glucose monitor) is more like a human meter. Similar, but not the same.
Human meters (hand held meters, glucometers) can vary from 1 test to the next as the FDA allows some variance in the readings and still considers them "accurate enough." The Libre is in essence a human meter, simply attached differently and reading the interstitial fluid glucose levels instead of the blood glucose levels.
Human and pet meters read differently at different number ranges also. Closer together at the lower BG ranges, higher at the higher BG levels.
It's why we have our color coded standardized spreadsheet. Ranges are on there. The ones I have stated below are for the human meter. We have separate templates for pet vs human meters.
Black is too darn HI(>500), Red (400-499) is way too high also, pink (300-399) a bit better but still a lot of room for improvement, yellow (200-299 ) getting some control back but could be better. Blue (100-199 ), now your talking! Insulin dose getting better. Green (50-99 ) excellent! Gives the pancreas time to heal. Bright green (<50)
- WATCH out, HEADS UP! Kitty is headed for hypoglycemic (HYPO) territory and you need to monitor and maybe bring those BG numbers back up. "Feed the curve."
It's one reason we don't focus too hard on the specific BG readings for any test, but instead see where the BG levels fall within a range. And look for waves of patterns on the SS.
Depends on which insulin you are using also AND what time in the 12 hour dosing cycle you are seeing the specific BG readings. Also depends on how much data you have gathered to know YOUR cat's onset, nadir, duration with the specific insulin you are using. It's not as simple as saying BG of 400, or BG of 90 is good or bad. When the BG tests are obtained and what insulin you are using are as important if not more so than the BG reading.
Bouncing, fur shot, skipped shot, how much your cat ate, played, chased the other cat around the house, etc, etc can all cause variations in the blood glucose (BG) levels.
It's all has to be put into context.
Like comparing apples to oranges sometimes. Yes, they are both fruit. But not many people would mistake one for the other.
ECID Every Cat is Different, Every Caregiver is Different, Every Cycle is Different.