cat not responding to vetsulin | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

cat not responding to vetsulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cathy Morse

Member since 2016
Callie was diagnosed as being diabetic two months ago. Started on vetsulin right away. Using u40 syringes she was dosed at 2 units every twelve hours. It hasn't made any difference at all. Over the last few weeks the dose has been raised with still no difference at all. We are now dosing 7 units every twelve hours. BG still 487- 613 at each reading.

She was changed over to only wet food. She is starving continually. She drinks incredible amounts of water. I use Scoop Away litter, 5 inches in box. Overnight a lake forms on top. Going through a 14 lb box A DAY. This month it cost $216 , not including vet, for litter, food, insulin and syringes. I can't do that. My total income is quite a bit under $1000 a month. I am on disability due to severe spine disease I was born with. I had wished to use lantus as it doesn't cost me anything, but vet said vetsulin worked better in cats.

I can't afford $200 a month for her, I really just can't. Ive had to cut way back on animals do to huge life changes, and my health. Even so I kept all my animals when I divorced but as each has passed of old age I have not replaced them. Still loving and caring for a horse, and donkey in their 20's. One Dobe, Callie, and an eastern cottontail. Does anyone have any idea why Callie is not responding to the vetsulin and/or any other advice? Thank you.
 
Can you post some recent BGs including BG before shot and then periodically between shots? That info is needed to help you.
Most of us here test or cats blood glucose at home using a human meter. We test before each shot and periodically between shots. We record our reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/

Here is a link to home testing blood sugarshttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
I have never used Vetsulin, but most members on here who have used it find it to be a harsher insulin...fairly fast acting and usually can cause bigger drops. The fact that it is not working is disturbing. First would be to make sure that it is being injected properly. As a diabetic I am sure you know what you are doing, but sometimes different injection areas work better for some cats. I find the abdomen or flank seems to be better for my kitty than the scruff. Also, just to rule out all possibilities, has it been stored properly and do you gently roll it before drawing up the shot?

I see Larry posted while I was typing this. Putting up some numbers as to how many units given and glucose readings would give a clearer picture. Setting up a spreadsheet as he suggested makes it easier for all members to look at the patterns.

Are you home testing? If so are you using a human meter or a pet meter. The information and protocols on this forum are given using human meter numbers. That is also very important especially with faster acting insulins such as Vetsulin.

Lantus and Levemir are both human insulins that are being widely used for cats and show very good results. Your vet does not seem to be up to date on current diabetes treatments for cats.
 
I used to work for two different sm animal vets. I am very certain of the insulin storage, mixing and injecting. I do use her flank skin. I have 5 test strips to use per week. Otherwise I don't have enough for me. I truly can not obtain more. I test her three hours after I inject her. She gets one can to eat while im injecting and when testing. She doesnt even flinch. She demands 6 cans a day. Vet thinks too much. Its either that or she has to be caged. She has caused me to fall several times with her entwining herself around my legs. I have no feeling of right foot at all. I want to do the best I can do for her within my limits. She catches and eats three red squirrels each day. Now we finally have snow so that has more or less stopped for now but she sure eats that many three seasons of the yr. Seems to also have a real liking for these damn huge trantula like, wolf spiders. Horrible things they are but she pounces upon them. Not sure what happens next as I have to leave. But there are never any parts to be seen. She eats every part of the squirrels and mice too. Everything. Starts at tip of nose and crunches her way to the tip of its tail. The third in a day generally proves to be a tad much and that one comes back up, still plenty identifiable. But being meat I figure that is fine, correct?

BG. 1/13. 537
1/15. 487
1/17. 524
1/18. 613 cat given can food 5 am every day. Given 2nd can between 8 and 9 am while I inject and test.
 
The One Touch is a good meter but the strips are expensive..
On what you think would be a representative day take a BG before shot, then at 2 hours then at 5 hour and last before next shot . Better would be before shots, +2, +4 and +6 and before next shot
 
OK sorry for going through the basics, but it is always good to get that out of the way :)

Have you had your kitty tested for hyperthyroidism? The ravenous appetite is one of the signs. With the number of squirrels she is eating PLUS the food is a tremendous amount of overall food.

I am putting a link to your first posting:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hey-there.151179/

This explains your background and the point that you are not in any major centers. With money being an issue it would definitely be more beneficial to be using Lantus since that is what you are using for yourself. Since the vetsulin does not show much promise your vet should definitely be open to changing to Lantus. There are many studies that show Lantus is a good insulin for diabetic cats. If you could save money on the insulin then you would have a bit extra to be able to do extra testing.
 
Last edited:
The One Touch is a good meter but the strips are expensive..
On what you think would be a representative day take a BG before shot, then at 2 hours then at 5 hour and last before next shot . Better would be before shots, +2, +4 and +6 and before next shot
The One Touch is a good meter but the strips are expensive..
On what you think would be a representative day take a BG before shot, then at 2 hours then at 5 hour and last before next shot . Better would be before shots, +2, +4 and +6 and before next shot
 
OK sorry for going through the basics, but it is always good to get that out of the way :)

Have you had your kitty tested for hyperthyroidism? The ravenous appetite is one of the signs. With the number of squirrels she is eating PLUS the food is a tremendous amount of overall food.

I am putting a link to your first posting:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hey-there.151179/

This explains your background and the point that you are not in any major centers. With money being an issue it would definitely be more beneficial to be using Lantus since that is what you are using for yourself. Since the vetsulin does not show much promise your vet should definitely be open to changing to Lantus. There are many studies that show Lantus is a good insulin for diabetic cats. If you could save money on the insulin then you would have a bit extra to be able to do extra testing.
 
Yes I know that but we need to see what is happening with BG over the course of a typical day.


Larry ...Cathy said in her earlier post that she is using some of her own test strips...she is also diabetic...and cannot afford to use more than 5 a week for Callie. I have posted on Health to ask for contact information for DCIN. Also if her vet changes to Lantus then she can use some of her own insulin for Callie to help with costs. She is in a remote location and money is an issue.

My post for DCIN information:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-contact-information-for-dcin.151187/

Thanks
 
She is a large cat but yes, she sure is ravenous. She is 6 yrs old. Not so sure she was tested for that. Did do bun ,creatinine , bg. Isnt she a little young for hyperthyroidism? Or not? My last cat had that but she was 19. Race around house all night long.

It would be wonderful to be using the lantus. It wouldnt make extra money for strips here though. I think I am hesitant maybe in saying just how poor I am. I am not able to eat anywhere near correct myself. I go without, my animals never due. I feed my horse and donkey triple crown senior. Callie was getting a blue buffalo formula before changing to all wet. Merrick for my dobe. But there just isn't anything more that can be cut away from me. I didnt have damn heat this yr till 12/6. I have to try to help her best I can without any more spending. Jeez, I feel terrible. Maybe I should try to find someone who can do better by her. Thing is, there are many who CAN. Just not many who WILL. Her former owner doesn't believe in doing things like that for cats, he said. I said yah, like feeding them better?
 
She is a large cat but yes, she sure is ravenous. She is 6 yrs old. Not so sure she was tested for that. Did do bun ,creatinine , bg. Isnt she a little young for hyperthyroidism? Or not? My last cat had that but she was 19. Race around house all night long.

It would be wonderful to be using the lantus. It wouldnt make extra money for strips here though. I think I am hesitant maybe in saying just how poor I am. I am not able to eat anywhere near correct myself. I go without, my animals never due. I feed my horse and donkey triple crown senior. Callie was getting a blue buffalo formula before changing to all wet. Merrick for my dobe. But there just isn't anything more that can be cut away from me. I didnt have damn heat this yr till 12/6. I have to try to help her best I can without any more spending. Jeez, I feel terrible. Maybe I should try to find someone who can do better by her. Thing is, there are many who CAN. Just not many who WILL. Her former owner doesn't believe in doing things like that for cats, he said. I said yah, like feeding them better?


Since Callie had bun/creatinine levels done and there were no reports of kidney problems you can use a cheaper food such as Friskies pate. If you can get it in the larger cans that could possibly save you some money. With the amount of critters that Callie is eating she almost shouldn't need other food. Hyperthyroidism is possible at any age. Unfortunately this would involve a separate test that would have to be sent to an outside lab and that will involve an extra cost. If you could use the Lantus for Callie then you would be able to save on the cost of Vetsulin and perhaps get more strips. Many of the people here, in the US, use Relion meter and strips which is much cheaper than some of the other human meters. Just another idea to save money.
 
Also if the numbers you posted are being done 3 hours after injection, then the Vetsulin is definitely not doing what you need.
Oh I know, huh, absolutely nothing. I was interested in starting this new batch, different exp date, just in off chance that batch had some issue. But now third vial same effect, none.

Vet knows me well and does not care which insulin I choose. Just said in her opinion, that vetsulin was best. I will share that link. It was only 20 yrs ago it was impossible to even find a vet in the area. I am not surprised she may not be up to date on diabetes. I still can't get them to come to reason that cda is a very real condition in dogs of mutant colors such as my blue dobe. When I mention that they only need to examine the hair shaft under the microscope to see the abnormal clumping of melanin I get eye rolls. I know lantus, being u 100, would require different dosing but unsure what. Not been having much luck. Tending iv too for month. Got horse with lyme on iv oxytet. Cant imagine the cost if I wasn't able to do a lot myself.
 
Since Callie had bun/creatinine levels done and there were no reports of kidney problems you can use a cheaper food such as Friskies pate. If you can get it in the larger cans that could possibly save you some money. With the amount of critters that Callie is eating she almost shouldn't need other food. Hyperthyroidism is possible at any age. Unfortunately this would involve a separate test that would have to be sent to an outside lab and that will involve an extra cost. If you could use the Lantus for Callie then you would be able to save on the cost of Vetsulin and perhaps get more strips. Many of the people here, in the US, use Relion meter and strips which is much cheaper than some of the other human meters. Just another idea to save money.
 
Larry ...Cathy said in her earlier post that she is using some of her own test strips...she is also diabetic...and cannot afford to use more than 5 a week for Callie. I have posted on Health to ask for contact information for DCIN. Also if her vet changes to Lantus then she can use some of her own insulin for Callie to help with costs. She is in a remote location and money is an issue.
I know that. It better to use a weeks worth of strips in one day so we can see what is going one.
 
Keep hitting wrong button. Sorry. I may have confused you. She is now eating friskies cans. Six a day. Before switching to wet she got blue buffalo.
 
I'd switch to the lantus as soon as possible....You can save money if you can get to a WalMart and get a Relion Prime meter (about $15) and the strips are only $9 for 50. The Prime meter can sometimes be a little wonky, but you can't beat the price of the strips. The Relion Confirm or Micro are better, but the strips are $35.88 per 100 (which is still probably a lot cheaper than the One Touch)

Lantus is a U100 insulin, so requires U100 insulin syringes....again, Walmart has 3/10cc, 30 or 31 gauge syringes for $12.58 for a box of 100....and they come with half unit markings (which is important for dose increases/decreases that are done in .25 unit increments)

We have a very active Lantus forum here and lots of experienced members who use it who can guide you on how to use Lantus. There's years of real life experience to share with you.....most vets will only have a handful of diabetic cats in their career....the people here do nothing but deal with feline diabetes so have learned what works best. A lot of us don't even discuss our diabetic cats with our vets much anymore. When we go to the vet, she asks me how much insulin China is on and how her numbers are and that's the end of the discussion
 
There is a group called DCIN (Diabetic Cats in Need) that can often help out with costs in treating diabetic cats when the caregiver cannot afford it. I will try to find the contact name for you.
There's contact information for DCIN's "Compassionate Assistance Program (CAP)" listed in the Financial Help Links.

ETA: Just a reminder...
Any and all fundraising efforts by or for individuals or groups must be approved
by our Administrator, Robert and Echo, prior to posting on the FDMB.
 
Last edited:
we started on vetsulin--it is less expensive but in the long run you will spend more … I am so glad we switched to lantus not only because it is long lasting (vetsuin is made for dogs) also my cat felt awful and depressed on vetsulin. I felt like I was "chasing my tail" with vetsulin. Numbers would drop but rose again quick-if I wasn't testing I would have missed knowing about the drop- I hope things get better for you!
 
Hi Cathy,

It certainly sounds like Vetsulin is not working for your kitty. Diabetic Cats in Need has an assistance program http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/p/compassionate-assistance-program.html
Please email me with any questions at jenna@dcin.info

If your vet is willing to write the Rx for Lantus, we're happy to help you obtain it. We can also send you a meter strips just for Callie so you can test her more often which will give a better picture of what's happening.

It's very possible that she's eating so much because she is being given too much insulin or if she is truly a high-dose kitty, she may have something else going on.
 
I think I am hesitant maybe in saying just how poor I am. I am not able to eat anywhere near correct myself. I go without, my animals never due.
I've been in a similar situation. It's really, really tough and I truly feel for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I'm glad that you posted and that other members have given you info about DCIN.


Mogs
.
 
... my cat felt awful and depressed on vetsulin. I felt like I was "chasing my tail" with vetsulin. Numbers would drop but rose again quick-if I wasn't testing I would have missed knowing about the drop-

Exactly the same experience I had with Saoirse.

.
 
You can save money if you can get to a WalMart and get a Relion Prime meter (about $15) and the strips are only $9 for 50. The Prime meter can sometimes be a little wonky, but you can't beat the price of the strips. The Relion Confirm or Micro are better, but the strips are $35.88 per 100 (which is still probably a lot cheaper than the One Touch)

Lantus is a U100 insulin, so requires U100 insulin syringes....again, Walmart has 3/10cc, 30 or 31 gauge syringes for $12.58 for a box of 100....and they come with half unit markings (which is important for dose increases/decreases that are done in .25 unit increments)

Hello Cathy. Do you have a Walmart somewhat near you? If so, you can get the least expensive diabetic supplies from there as Chris indicated above.

Merlin, in his memory, would like to offer his Micro meter with 100 strips and a box of U100's to Callie. The only thing is that a box of 100 strips cost $35 as opposed to the Prime meter test strips are $9. Probably in the long run, buying a Prime meter with the cheaper strips would be better but just wanted to offer this to you if you want.
 
Hi Cathy,

It certainly sounds like Vetsulin is not working for your kitty. Diabetic Cats in Need has an assistance program http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/p/compassionate-assistance-program.html
Please email me with any questions at jenna@dcin.info

If your vet is willing to write the Rx for Lantus, we're happy to help you obtain it. We can also send you a meter strips just for Callie so you can test her more often which will give a better picture of what's happening.

It's very possible that she's eating so much because she is being given too much insulin or if she is truly a high-dose kitty, she may have something else going on.
 
Callie has been this hungry since I got her. Previous owners have no info. Not sure what she ate, drank or pee'd. She has only been on insulin for two months. I believe the hunger to be from the diabetes.

I do not go anywhere. I live in tremendous pain. For 15 yrs ive been on huge(160 mg) doses of methadone for pain , plus 30 mg ir morphine throughout the day. Riding in cars is way too much. Only time I leave here is for dr three times a yr. And this yr I even made it to daughters wedding. Closest stores are 22 miles away except for gas station which is 9. With no car available I have to hire every trip anywhere. Walmart is $30. I can not pay to go anywhere this month. Already got my supplies for the month.

Why would a prescription be needed? Alaska is the only state where one is required and even there it is up to the individual pharmacy. I can not leave my vet with the feeling I may be doubting her. She is the only small animal vet I can go to without money. I do like her and she has done a lot for me. I won't need lantus anyhow. I have plenty to share with callie. I do get the pens .But it is very easy to draw into a syringe from the pen. All I would need is needles. Im sure the nice ppl who offer assistance will want income verification. I think I can figure out how to scan and send my this yrs 1099 if so. It says $4,884, I just looked it up this morning. Cant find one for ssi though, but it is a little less than the ss one. Does it sound like id qualify?

This offer of help is so very nice. I sure dont want them to pay for any more than I absolutely have to have. No need of them paying for lantus when I have enough to share.

Someone said here that vetsulin is only for dogs. The maker(merck), says it is for both dogs and cats. I trust merck even though maybe vetsulin isn't best. For many yrs I worked for abs inseminating cattle. Merck is always available and very helpful with the use of all their products I have found.

Sorry to cover everyones posts all together. I seem to be having issues with replying to individual posts.

I am working on gathering callies numbers today. Will post back later. Time to start lugging hot water out to horses. 10 below here this fine morning. Thanks to all trying to help us. It is very much appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Hi Cathy,

Are you in Canada? It's only Canada that doesn't require prescriptions for non-Novolin/Humulin insulin.

Yes, you definitely qualify. Please fill out the application I posted earlier so we can send you a meter and syringes. Sharing Lantus will be better than using the Vetsulin. Even though Merck has said it's good for dogs and cats, dogs and cats metabolize insulin VERY differently and there are dozens of studies that put Lantus, Levemir, Prozinc and PZI well above Humulin, Novolin and Vetsulin for cats.
 
You will think me a lunatic for sure. The chart I was referring to is from the damn 70's. Absolutely you are correct, all modern insulins need scripts. My mom was a rn who owned / operated her own nursing home. I grew up there and later worked there. Why I still have all that stuff still, and know right where it is, I truly can not say. But it be high time I clean it out. Ha ha very very sorry. Ill surely be more careful.
Canada? About three miles "as the crow flies", 14 miles to drive. I did grow up in a border town. Still not far. Many drugs in canada don't require scripts. Some that don't should. Huge price differences on many as well.
 
HUGS and HUGS Cathy! Please let DCIN help you and your sweet baby - it's 'Cat Mama's' like you that they were formed to help. One's wanting to and willing to treat their 'extra sweet' babies but just don't have the funds. You've already got a huge leg up on many of us when we arrived - you understand diabetes and it's treatment. Most vets, especially small town vets, don't have time to keep up with details on every pet illness and product out there. They have to treat all illnesses. They get a few hours of training on diabetes in animals, mostly dogs. My vet is the same way - he prescribes Novolin NPH for any diabetic animals. He and I agree to disagree on feline diabetes treatment, he writes my script for Levemir when I ask him but other than that and regular bloodwork, I treat the diabetic part.

Testing is a critical part of treatment - they can't tell us when things are happening, the only way we can tell is by testing. You need enough test strips available to test when needed. You don't need to have to use yours when you need those to keep YOU safe!

HUGS again Cathy! I'm SO glad you stumbled across this site....
 
((HUGS)) Cathy. You have a heart of gold to give so much to all the animals that need help even though it is so difficult for you physically and financially. Please let DCIN help you to help Callie. If you can use your Lantus for her, that is wonderful. Please, as kindly as possible, talk to your vet about using Lantus for Callie. There are many scientific studies done in the last number of years that show Lantus is a GOOD insulin for diabetic kitties. It really appears that the Vetsulin is not working for Callie. Other members have used Vetsulin and some had decent results, but it is not always the first or best choice for insulin with kitties and Callie appears to be one that it doesn't work for. You are doing several tests on Callie's glucose levels today so that really should paint a better picture of how it is working..or not working. If the test results you do today do not show proper ranges, then unless Callie has other conditions that would make her a high dose kitty ( IAA, Acromegaly, Hyperthyroid or Cushing's) a change of insulin is in her best interests.

If you can change to Lantus, hopefully with your vet's permission, then DCIN could help with the syringes and test strips. Home testing on a regular basis would be so beneficial to see how Callie does with whatever insulin works for her and DCIN and other members here are willing to help you out.

You won't give up on your animals and the other animal lovers on this forum won't give up on you.

:bighug: :bighug:
 
Callie has been this hungry since I got her. Previous owners have no info. Not sure what she ate, drank or pee'd. She has only been on insulin for two months. I believe the hunger to be from the diabetes.
Indeed it is from the diabetes. As you know, Little Callie's cells aren't able to get the energy they need to properly make use of the food she's eating.

Someone said here that vetsulin is only for dogs. The maker(merck), says it is for both dogs and cats. I trust merck even though maybe vetsulin isn't best.
Based on what I've learned since Saoirse was diagnosed in June 2014, Vetsulin was originally developed for canine diabetics. It's actually sold under the brand name 'Caninsulin' in the UK. It has been approved in the European Union for treatment of feline diabetics as well. Indeed, in the UK Caninsulin/Vetsulin is the insulin that must be prescribed first for cats as well as dogs. If it can be shown that Caninsulin doesn't work for a cat the treating vet can then prescribe different insulins (e.g. Lantus, Prozinc).

Cats metabolize insulin faster than dogs (and humans) so a dose of Caninsulin typically wears off well before the 12 hours is up. This may leave the cat in higher numbers for a fair number of hours each day. In general, many cats tend to do better when treated with longer-acting insulins like Lantus. All that said, with the right dosing some cats do really well on Caninsulin/Vetsulin and may even go into diabetic remission. It's very much a case of the right insulin being the one that works for the cat.

My cat, Saoirse, was initially treated with Caninsulin. It kept her blood glucose levels down for only 3-6 hours out of each 12-hour cycle, then her numbers would go right back up again. I was able see the full effect because I was home testing. Before I got my meter I had to rely on secondary monitoring to get an idea of whether the insulin was working. I did notice that almost immediately after start of treatment with Caninsulin she stopped being ravenously hungry fairly quickly. It is difficult to know what Callie's hunger may be telling you. Of course she will be hungry if her blood glucose is too high, but there is no guarantee that some of the hunger could be coming from the Vetsulin taking her a bit low for part of the cycle. Tricky. Fingers and paws crossed when the testing supplies get sorted you'll get a much better picture of how Callie is responding to the Vetsulin. Hopefully you'll then be able to get her better regulated and things will brighten up a little for both of you. :bighug:

I think you are a truly inspiring woman.



Mogs
.
 
Cathy, in your earlier post you said your vet didn't care which insulin you used but they preferred Vetsulin. If I read that correctly how about starting the Lantus since you have it and want to use it?
 
The One Touch is a good meter but the strips are expensive..
On what you think would be a representative day take a BG before shot, then at 2 hours then at 5 hour and last before next shot . Better would be before shots, +2, +4 and +6 and before next shot

I did do what you asked. Just got power back on from storm yesterday, so am just now replying. At 5:30 am her bg was 463. At 5:35 she got 7u of vetsulin. 3 hrs later bg was 346. At five hrs 336. At 7hrs 352 and at 9 hrs 358. The first one I couldn't get at two hrs as my outdoor chores took much longer than usual and I didn't get back in in time. Thank you so much.- cathy
 
I did do what you asked. Just got power back on from storm yesterday, so am just now replying. At 5:30 am her bg was 463. At 5:35 she got 7u of vetsulin. 3 hrs later bg was 346. At five hrs 336. At 7hrs 352 and at 9 hrs 358. The first one I couldn't get at two hrs as my outdoor chores took much longer than usual and I didn't get back in in time. Thank you so much.- cathy

That is great that you got the curve for Callie. It shows that the Vetsulin is not doing what it is supposed to. Since you started at 2 units/shot and have worked up to 7 units/shot (which to me see rather high with no results) , there are two possibilities. The dose could be too high, (you may have missed the optimal dose) which is hard to tell with only the odd test being done periodically OR Vetsulin might be the wrong insulin for Callie. So my thoughts are there are 2 approaches. If you could take advantage of the offers made to you for testing supplies, you could do more regular daily tests using the Vetsulin OR you could convince your vet to be on board with using the Lantus. Whichever way you choose to go regular testing, at a minimum before each shot and at midcycle, is important, so taking up on the offers for help with the test strips would be a definite need.

I am sure others will weigh in on this soon, so let's see what the general consensus is.


:bighug:
 
Curve:
AMPS 463 7 units Vetsulin
+3 346
+7 336
+9 358

Since yo are seeing over a 100 point drip I do not consider that the dose is too high. Callie may be a high-dose cat. I would change insulins when you run out of the existing via of vetsulin and see if that helps. Lantus would be good to try.
In the meantime I would not hesitate in creasing dose to 8 units vetsulin.
 
Curve:
AMPS 463 7 units Vetsulin
+3 346
+7 336
+9 358

Since yo are seeing over a 100 point drip I do not consider that the dose is too high. Callie may be a high-dose cat. I would change insulins when you run out of the existing via of vetsulin and see if that helps. Lantus would be good to try.
In the meantime I would not hesitate in creasing dose to 8 units vetsulin.


Larry:

Since I have no experience with Vetsulin I may be off base here but I thought I would express a few concerns.

Cathy did not post when or how much she fed Callie. Is it possible the AMPS may have been food influenced?

As Cathy has stated she is in dire financial straits and can not do any more testing for this week for Callie. If she raises the dose and can not test is that safe?

Again because of financial restraints Cathy cannot afford to have extra testing done for high dose conditions, so even if that is a possibility can we just assume this is the case?

My thoughts are that the most pressing thing right now is to take advantage of one of the offers for more testing strips so that any dose increases can be monitored closely. She does not have a car and is a distance from the nearest town and if Callie were to have a hypo episode it could be very concerning.

Again, I may be out in left field with my thinking but these were just concerns that came to mind.
 
Based on the data and if Callie eats consistently I say 8 units is fine. I would not raise further without more data.
I would try another type of insulin and start at 1 unit and do a curve in abut 5 days and see what happens.

Thanks for the response Larry. As I said I am not familiar with Vetsulin. However it is imperative that Cathy take advantage of the offers for testing supplies, regardless of which insulin she ends up with. Without testing it is basically shooting blind.
 
Great job getting the curve done, Cathy. :cat:

Assuming that the AMPS test wasn't food influenced, it looks like Callie may be getting good duration for Vetsulin (in lowered range for 6 hours between +3 and +9) but it's just not lowering the BG levels sufficiently.

My two penn'orth. Other members may have a different take.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top