cat not responding to insulin

But I’m kind of a hypocrite! The first time Josie “limed,” I think we gave her a full can of gravy food AND temptations treats (essentially kitty sugar cookies) AND we “iced” the treats with honey! We’re lucky she didn’t spontaneously morph into a big bag of sugar on the spot! ... esp since, I’ll admit it, I think she was at +5.5 or even +6 at the time and so was almost certainly about to come up all on her own as she hit her nadir. :oops:

LOL! Yes!! Total freakout -- but my VET was also freaking out so that didn't help. I think R got like 2-3 T of Karo... treats, food... lol. Great info about the steering.
 
Also, not sure what happened last night, but it looks like you gave a unit more this AM then yesterday AM? Curious to know what may have happened last night since the AMPS was lower than it has been ...?
 
Jenna, not sure what you mean. I have been giving Tige 3 units twice a day since Aug. 30. I haven't tested since Aug. 29.
 
Oh! Oops! Looks like I didn’t actually, you know, read the numbers. :rolleyes: I was assuming that consecutive lines were consecutive days. My bad.
 
I had to stop testing, I was driving myself crazy, my husband too. I had changed his food and insulin, so I wanted to let it settle down for a week. And did it ever! The vet said to skip his dose tonight. His BG was 7.9 at 10+ hours. She said to give him 2 in the morning and monitor. He is not very hungry tonight -- a first for him. He always bugs for food, starting about 2 hours before he is supposed to eat. He is usually following me around and yelling until he gets his food. Not tonight. But when I got out his food, he came. He only ate about 1/3 of it, if that. I hope that's not a bad sign. He didn't sleep much today though, with us poking him hourly for three hours straight and then every two hours. He also went outside -- I watch him and don't let him wander -- and almost caught a squirrel! Very exciting day for him.
 
Back
Top