Cat's first hypo episode

I went ahead and gave 1.5 to be on the safe side

Better to be safe. Cats who have had symptomatic hypos can be extra sensitive to insulin.
We don't have enough data to be able to know what a good dose is for him. All we know is that 2.5U was way too high for him.

He will be high for as long as 3 days after the hypo - that's his body's reaction to the low. Hold the dose (unless he drops below 40 and earns a reduction). Let us see where he lands on it and then decide whether he needs more insulin.
 
Please continue to post on the Lantus page , we do a post every day and attach the previous days link to the new one. After you post today your previous days link is all the way up top above the pic of that cat ,copy it and then on today's post you paste it where you would start to write anything about Samson or whatever
This is how you would do today's
11-10 Samson AMPS-399 and then the rest of the other tests you do after that
such as the BG #@+3/ BG # @+5 and so on, then when you're done with the day cycle put PMPS-# and the tests after that
He's a handsome boy!
@SamsonsMom
 
Last edited:
Hi @SamsonsMom
Are you testing during this cycle? I can’t see any tests in the SS for this cycle.
It is really important you monitor this cycle closely. Yesterday the BG dropped down to 10 when the Preshot was over 400. This could happen again even though less insulin was given.
Please post and keep us up to date as we worry
Bron
 
@SamsonsMom (can we know your name please?)
@Bandit's Mom has made a new 2021 SS for you. It’s the one now in your signature. It’s also on the left of all yourSS and lab results could you update that one please.
I will explain the two dosing methods to you a bit later. I have to go out shortly. Can you tell me if you are able to test during most cycles or do you go out to work most days?
It looks as if Samson likes the 1.5 dose. Is he eating well?
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) thank you! yes he's doing well today, happy, alert, and eating. I work from home so I can test throughout the day, but looking for whatever method requires less effort. I have a chronic illness myself so as much as I want to care for Samson I have to stick to whatever's more streamlined. My name is Lauren!
 
Reading this stressed me out, so glad he's ok.

A quick summary of the two methods (assuming using human meter which I see in your signature)
:
Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) - the primary points are reductions are taken any time BG goes under 90, and you hold the dose for at least a week. At the end of the week, you'll do a curve; depending on the results you may hold the dose, or increase by a certain amount. This method is also required if you feed any dry food. You need to test preshots at minimum, preshots should be fasting for 2 hrs prior. Ideally any mid cycle tests you can grab are great

Tight Regulation (TR) - a more aggressive method where reductions are taken at 40 or below for long term diabetics (which Samson is). Doses are held for a minimum of 3 days, sometimes up to 7 or more. How fast you increase and by what amount depends on the numbers you're seeing. It can often require some long nights and food intervention when they approach those low numbers, which can be stressful and difficult for some. It just allows for quicker increases to get to better numbers, and provides a better chance at remission. 4 tests minimum are required - the fasting preshots, and one additional test per cycle

You can always start with TR to get to better numbers more quickly, then switch to SLGS. But since he's post hypo, relatively low dose, and given your health, my two cents would be SLGS.
 
Hi Lauren! That’s great Samson is eating well again and alert. Such a relief for you. You have managed really well over the last couple of stressful days.
Basically the difference between the two dosing methods are:

Start Low go Slow.
  • You can feed low carb wet or can feed dry food…although not encouraged.
  • You reduce the dose if the BG goes under 90.
  • You need to test before every shot and do a curve after 7 days. Testing during the cycles is good.
  • You hold the dose for 7 days unless kitty drops under 90
Tight Regulation
  • Must be feeding a low carb wet diet.
  • Test before every shot and at least once every cycle. More often is better.
  • Dose can be increased every 3 days if necessary.
  • Doses are increased in 0.25 increments
  • Decrease the dose if the BG drops under 40 for long term kitties ( more than 1 year diagnosed)
There are other conditions in both but these are the basic ones. I think you could do the TR method but you need to be comfortable with it all. Ask any questions.
 
Hi Lauren! That’s great Samson is eating well again and alert. Such a relief for you. You have managed really well over the last couple of stressful days.
Basically the difference between the two dosing methods are:

Start Low go Slow.
  • You can feed low carb wet or can feed dry food…although not encouraged.
  • You reduce the dose if the BG goes under 90.
  • You need to test before every shot and do a curve after 7 days. Testing during the cycles is good.
  • You hold the dose for 7 days unless kitty drops under 90
Tight Regulation
  • Must be feeding a low carb wet diet.
  • Test before every shot and at least once every cycle. More often is better.
  • Dose can be increased every 3 days if necessary.
  • Doses are increased in 0.25 increments
  • Decrease the dose if the BG drops under 40 for long term kitties ( more than 1 year diagnosed)
There are other conditions in both but these are the basic ones. I think you could do the TR method but you need to be comfortable with it all. Ask any questions.
Ya know I was trying to help you out :p
 
Hey Lauren,
Bhooma has set up a new spreadsheet for you which is the one that is now in the signature. At the moment you are still putting data into the old SS. If you go to the top of the SS you will see the years of the SS. Choose the one that says just 2021. Can you add today’s data to that please and then use that one moving forward…thanks.
Samson is looking much better on the 1.5 dose. He has come down to nadir and is starting to go up again.
 
@SamsonsMom
Please see what Bron said about your spreadsheet , it's post #64
The post numbers are on the right hand side. I'm glad Samson is doing good

Please remember when posting on the lantus page
We do a new post everyday ,you might want to do that so we can follow Samson progress and in case you need help. You can start doing it this way today
This is how you need to post on the lantus board

11-10 Samson AMPS- 399/ 314 +2/ 147+4/ 109+6/ 165 +8/ etc then PMPS- and his BG number and any after that just like I showed you above

We always link the post from the day before to the new post in case we need to go back and look at it , To do that go to the top of your post on here where you have written Cats first hypo episode and all the way up top where the pic of the cat is tap on what's in that line copy it and then when you post for 11-10 tonight paste that where you would begin to write
Do this every day. If you can't do it let me know and I'll do it for you until you get the hang of it

I see Melissa @FrostD and @Bron and Sheba (GA) explained the dosing methods to you
When you decide which one can you please add it to your signature, if you don't know how please ask :cat:
 
Last edited:
Hey Lauren,
Bhooma has set up a new spreadsheet for you which is the one that is now in the signature. At the moment you are still putting data into the old SS. If you go to the top of the SS you will see the years of the SS. Choose the one that says just 2021. Can you add today’s data to that please and then use that one moving forward…thanks.
Samson is looking much better on the 1.5 dose. He has come down to nadir and is starting to go up again.
hi! I was able to click on that new SS but I cannot enter any information or type on it...
 
hi! I was able to click on that new SS but I cannot enter any information or type on it...
OK.I’ll tag @Bandit's Mom to see if she can fix it for you. She should be around in a couple of hours.
I see he’s risen to 329 at PMPS and you have given 1.5 units. Hopefully he’ll continue to do well on this dose. But just be aware that as the depot fills, the BGs could drop so just be on the look out for that…..it may not even happen but good to be aware. If it does, we can drop the dose by 0.25 units.
Good job Lauren and Samson this cycle!
 
OK.I’ll tag @Bandit's Mom to see if she can fix it for you. She should be around in a couple of hours.
I see he’s risen to 329 at PMPS and you have given 1.5 units. Hopefully he’ll continue to do well on this dose. But just be aware that as the depot fills, the BGs could drop so just be on the look out for that…..it may not even happen but good to be aware. If it does, we can drop the dose by 0.25 units.
Good job Lauren and Samson this cycle!
thanks so much!
 
The SS is the same. If you are able to enter data in the 2017-2020 tab, you should be able to enter it in the 2021 tab as well. Let me copy the data for you.
the link in my bio now, goes to 2021 data. but when I open it I cannot edit that data, or add anything or type on it. that seems not good because when people click on the link they won't see the updated data (from the chart that I can still type on)
 
the link in my bio now, goes to 2021 data. but when I open it I cannot edit that data, or add anything or type on it. that seems not good because when people click on the link they won't see the updated data (from the chart that I can still type on)
The link in your Signature is the pubhtml version. It's view only. You can change it to this link and also use it to edit your SS:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1W1bkuCPsRiIdRLkNJKFUmoYdny3RUsEWjXDrFWbdWXg/edit?usp=sharing
 
Back
Top