Cat recently diagnosed with Diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

marmar53

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone,

My 14 year old cat has been recently diagnosed with diabetes. My vet said he needed 2 units of insulin twice a day. I noticed the other day he was wandering around in circles and it was like he couldn't see anything. My hubby took him to the vet to get his eyes checked. The vet said it was probably a neurological thing and that he could see? So why is he standing in front of a wall looking confused? He said to increase his insulin to 3 units twice a day and when vial is finished to bring him in to test level. He is still wandering around like he can't see. Do you think the extra insulin will cure his sight. This has totally stressed me out and I am worried. Has anyone experienced this? The other day I gave him a teaspoon of corn syrup because I thought maybe he had had too much insulin but it made no difference. Has anyone experienced this. Also, one last thing. Can anyone recommend a glucose tester? Thanks.
 
Welcome to FDMB,

What type of insulin are you using?

What food are you feeding?

Thats great that your looking into home testing, we definitely encourage that. Most here use the relion brand (found at Walmart) I have the micro and have been very happy with it, and pay about $35 for 100 test stripes.

I wish I could give some advice about the vision......it could be a hypo.

Symptoms of hypoglycemia: [in order of ascending severity]

abnormal hunger / complete disinterest in food
restlessness
weakness, lethargy
head tilting
shivering
staggering, uncoordinated movements
problems with eyesight
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, hiding, etc.)
convulsions or seizures
coma


I'd DEFINITELY start home testing. We advise to start low and go slow. Starting at 2 units and upping to 3, might be too much but theres no way to tell with out a test. The vets bg test will be higher than the home because of stress, so a lot of vets start out insulin too high it seems.
 
Hello and welcome,

I don't wish to alarm you unduly but the symptoms you've described (wandering in circles, looking confused) are some common typical symptoms of hypoglycemia (ie blood glucose that is too low). Temporary blindness is a also a symptom. And sometimes the blindness can actually be permanent.
It may well be that your cat's insulin dosage is too high and needs to be reduced.

I would certainly advise that you get a meter and start testing as soon as you can.
Regarding glucose meters, whereabouts are you? In the US? Europe?

And what is your kitty eating at the moment? Has his diet changed recently?

Edited to add: Here's a link to a page of pics and info about hometesting so you can get an idea of how the process works. But do please ask any questions you want to. We're here to help.
http://www.sugarpet.net/bloodtst.html

Eliz
 
Could be hypo from to much insulin. Too low afa BG can cause blindness.
Did the vet measure the BG?
If so what was it? However, a vet visit can can artificially raise BG.
I would not raise dose or even give same dose without knowing the BG level.
Where are you located? maybe someone here is near to your.
 
Thank you for your quick responses. I phoned the vet right after reading them and he said to give my cat a tsp. of corn syrup and then stop the insulin completely for a couple of days and then bring him in. I am really hoping this works. Thanks again.
 
I'm glad you came back; I was concerned you would find him too late to do anything to help him.

We strongly encourage hom glucose testing with a human glucometer such as the WalMart ReliOn Confirm (also avaliable as the Glucocard 01 from our shopping partner ADW - see link at top of page), matching test strips, and 26-28 gauge lancets. Push the test strip partway in the meter first. You brace the ear with a folded up tissue or cotton ball, take a lancet and make a small prick at the upper, outer edge of the ear, just outside the vein that is usually visible parallel to the edge of the ear. Push the test strip all the way in the meter, carefully touch the end to the blood droplet, wait, and it should give you a reading. It helps to practice on yourself or an apple first to get a feel for the process.
 
Did you pick up a meter yet? It would be good to get one ASAP. Even when you go to the vet, the number will most likely bounce back up due to no insulin and stress. Its best to get readings at home in a relaxed environment.
 
So yesterday I took my cat back to the vet. He had been off the insulin for two days as the vet had told me to do. His glucose meter reading was 20 which the vet said was extremely high. He told me to increase his dosage to 4 units, twice a day. This morning he isn't able to walk. Is he dying or will the higher dose of insulin help. I am so worried.
 
Assuming 20 was the european scale that equates to 360 USA which is not that high.
When you took him to the vet did the vet say that anything else could be wrong?
Did you shoot 4 units? If so how long was this morning's problems after the shot?
4 units is likely too much and a reading 360 (20) after two days of no insulin is not that high at all.
I would test his BG with a human meter.
I would also test the urine with a keto-diastix.
When is the last time the cat ate?

Where are you located?
 
I am in Canada. The vet said the reading should have been between 4 and 7 and it was 20. I gave him his shot this morning and he seems so sick. Cannot stand up on his own. His back legs give out. He had a bit of water and a bit of food. Also gave out a yowl. I am supposed to take him back to the vet next Sunday to have the glucose meter test done again. Should the insulin help with him not being able to get up?
 
Are you saying yo gave the insulin when he could not get up?
Did you give any insulin last evening?
A BG of US 360 is not that bad at all.Two of my cats typically have a BG between 300 and 400 before eating and getting their insulin shots.
How much has he eaten recently?
I myself would go out and get a human meter and test to determine BG.
4 units of insulin and not eating much can cause the BG to go too low.
 
Hi there,

I'm so sorry to hear about your kitty's troubles. I have to agree with the others about the importance of testing your kitty at home. I know it sounds extremely scary - I didn't think I could test Jersey at home. It's really much easier than you think, and it doesn't hurt the kitty like you think it would.

It sounds like your vet wants to put your cat on a dose that is way too high. I'm worried that the high dose is bringing him down way too low. That's causing the blindness, confusion, and weakness. Without testing at home, you won't be able to know that for sure. Please, please, please....try testing at home. Many years ago, we had a diabetic cat who we boarded at the vet's office while we went on a business trip. Our vet gave him his insulin without checking his blood sugar; his sugar went too low, and he died. That was our vet - someone who should have definitely known better. If you'll start checking his numbers at home, you won't need the frequent vet visits (which will save lots of money in the long run), and you'll be able to keep your kitty safe.

Shelly
 
If I'm understanding correct, your reading at the vet was 20 so roughly 360 U.S. and your vet told you to UP the dosage to 4 units twice a day????? That is A LOT for 360, especially when your not home monitoring. Vet readings lead to false dosage due to stress. Stress can significantly INCREASE bg.

Please, please, please try to home test. It is intimidating but not that difficult to do. We can help you. THIS SOUNDS LIKE ANOTHER HYPO INCIDENT! HYPO CAN KILL!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top