Cat recently diagnosed with diabetes. First Post

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
Your cat looks like my Shadoe.

The first thing to be started is home testing, especially before you go mucking with better food.
I would be terrified to shoot blind. You may find cat's OK on a dose, then you muck with low carb foods, and all of a sudden, cat's sick and rushed to vet due to numbers low because insulin not needed as food was changed.

Until cat is closer to regulated, and you won't know until you are home testing, the food amount will matter little as cats can't get all they need from the foods, so seem hungrier and eat more, just to get the nutrients they need.
My Shadoe once ate close to 24oz/day but is down to maybe 8oz now. My Oliver was eating at least 30oz/day and is close to maybe 12oz now. They are regulated now.

I feed them friskies and fancy feast pate flavors which are under 10%; good enough for me. Shadoe is very carb sensitive and if she gets 3 pieces of dry food in her mouth, her BG will hit the 400s. Remove all the dry as it's just not good food.

Get yourself a Relion meter as the test strips are the cheapest, and you test cat like crazy and save some cash.
You will never know how cat is doing, or if your food choices are good or lousy, if you are not home testing.
Be sure you are testing for ketones as well.

I picked it all up today.
First test prior to eating was 441. About 1/2 hour after eating was 480.
 
ugh, not too good ..... what about testing for ketones? With such high numbers, it's wise to test for ketones... problems could crop up fast, so best to know as soon as possible.
Be sure to test when you get even just a trace on the stix.
 
thats about the same as what I'm getting for Tilly although i was shocked to learn no ketones as she has had high numbers for a while
 
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
ugh, not too good ..... what about testing for ketones? With such high numbers, it's wise to test for ketones... problems could crop up fast, so best to know as soon as possible.
Be sure to test when you get even just a trace on the stix.

Still on the learning curve.
10:00PM test came in at 381.
 
I think some cats are fortunate that they don't have ketone issues; I don't know why but neither of mine had problems.
I think if a cat is prone though, it's a good idea to test regularly, even if not at high numbers.

If you can post your BG numbers to state how long after the shot, it will be helpful.
If you shot 1u at 8pm, that's your pmps BG
At 10pm, that 381 would be the +2 BG number.

If you do a curve, below can help to explain the numbers you get.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
I think some cats are fortunate that they don't have ketone issues; I don't know why but neither of mine had problems.
I think if a cat is prone though, it's a good idea to test regularly, even if not at high numbers.

If you can post your BG numbers to state how long after the shot, it will be helpful.
If you shot 1u at 8pm, that's your pmps BG
At 10pm, that 381 would be the +2 BG number.

If you do a curve, below can help to explain the numbers you get.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

PMPS was about 7PM 441
+ .5 was 7:30 480
+3 was 10PM +381
 
I have no experience with Prozinc, only Caninsulin which was lousy, Lantus and Levemir which are both longer lasting.

If you are still on Prozinc and have such high numbers after over a week, I would think you are overdue to up that dose, but not being familiar with this insulin I certainly don't know more than to say those BG numbers are much too high.

It would be a great idea if you set up a google spreadsheet so you can track cat's numbers, and also allow for others to view the numbers and give you a hand with how to proceed. You will find the spreadsheet an excellent tool for spotting trends to guide you on cat's progress.
 
(441 - 381)/3 hours = 20 points an hour. It'd be nice to thing that doubling the dose would drop 40 points an hour ... but it might not ... or it might. If you can, get a +6 which may be close to the nadir.

I'd agree with increasing the dose, but use caution in doing so, for example going up to 1.5 units of Prozinc at the next shot time. Insulin dose adjustment math has nonlinear results.

(off to bed now)
 
BJM said:
(441 - 381)/3 hours = 20 points an hour. It'd be nice to thing that doubling the dose would drop 40 points an hour ... but it might not ... or it might. If you can, get a +6 which may be close to the nadir.

I'd agree with increasing the dose, but use caution in doing so, for example going up to 1.5 units of Prozinc at the next shot time. Insulin dose adjustment math has nonlinear results.

(off to bed now)

I am inclined to agree.

7:00 AMPS 433 +0
7:10 1 unit given.
505 +1
 
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
I have no experience with Prozinc, only Caninsulin which was lousy, Lantus and Levemir which are both longer lasting.

If you are still on Prozinc and have such high numbers after over a week, I would think you are overdue to up that dose, but not being familiar with this insulin I certainly don't know more than to say those BG numbers are much too high.

It would be a great idea if you set up a google spreadsheet so you can track cat's numbers, and also allow for others to view the numbers and give you a hand with how to proceed. You will find the spreadsheet an excellent tool for spotting trends to guide you on cat's progress.

Have never set up a spread sheet online.
This appears to involve coding.
 
Sev

Instructions for using the spreadsheet template which was created in Google Docs are in the Tech forum here:
How to Create Your Own SS and Publish It in Your Signature

It isn't quite like Excel, and sometimes folks have issues getting it to work. For a bastardized example, you can click Spitzer's link in my signature - I re-ordered the glucose ranges so that they went from low to high in a right to left order ... not that I'm compulsive or anything!
 
BJM said:
Sev

Instructions for using the spreadsheet template which was created in Google Docs are in the Tech forum here:
How to Create Your Own SS and Publish It in Your Signature

It isn't quite like Excel, and sometimes folks have issues getting it to work. For a bastardized example, you can click Spitzer's link in my signature - I re-ordered the glucose ranges so that they went from low to high in a right to left order ... not that I'm compulsive or anything!

Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top