cat not responding to vetsulin

Status
Not open for further replies.
vetsulin for most drops fast and low and raises quicker than most in my experience--my kitty was very depressed on vetsulin (it was made for dogs / different metabolism) it is a bit of a harsh insulin for felines although some do tolerate it.
That being said every cat is different --
Any update on Callie?
 
I'm relieved to hear from you, Cathy; I was worried about you. Thank you for letting me know how things are.

With all that you already have on your plate I'm sorry to hear you've been so poorly, Cathy, but I'm glad you're starting to recover. I am heartened to hear that Callie's improving and I hope that that will give you a little spiritual boost.

Will keep you both in my thoughts. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I'm relieved to hear from you, Cathy; I was worried about you. Thank you for letting me know how things are.

With all that you already have on your plate I'm sorry to hear you've been so poorly, Cathy, but I'm glad you're starting to recover. I am heartened to hear that Callie's improving and I hope that that will give you a little spiritual boost.

Will keep you both in my thoughts. :bighug:


Mogs
.
Hi
Callie bit me. Badly infected hand. Schools last week in area had hundreds of absences. Some norovirus they figure. Of course I had to get that. Couldnt much use right hand / arm so had to do all lugging with left. Left side not used to that. Screwed around with my discs, making almost impossible to move. Not been fun at all. Its good im so strong and stubborn I guess although im getting sick of being the tough one, I really am.

Callie. Im going to be honest. Her glucose has not been checked since the whole bite thing. I cant do that one handed, I tried. She has not missed any injections. I can manage that. I took the advice of raising her to 8 units and watched her closely for a day or so. I immediately saw a marked improvement. Now this first thing hopefully one of you have an explanation for... Since early summer every time that cat takes a crap in litterbox it is just horrid. You can be in the cellar, and you know right away she's upstairs using the box.ive had many many cats. Never did one stink like this. Done, all gone. No bad permeating stench at all. Happened first day. Day two I thought maybe there was less pee. Next day I KNEW there was less. I do not know how many days. They've all run together lately. But it was the day after someone suggested it though.

Going to do another curve this next week. Try for monday. Had to wait for 1st. Does anyone know of any biteproof gloves that still give the dexterity you need? Id love to know. Dr's do not like diabetics getting bit by cats especially. You know, that old pasteurella virus and all. Ive been told to rehome cat. Ive been told a lot of stuff over the yrs, starting with, horses have to go. That was 1993. Don't worry, she's staying. If I obtain an animal, it stays, for life. If I listened to everything drs say I would have no life.

When I find out just what I will need for sure I would love to have a little help with her. I do not want to take something that I don't end up needing or someone else needs more. I am very interested in changing her to my lantus when this vetsulin is gone. I have a five pen box that I just threw out as it was three months expired. That's awful, id rather share it with her. Of course she won't use much of it up.

I appreciate all you ppl thoughts and advice. I will let you know results of this next curve. I sure hope she's okay with it. She has never done that before. But ive never asked it of her more than once in a day either, she felt it a bit much, I guess. Cathy
 
Callie bit me. Badly infected hand.

Whenever I get scratched or bitten, I immediately wash my wounds with hydrogen peroxide, though I mix my own to 6%, most of the store-bought varieties are 3%. Tara's vet thinks chlorhexidine is better for the same purpose. Either one seems to eliminate a terrible swelling reaction.

Tara was initially put on vetsulin, but it was changed to PZI or Prozinc after 2 weeks, and it clearly worked a lot better at the same dose to reduce blood glucose.
 
Last edited:
I'm relieved to hear from you, Cathy; I was worried about you. Thank you for letting me know how things are.

With all that you already have on your plate I'm sorry to hear you've been so poorly, Cathy, but I'm glad you're starting to recover. I am heartened to hear that Callie's improving and I hope that that will give you a little spiritual boost.

Will keep you both in my thoughts. :bighug:


Mogs
.
I have curve results on callie at the 8u level. 8am before shot- 476, 10am 365, 12pm 271, 2pm 259, 5pm270, and 8:30pm right before shot 497. She is now peeing like a normal cat. No horrible smell to feces. Still seems to be high before next shot. Maybe try not feeding her for the last four hrs before shot?

She needs to move to lantus this weekend. Waiting for vet to call back with appropriate dose. Someone suggested 1u here. U100 insulin is 2.5 stronger than u40, so I understand it would be much less an amount but shouldnt it be more than 1?
 
I have curve results on callie at the 8u level. 8am before shot- 476, 10am 365, 12pm 271, 2pm 259, 5pm270, and 8:30pm right before shot 497. She is now peeing like a normal cat. No horrible smell to feces. Still seems to be high before next shot. Maybe try not feeding her for the last four hrs before shot?

She needs to move to lantus this weekend. Waiting for vet to call back with appropriate dose. Someone suggested 1u here. U100 insulin is 2.5 stronger than u40, so I understand it would be much less an amount but shouldnt it be more than 1?

Just heard from sheryl my vet. She suggests starting at 2u of lantus and keep track to see if her peeing increases as the lantus dose is a little less than the vetsulin at 8u. I will test her after starting the new dose so I know soon if it will be adequate or needs to be increased.

I asked about the overlap as lantus lasts longer, has a longer half life, and she said with h e r numbers rising high before her next dose may indicate the overl a p being a plus.

Asked about using the pens and pen needle. They a re 5mm x 31g. She said she would recommend a little longer than that, which is 3/16, but that she was confident I could make it work. I will talk to her again on tuesday.
 
Most use the pens but draw up a syringe. Pens only allow full unit increases and with cats we tend to increase in half or quarter increases.
 
Most use the pens but draw up a syringe. Pens only allow full unit increases and with cats we tend to increase in half or quarter increases.

Using the lantus, I will likely do half unit increases, if I need to increase. Until I know we need an increase
 
Im going to use the pen. Ive spoke with several who do. Ive heard some say the small one unit doses don't measure accurately. I do not believe that at all. I use one unit of novalog quite often for myself, as im very sensitive to it, and can attest to it d o ing it's job. But raising doses yes, I will do it in half u increments. Vet also had explanation for the stench of her feces and its disappearance, but I didnt quite catch it all. All I got was the word cell was in it somewhere. Vet was calling back from a convention and it got noisy there toward end. I will ask tuesday. She was happy to hear we've finally reached a dose that seems to be having an effect. Been trying since sept I think.
 
Six cans of food a day.. What about a borderline thyroid issue? It's possible that what might be a negligible difference in most cats makes a big difference in Callie. I would have that rechecked?
 
It was tested. Next time we have an appt I will want to check to see if there could be something like cushings or iaa going on too. That will not be for a while though. We have to be satisfied for now in the excellent news that we are making progress with her numbers. I do realize she is a high dose cat and that there may be reasons for that.

I know ppl here seemed , I don't know, upset with me maybe, as I did not jump right on ppls offers of meters and whatnot. Maybe thats why everyone disappeared? Who knows. But it was said my onetouch meter was a very good one, so why would I want another. I just needed a few extra strips. That has been solved. I just got 200 for $10. Im seeing this as lasting a very long time.

We won't be testing daily. A few curves a year. Close monitoring when doing changes, otherwise a couple times a week, three hours after an injection and before the next. I know ppl here do not find that sufficient. It is what I can do. I am very much interested in doing what I can do for her but at this point her care is better than mine. I do manage to keep my a1c pretty darn good without micromanaging and am hoping for the same with callie. This is what im a ble to do for her. The cat would be dead by now where she was. She was fed free choice dry food. She traveled around the village all day e a ting here and there. The whole village was loving her to literal death. As a young cat she came down with what the owner described as distemper. Said after a few days she start e d walking around again but acted drunk. Never took her to vet. That is what care in the area is, that is normal for these ppl. When I had my duck operated on for bumblefoot, they put the darn duck on front page of local paper strapped down and on gas machine. Ppl thought I was crazy putting $150into a duck. That was 1981.I wish ppl here did feel their animals deserve medical care and the best diet they can afford but they dont. And there's always loads who need rescueing. Sorry about being so wordy. I dont often see/ speak to others and I get carried away.
Will start lantus in am.
 
You weren't being wordy, you were describing your reality. It is much different that many people could ever imagine (myself included). You do the best you can with the resources you have. It can be overwhelming and very hard to have to make "between a rock and a hard place" decisions. You are an awesome animal caretaker and the world needs me people like you to light the way, especially in places where animal care is in the Dark Ages. I have great respect for you. Do the best you can, but please let people help you too. It is a great gift to others to let them help you help the animals.
Pepper Cat Mom to 13 down from 18
 
I would have asked for help and truly appreciate the generous offers. I just wanted to know for sure just what I needed, that which I could not obtain myself, before I did. As poor as I am there are those out there worse off. Turns out im going to be able to pull it off on my own. Now another can be helped maybe.
Believe me,if someone was to happen by and offer to help me haul water and lug in wood this morning, I would surely take the help. Thermometer here says -27f here this morning with a "feels like", temp of -55. Even down in burlington it says -15, which doesn't happen often. Im really dreading it. Horses look happy enough. Just standing around outside their shed looking cozy in their new blankies they got this yr. Thanks to paypal credit. Time to go get at it. Sciatic both sides, flaring today, making me run late. Usually out there doing poop now.

Doing glucose testing throughout day today since she just started on lantus this morning. Post results tomorrow if I can.
 
Hi Cathy

I missed your post from yesterday but I am glad to see you and Callie are doing okay and you are going to try Lantus for your Callie. It may take a few days before you see proper results with the Lantus. since it is a depot insulin rather than the "in and out" type that Vetsulin is. Maybe Lantus can give a longer cycle of good numbers once you find the right dose.

I'm glad you were able to figure out the financial end on your own, but if times get tough DCIN can always help you out. That is what they do... bless their hearts!! No one on here ever gets upset with the decision furkid caregivers make. No matter what you decide to do your heart and intentions are only for the well-being of the creatures you take care of.

What an amazing person you are to do so much for all the creatures that need help, in spite of your own physical and financial limitations. It has been very cold here lately,,,starting to break today. We have been having temps in the -40 to -50 area with the wind chill. I am such a suck with cold weather and yet there you are out in the freezing cold, feeding your horses. Good thing the horse have their new blankets to help keep them warm.

I will check back later and see how the testing goes.

If you have any questions that come up today, you can post a new "thread" in the Lantus forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

and just post a link to this thread so anyone reading can get some background. If you have question just use the "?" icon in the drop down box of the title. There are a lot of Lantus users there that can give you information and advice if you need and with the "?" icon you will usually get a pretty fast response depending on how many people are on.

Stay safe and warm :bighug:
 
Hi Cathy

I missed your post from yesterday but I am glad to see you and Callie are doing okay and you are going to try Lantus for your Callie. It may take a few days before you see proper results with the Lantus. since it is a depot insulin rather than the "in and out" type that Vetsulin is. Maybe Lantus can give a longer cycle of good numbers once you find the right dose.

I'm glad you were able to figure out the financial end on your own, but if times get tough DCIN can always help you out. That is what they do... bless their hearts!! No one on here ever gets upset with the decision furkid caregivers make. No matter what you decide to do your heart and intentions are only for the well-being of the creatures you take care of.

What an amazing person you are to do so much for all the creatures that need help, in spite of your own physical and financial limitations. It has been very cold here lately,,,starting to break today. We have been having temps in the -40 to -50 area with the wind chill. I am such a suck with cold weather and yet there you are out in the freezing cold, feeding your horses. Good thing the horse have their new blankets to help keep them warm.

I will check back later and see how the testing goes.

If you have any questions that come up today, you can post a new "thread" in the Lantus forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

and just post a link to this thread so anyone reading can get some background. If you have question just use the "?" icon in the drop down box of the title. There are a lot of Lantus users there that can give you information and advice if you need and with the "?" icon you will usually get a pretty fast response depending on how many people are on.

Stay safe and warm :bighug:


Thanks for your kind words. I am doing the curve today. I started yesterday but something happened where I was not able to continue. I have unexplained reactions to lantus a few times a yr which incapacitate me. Bg dropped to 32, and it scares me right to death. Dr, manufacturer, have no clue.it always happens within 1/2 hour of injecting which should not be possible they tell me. Still feel wiped out but plenty capable of doing curve. I really feel most of time as if large dark cloud envelops me. Report back later.
 
Thanks for your kind words. I am doing the curve today. I started yesterday but something happened where I was not able to continue. I have unexplained reactions to lantus a few times a yr which incapacitate me. Bg dropped to 32, and it scares me right to death. Dr, manufacturer, have no clue.it always happens within 1/2 hour of injecting which should not be possible they tell me. Still feel wiped out but plenty capable of doing curve. I really feel most of time as if large dark cloud envelops me. Report back later.


I hope you are doing okay. A hypo event like you had can be dangerous and very draining. Very strange that it should happen within 1/2 hour of injecting...as the Dr and manufacturer said that should not be possible due to the delayed reaction time. Very scary for you!

Sending lots of healing `power for both you and Callie. :bighug:

In order to get more people seeing your post and offering advice you could post a new posting on the Lantus forum and put a copy of the link to this posting in as well to give some background:

Link to Lantus forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

Good luck with your curve. :bighug:
 
Hi!!
I do not give dosing advice .... there is a link that will help guide you on the appropriate starting dose of lantus-2 units can be a lot for many cats-
each cat is different and they need what they need.... My guy is on 1 unit and he is is a bog boy.... Hypo is very scary... glad you are testing:cat:
Hang in there.... :bighug:
 
Hi!!
I do not give dosing advice .... there is a link that will help guide you on the appropriate starting dose of lantus-2 units can be a lot for many cats-
each cat is different and they need what they need.... My guy is on 1 unit and he is is a bog boy.... Hypo is very scary... glad you are testing:cat:
Hang in there.... :bighug:

Jayla it was not the kitty that had a hypo it was Cathy. She is also diabetic. Callie is just starting on Lantus after having been on Vetsulin.
 
I hope you are doing okay. A hypo event like you had can be dangerous and very draining. Very strange that it should happen within 1/2 hour of injecting...as the Dr and manufacturer said that should not be possible due to the delayed reaction time. Very scary for you!

Sending lots of healing `power for both you and Callie. :bighug:

In order to get more people seeing your post and offering advice you could post a new posting on the Lantus forum and put a copy of the link to this posting in as well to give some background:

Link to Lantus forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

Good luck with your curve. :bighug:

I find those spells terrifying, even more now that im alone. Before august id lived with someone for 21 yrs. It is so hard to guage when to call someone. Only called ambulance twice though. But the rn who was bringing the iv antibiotics 2x day for the cat bite said call below 50. Whatever.

Callie did not even try to bite. I do not know why she did that time. Im being as careful as I can. We started at 7am. Her bg was 435. Gave 2 lantus. 9am 404; 11am 344; 1 pm 403; 3pm 380, 5pm 332; 7pm 296. Since it still seemed to be going down I didnt dare give 2 last night and gave only one. But this a.m. at 5:30 it was 397.

Will be speaking with vet again today to check in.
 
I find those spells terrifying, even more now that im alone. Before august id lived with someone for 21 yrs. It is so hard to guage when to call someone. Only called ambulance twice though. But the rn who was bringing the iv antibiotics 2x day for the cat bite said call below 50. Whatever.

Callie did not even try to bite. I do not know why she did that time. Im being as careful as I can. We started at 7am. Her bg was 435. Gave 2 lantus. 9am 404; 11am 344; 1 pm 403; 3pm 380, 5pm 332; 7pm 296. Since it still seemed to be going down I didnt dare give 2 last night and gave only one. But this a.m. at 5:30 it was 397.

Will be speaking with vet again today to check in.


Yes being alone means you have to react before your numbers get down too low. I think your nurse who suggested 50 as a warning number for you was actually being a bit conservative. Take care of yourself...all your critters need you :)

Your curve is looking pretty well what a Lantus curve for a kitty should look like. Although with kitties it is suggested to keep the morning and evening doses the same, since especially in the beginning it takes a while for the kitty's body to adjust to a different type of insulin. The vetsulin is more of an in and out insulin, while the Lantus...which is what you use for yourself...is more of a long acting depot insulin. I can see why you were hesitant about giving 2 units last night since you don't really know how Callie will respond to it. If you have enough test strips it would be good to do tests before the shot and then at least again around +3 hour and +6 hour. I know you are having to juggle the costs but if you can manage those tests it should give a good indication of how Lantus works with Callie. Since cat's metabolism is faster than people you can't really judge by how it works with you.

Good luck !! :bighug:
 
I should have been more clear. If one hadn't known of the previous post, anyone would have thought it was the cat.

There are not many people on here with diabetic cats who are also diabetic themselves, and even with those ones I have never seen any of them mention getting a hypo themselves. As soon as people here see a low number they right away get concerned for the kitty. The interesting part is that you are well aware of how a kitty going into hypo numbers will feel and that is really good to know. :)
 
Yes being alone means you have to react before your numbers get down too low. I think your nurse who suggested 50 as a warning number for you was actually being a bit conservative. Take care of yourself...all your critters need you :)

Your curve is looking pretty well what a Lantus curve for a kitty should look like. Although with kitties it is suggested to keep the morning and evening doses the same, since especially in the beginning it takes a while for the kitty's body to adjust to a different type of insulin. The vetsulin is more of an in and out insulin, while the Lantus...which is what you use for yourself...is more of a long acting depot insulin. I can see why you were hesitant about giving 2 units last night since you don't really know how Callie will respond to it. If you have enough test strips it would be good to do tests before the shot and then at least again around +3 hour and +6 hour. I know you are having to juggle the costs but if you can manage those tests it should give a good indication of how Lantus works with Callie. Since cat's metabolism is faster than people you can't really judge by how it works with you.

Good luck !! :bighug:[/QUOTE

I have plenty of strips. Just got 200 for $10. Can get more whenever I need to. Yah, the first night she did get 2u. Last night iwas afraid it could drop and I wouldnt know. Ppl here will not like it but I am not testing this cat through the night. I get up very early and am in bed long before three hours after night shot. I am doing my best at extra testing since we are just changing insulins but she will not be tested daily once we establish a dose.

I did do quite a bit of reading at the link you sent. You guys have way different words for things than the terms I am used to. I believe if I read correctly that you use 'bounce' for somogyi effect? I am now able to understand much more of what you guys are saying after familiarizing myself with the terms you use.

For now im just going to stay here and continue to read over there. I think im fine here. Certainly not starting out without any knowledge of medicine or diabetes and I don't do so well amongst a large group. Life has made me very bitter. I very much tend to shy away and hide. I stay to myself and occupy any free time with my never ending mission to educate myself. What the hell I figure. Certainly not harming anyone.
 
I have plenty of strips. Just got 200 for $10. Can get more whenever I need to. Yah, the first night she did get 2u. Last night iwas afraid it could drop and I wouldnt know. Ppl here will not like it but I am not testing this cat through the night. I get up very early and am in bed long before three hours after night shot. I am doing my best at extra testing since we are just changing insulins but she will not be tested daily once we establish a dose.

I did do quite a bit of reading at the link you sent. You guys have way different words for things than the terms I am used to. I believe if I read correctly that you use 'bounce' for somogyi effect? I am now able to understand much more of what you guys are saying after familiarizing myself with the terms you use.

For now im just going to stay here and continue to read over there. I think im fine here. Certainly not starting out without any knowledge of medicine or diabetes and I don't do so well amongst a large group. Life has made me very bitter. I very much tend to shy away and hide. I stay to myself and occupy any free time with my never ending mission to educate myself. What the hell I figure. Certainly not harming anyone.


Glad to see that you were able to get affordable strips Cathy!! Some people here will spend most of their time taking care of their kitties. You have other responsibilities and limitations, so if you can't or won't do the same that is perfectly fine. You do what you can. Just to throw in my 2 cents worth...if you could see your way to at least testing before each shot that would provide a safety factor in case Callie's pancreas decides to start working on its own. Your choice in the end though.

Bounce and somogyi are often used as meaning the same thing. There have been a few discussions here abut the difference, with differing opinions. Bouncing is generally when a cat drops very fast or hits much lower numbers than it is used to, which can cause the body to release stored glucogen since it perceives this as an emergency. When a cat has been in higher numbers for a long time, it takes a while before the body accepts the lower numbers without bouncing.

Educating yourself as much as you can about feline diabetes is the best you can do. Although you understand human diabetes, the approach with kitties is a bit different. I understand when you say life has made you bitter. I tend to be rather jaded about life myself and usually avoid groups and forums. Because I love my kitty I joined up, even though it is against my nature. We all do what we can for those we love. :bighug:
 
There are not many people on here with diabetic cats who are also diabetic themselves, and even with those ones I have never seen any of them mention getting a hypo themselves. As soon as people here see a low number they right away get concerned for the kitty. The interesting part is that you are well aware of how a kitty going into hypo numbers will feel and that is really good to know. :)

Oh but there must be differences. These are the things im here to learn. I get a pounding heartbeat, a strong feeling of doom, sweat just pouring from everywhere, even fingers and toes. I get so shaky its hard to test. Can hardly speak and feel confused. Yes, im sure in callie I would notice changes which would immediately lead me to think low bg but I wouldnt see her drenched in sweat, right?
 
Oh but there must be differences. These are the things im here to learn. I get a pounding heartbeat, a strong feeling of doom, sweat just pouring from everywhere, even fingers and toes. I get so shaky its hard to test. Can hardly speak and feel confused. Yes, im sure in callie I would notice changes which would immediately lead me to think low bg but I wouldnt see her drenched in sweat, right?


Very true since kitties don't sweat.. When my kitty gets into hypo numbers he gets VERY vocal about food...more so than usual...insistent and following me in a panic.... that is my first clue. Some kitties will become disoriented and stumble, but that usually will happen when the numbers are very low and getting more serious. Of course an emergency situation would be when a cat passes out, but that would require an ER and IV glucose.
 
Glad to see that you were able to get affordable strips Cathy!! Some people here will spend most of their time taking care of their kitties. You have other responsibilities and limitations, so if you can't or won't do the same that is perfectly fine. You do what you can. Just to throw in my 2 cents worth...if you could see your way to at least testing before each shot that would provide a safety factor in case Callie's pancreas decides to start working on its own. Your choice in the end though.

Bounce and somogyi are often used as meaning the same thing. There have been a few discussions here abut the difference, with differing opinions. Bouncing is generally when a cat drops very fast or hits much lower numbers than it is used to, which can cause the body to release stored glucogen since it perceives this as an emergency. When a cat has been in higher numbers for a long time, it takes a while before the body accepts the lower numbers without bouncing.

Educating yourself as much as you can about feline diabetes is the best you can do. Although you understand human diabetes, the approach with kitties is a bit different. I understand when you say life has made you bitter. I tend to be rather jaded about life myself and usually avoid groups and forums. Because I love my kitty I joined up, even though it is against my nature. We all do what we can for those we love. :bighug:

I can easily test before and have been. I think its important right now. I am doing it after as well. I may be able to test once during night. My nights are quite miserable and very painful. Thanks for understanding that it is not so much a matter of dont want to but what im able to. I appreciate that. It is easy to see that many here live for their cats. I do love callie and want to see her doing as well as we can get her. I am more a dog /horse person if I had to choose but very much enjoy cats and like to have one around. Callie is a bit different and includes me in things I wish not to be included in. I have woken to her darn rubbing me with her head stuff to find her doing it with a mouse in her mouth. She has brought several upstairs at night, jump up on bed and then let it loose once I notice her. Some of these things I could do without. Shes just full of personality and is the most agile 16 lb cat ive met.
 
I can easily test before and have been. I think its important right now. I am doing it after as well. I may be able to test once during night. My nights are quite miserable and very painful. Thanks for understanding that it is not so much a matter of dont want to but what im able to. I appreciate that. It is easy to see that many here live for their cats. I do love callie and want to see her doing as well as we can get her. I am more a dog /horse person if I had to choose but very much enjoy cats and like to have one around. Callie is a bit different and includes me in things I wish not to be included in. I have woken to her darn rubbing me with her head stuff to find her doing it with a mouse in her mouth. She has brought several upstairs at night, jump up on bed and then let it loose once I notice her. Some of these things I could do without. Shes just full of personality and is the most agile 16 lb cat ive met.


You are doing what you are able to for Callie and your love for all living creatures is obvious.

I had to laugh about the mouse "present". That is just her way of telling you she loves you.

For now testing before shots and during the cycle should keep her safe. and give you information how she responds to the Lantus.

Good luck!! :bighug:
 
Very true since kitties don't sweat.. When my kitty gets into hypo numbers he gets VERY vocal about food...more so than usual...insistent and following me in a panic.... that is my first clue. Some kitties will become disoriented and stumble, but that usually will happen when the numbers are very low and getting more serious. Of course an emergency situation would be when a cat passes out, but that would require an ER and IV glucose.
Oh my, the food thing wouldn't signify anything different at all with callie. She does that continually all day and every time I get up at night too, even with high numbers.

A collaspe would not be good. Emergency er trips are not possible with no car. Nearest er is 60 milles. I do have a wonderful team of six horse vets who make it to my house in ten min when an emergency and if I called for a cat in need they would come. They know me well, like me and trust me. Theyve done my small animal vacs and pts animals for me before. I am capable of doing iv glucose. Will grab more supplies in case next time I see a vet. The large animal vets use my bathroom when in area and need one. I am always home. Mail lady does too.
 
Oh my, the food thing wouldn't signify anything different at all with callie. She does that continually all day and every time I get up at night too, even with high numbers.

A collaspe would not be good. Emergency er trips are not possible with no car. Nearest er is 60 milles. I do have a wonderful team of six horse vets who make it to my house in ten min when an emergency and if I called for a cat in need they would come. They know me well, like me and trust me. Theyve done my small animal vacs and pts animals for me before. I am capable of doing iv glucose. Will grab more supplies in case next time I see a vet. The large animal vets use my bathroom when in area and need one. I am always home. Mail lady does too.


It is good that you have a support system if needed. A kitty in a non-threatening hypo is treated the same way as a person. Sugar (karo, honey, maple syrup etc) in the food or on the gums followed by high carb foods and then retest 20 minutes later until the numbers come up and stay in a safe range.

A serious hypo requires IV glucose. I am sure you have the equipment and supplies there for yourself. With your distance from town with no vehicle and the costs of a vet visit this would be your first approach. You could ask your vet for the exact details on glucose amounts and monitoring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top