? Caution advice needed for lower number. Amps 232. +5 87...82 recheck. Dose reduce tonight?

Brandi Young

Member Since 2019
My cat (Black Kitty)has been at 3.5 units for some time now with overly cautious doses skipped 2 times recently for >150 but still <200. He has been harassing us for food the last 30 mins or so and earned himself and sugar check and he’s at 87 and hungry at +5 his lowest ever. I usually feed a meal at +6 but I did feed him now with this 87. He has a full belly and resting since eating and is 82 twenty minutes as recheck.
He is 4.5yrs old diagnosed nov 2019. On Lantus and we follow SLGS with 4 wet meals/day Friskies pate and dry food available due to multicat household.

He has been looking and feeling really good lately. Out in the open with family and other pets, grooming lots and having hair all’s again even. thanks, Brandi Young.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1_UYRgTviAkEmGkjt5GMeA_07DhRPOBKCPkAFnaUA1AY/edit
 
So glad to hear that Black Kitty is coming back to his old self and feeling better!

Yes, he's earned a reduction down to 3.25. Let's hope this dip into greens is a sign of things to come!
 
So glad to hear that Black Kitty is coming back to his old self and feeling better!

Yes, he's earned a reduction down to 3.25. Let's hope this dip into greens is a sign of things to come!
That’s what I thought. Im not sure how to give 3.25 consistently. Is there a method to make it consistent or do you just have to eyeball it? My daughter gives the shots 3 evenings a week and her 3.25 may be different from mine.
Thank you for your reply!
 
One thing you can do is to set up a reference syringe with a colored liquid. As you say, it's the consistency that's important here-- honestly, you can't even always trust the line markings at these tiny doses, so having a reference can be really helpful!
 
Another option is to. use digital calipers. Harbor Freight sells a 6" digital caliper -- and I'm sure other places carry them as well. We have instructions on how to use the calipers.
 
That’s what I thought. Im not sure how to give 3.25 consistently. Is there a method to make it consistent or do you just have to eyeball it? My daughter gives the shots 3 evenings a week and her 3.25 may be different from mine.
Thank you for your reply!
We have syringes with 1/2 unit marking already
 
Update: He is 99 PMPS. Im not giving him a shot. I’m feeding him and not stalling. I didn’t think he would be in shot range since he wasn’t even close. His usual dose is 3.5 but I planned to decrease to 3.25 tonight. Guess I will give the new dose in the morning unless anyone can add anything different. I don’t work until Saturday so can see this out a bit.
Wondering what my No shot number should be. 99 is definitely a no for me at this point especially at 3.5 units but other than that I’ve been holding for <200
 
Update: He is 99 PMPS.

Oh my!

Yes, I definitely think it would be a good idea to start lowering the no-shoot line. You've had to skip fairly often recently, the problem there is that it means you're giving too much insulin... but only some of the time. Better to find a way to work your way down the dosing ladder in a way that lets you shoot consistently morning and night.

How about just shifting the line down to 175 for now? With a little wiggle room (ie, if it's a little lower, but it's a day you're home to monitor, maybe you can make that the new line and see how it goes).

Eventually, on SLGS, you can work down to shooting anything over 90, but it's good to do that in steps, whatever works for you.
 
Back
Top