Cat won’t eat, BG high

Sebastian’s mom (Lauren)

Member Since 2023
Sebastian’s BG is 335, but he hasn’t ate a proper meal for days. Yesterday I had to syringe feed him, but I am uncomfortable doing so. He was just at the ER vet for what they thought may be a URI and gave him meds, but upon returning home he has weird behavior. He’s stumbling around and raising his paw when nothing is there. They said this wouldn’t be the medication. I am worried. He didn’t get his insulin this morning and his insulin has been a mess recently with all of his health issues and it not doing enough. Please advise!
 
I’m sorry he’s not feeling well. He can’t go long without eating so you will need to assist feed. If he has an infection that plus not eating plus not getting his insulin can cause DKA. Have you tested for ketones? If you syringe does he keep,it down?

What meds did they give? What tests did they run? Urinalysis? I would be thinking about the ER again but not the one you were at last. If you think it can wait I’d call your vet first thing in the morning.
 
Possible infection, lack of food, and not enough insulin are a bad combination and the recipe for DKA. Have you tested ketones lately? Please give him some insulin. You can always give at least half his dose. Cats getting anaesthesia who cannot eat get at least a half dose.
 
We need to know what medication the ER gave him. Is buprenorphine one of them? Giving too much of that can cause stumbling.
 
We need to know what medication the ER gave him.

cerenia, subq fluids, convenia

He also has a past history of possible seizure activity, was started on phenobarb but was taken off when it didn't seem to help.

Wasn't acting like this earlier (before the ER vet)

Didn’t seem drunk. Just seemed very tired. Stayed in one spot for almost 24 hours. Walked to the litter like he was an old man.

(Wish I could post the video but no way to do it. She posted it in the FD group) https://www.facebook.com/groups/fel...DwuXF2daXf3erpLNnbliqQxhZ8cqagXGen1BHG6Q&_rdr
 
Some spreadsheet housekeeping when you have time, if you deliberately (or accidentally) missed a dose, could you write "skip" in the units, so we know you didn't just forget to enter a value.
 
I’m sorry he’s not feeling well. He can’t go long without eating so you will need to assist feed. If he has an infection that plus not eating plus not getting his insulin can cause DKA. Have you tested for ketones? If you syringe does he keep,it down?

What meds did they give? What tests did they run? Urinalysis? I would be thinking about the ER again but not the one you were at last. If you think it can wait I’d call your vet first thing in the morning.

I have tested for ketones, they were negative. I also have a ketone blood meter on the way. He does keep it down, however I do not trust myself enough to not do any harm. He’s also not very present between the lethargy and now weird things he’s doing.

They didn’t run tests because I was unable to pay for them. They went solely off of his symptoms and fever. Drippy nose, sneezing, lethargy, no appetite. I exhausted every last cent already.
 
His symptoms do sound like it could be an URI. And would explain why he's off his food. If he's still stuffy, try running a hot shower to get the bathroom steamy, and put him in there for a while.

Sorry I have nothing to add about his stumbling. Other than that ataxia/tremors is a possible side effect of Convenia.
 
His symptoms do sound like it could be an URI. And would explain why he's off his food. If he's still stuffy, try running a hot shower to get the bathroom steamy, and put him in there for a while.

Sorry I have nothing to add about his stumbling. Other than that ataxia/tremors is a possible side effect of Convenia.
I did the shower yesterday and will do it again! He yells at me every time I pick him up though. It breaks my heart.
I have heard this and when I mentioned it to them they said it isn’t possible and are assuming it’s the neurological stuff he may have been dealing with, but that was pretty much gone recently so I don’t know. It does seem like it’s linked to the Convenia. Thank you
 
Do you still need the 911 on this thread? If not, could you remove it?

Good to know you hadn't see the neuro stuff lately.
 
Hi Lauren. I'm so sorry to hear Sebastian is feeling so poorly. My heart is with you <3 I hope you find here a quick and supportive help :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top