Cat newly diagnosed with diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.
How much of the proplan do you give your kitty? And how many times a day?
@sandysh66
The rule thumb is about 20 calories per pound of ideal weight.
So if Snuggles ideal weight is ,let's say 14 lbs
20x14=280 calories
I just looked at the 5.5 ounce can and it says there is 32.9 calories per ounce
So a 5.5 ounce can would be 180.95 calories for the whole can
They also come in 3 ounce cans , but I always try o grab the 5.5 ounce cans
I usually feed Tyler about 1 and a half cans of the 5.5 ounce cans a day
Bigger portion of that in the AM when I first test him and Bigger meal on the PM before I test him
Then smaller snacks of it about 2 teaspoons maybe 2 hours after that , then at the 4 hour mark
Same thing during the PM cycle
 
Last edited:
@sandysh66
The rule thumb is about 20 calories per pound of ideal weight.
So if Snuggles ideal weight is ,let's say 14 lbs
20x14=280 calories
I just looked at the 5.5 ounce can and it says there is 32.9 calories per ounce
So a 5.5 ounce can would be 180.95 calories for the whole can
They also come in 3 ounce cans , but I always try o grab the 5.5 ounce cans
On average for a 13lb 6 oz cat is there a set amount to shoot for carbs per day? Calories per day?
 
On average for a 13lb 6 oz cat is there a set amount to shoot for carbs per day? Calories per day?
Tyler weighs 13.8 pounds and I feed him the 1-1/2 cans per day , a little more if he bothers me lol
Oh you want to always add some water to the wet food , don't make it like soup, I just put enough in where it gets nice and moist mix it around good.
If it drys up a little add some more.. You don't have to worry about the carbs , like I said it's only 4 % carbs
@sandysh66

Try to stop feeding snacks around +6 ( that's 6 hours after you give insulin first thing in the AM and PM shot,that's usually when the BG is the lowest ,so you don't want to bump the BG number with food unless you have to if his number drops to low.
You want him to surf in nice blue and green numbers
You will see what I mean when your spreadsheet is set up
Just be sure not to feed 2 hours before testing him in the AM and PM after that you can go ahead and feed snacks without holding food
I know it's a lot of info now just keep asking questions
You can also tag any members you see that have replied back to you if you need help
Do you know how to tag
@sandysh66

Of course if you can only find the 3 ounce can you will have to feed him more cans
 
Last edited:
Tyler weighs 13.8 pounds and I feed him the 1-1/2 cans per day , a little more if he bothers me lol
Oh you want to always add some water to the wet food , don't make it like soup, I just put enough in where it gets nice and moist mix it around good.
If it drys up a little add some more.. You don't have to worry about the carbs , like I said it's only 4 % carbs
@sandysh66

Try to stop feeding snacks around +6 ( that's 6 hours after you give insulin first thing in the AM and PM shot,that's usually when the BG is the lowest ,so you don't want to bump the BG number with food unless you have to if his number drops to low.
You want him to surf in nice blue and green numbers
You will see what I mean when your spreadsheet is set up
Just be sure not to feed 2 hours before testing him in the AM and PM after that you can go ahead and feed snacks without holding food
I know it's a lot of info now just keep asking questions
You can also tag any members you see that have replied back to you if you need help
Do you know how to tag
@sandysh66

Of course if you can only find the 3 ounce can you will have to feed him more cans
Do you feed Tyler other wet food besides the ProPlan? I’m going to have to come up with a schedule since I work. So, feed 2 hours prior to testing in AM and PM…then give insulin if BS is ok. I’m going to be starting the Lantus 1u once I get everything. Is there a protocol on when to administer insulin vs when to hold? Any advice on that? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Do you feed Tyler other wet food besides the ProPlan? I’m going to have to come up with a schedule since I work. So, feed 2 hours prior to testing in AM and PM…then give insulin if BS is ok. I’m going to be starting the Lantus 1u once I get everything. Is there a protocol on when to administer insulin vs when to hold? Any advice on that? @Diane Tyler's Mom
NO you do not want to feed any food 2 hours before you test Snuggles BG first thing in the morning same goes for when you text him 12 hours later the PM cycle
You do not want his BG to be food influenced
Can I ask what hours do you work? Do you have the weekends off

Usually with new members if you get a pre shot below 200 you would stall and then test again in 20 minutes to see if it's coming up.
You can start a post like this
STALLING NEED ADVICE Date Snuggles AMPS#

@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
The vet told me if a cat is only on wet food it can cause dental issues. Thoughts?
That's another myth!!!! Tyler was on dry food all his life and still needed a dental cleaning. He's due for another one soon
Of course the wet food probably makes it worse , I try to brush his teeth , doesn't go so well lol
So I just get a gauze pad and wrap it around my finger and rub his top teeth and gums back and forth , same with the bottom teeth at least twice a day

@sandysh66

Do you know the last time Snuggles had his teeth checked?
 
Last edited:
If you are concerned about him eating his snacks through the day while you're at work most members buy an auto feeder so they can set it to open at certain times of the day. I'll give you a suggestion of the ones you can buy

I see a lot of members use this auto feeder comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
They also add some water to the food so it won't dry out

https://www.chewy.com/cat-mate-c500-digital-5-meal/dp/154556?utm_source=google-product&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=hg&utm_content=Cat Mate&utm_term=&gclid=Cj0KCQjwmIuDBhDXARIsAFITC_63x-luggpCkFZRkS8gkKWhzRbyN2QiluSdQbUAVg-nyE2iitAjCY4aAjTmEALw_wcB


Extra ice packs
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...8EYNZ1RBTQP&psc=1&refRID=AQNY433XJ8EYNZ1RBTQP
of 5 stars Identical to original ice packs that came with my Cat Mate C500


Here is a 2 meal feeder
https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-2-Me...enses/dp/B000241NRI?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
If I’m gone 9 hours a day I’m thinking the 2 meal feeder right? @Diane Tyler's Mom
I would say 2 would be fine

Get this one instead it comes with only one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Small/dp/B08B6G8PKZ/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Get an extra one
https://www.amazon.com/Replacement-Ice-Pack-C20-Feeder/dp/B00176DR5G/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

You can even buy stainless steel bowls for it
https://www.amazon.com/Stainless-St...eders/dp/B0949PMWP6?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

The other 2 slot one didn't come with any ice packs

@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
I leave my house at 9am for work and I’m back home around 6pm. I am off next Friday, January 27th, Saturday, the 28th and Sunday the 29th. @Diane Tyler's Mom
OK can you get up and test her at 7 AM?
You will have to stop feeding her anything at 5 AM
So get up test , feed and then shoot ( give insulin) This should only take about 15 minutes. Then you can give a quick test before you walk out the door say around 8:50 AM
Then when you get home you do the same think ,no food after 5PM
You will test again at 7 PM ,feed, then shoot

Set the auto feeder when you want it to open then
Remember no eating after 5AM or 5PM because you don't want the BG to be food influenced

How does that sound
@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
Do you feed Tyler other wet food besides the ProPlan?

Sometimes I'll cut up some of this cat food and put a little bit on top of the Purino Pro Plan Urinary Tract, so he doesn't get bored :p low carb 0.338
259086_MAIN._AC_SS300_V1605283327_.jpg
 
Make sure you have your hypo kit in case you ever have to bring Snuggles BG up
Such as
med and high carb wet food and some honey?


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Grav
20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
 
That's another myth!!!! Tyler was on dry food all his life and still needed a dental cleaning. He's due for another one soon
Of course the wet food probably makes it worse , I try to brush his teeth , doesn't go so well lol
So I just get a gauze pad and wrap it around my finger and rub his top teeth and gums back and forth , same with the bottom teeth at least twice a day

@sandysh66

Do you know the last time Snuggles had his teeth checked?
I don’t think Snuggles has ever had her teeth checked.
 
OK can you get up and test her at 7 AM?
You will have to stop feeding her anything at 5 AM
So get up test , feed and then shoot ( give insulin) This should only take about 15 minutes. Then you can give a quick test before you walk out the door say around 8:50 AM
Then when you get home you do the same think ,no food after 5PM
You will test again at 7 PM ,feed, then shoot

Set the auto feeder when you want it to open then
Remember no eating after 5AM or 5PM because you don't want the BG to be food influenced

How does that sound
@sandysh66
Auto feeder at 11am and 3pm??? And a few Tablespoons each of those feedings? Is that good?
 
I would say 2 would be fine

Get this one instead it comes with only one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Small/dp/B08B6G8PKZ/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Get an extra one
https://www.amazon.com/Replacement-Ice-Pack-C20-Feeder/dp/B00176DR5G/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

You can even buy stainless steel bowls for it
https://www.amazon.com/Stainless-St...eders/dp/B0949PMWP6?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

The other 2 slot one didn't come with any ice packs

@sandysh66
My husband gets mail order Lantus…he’s a diabetic. I have plenty of ice packs from those shipments!
 
I’m ordering the Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Classic…just wanted to make sure I’m correct. It looks like the turkey and giblets, ocean whitefish, beef & chicken, and the one with salmon are good low carb options according to the chart. Is this correct? Thank you! @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
I’m ordering the Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Classic…just wanted to make sure I’m correct. It looks like the turkey and giblets, ocean whitefish, beef & chicken, and the one with salmon are good low carb options according to the chart. Is this correct? Thank you! @Diane Tyler's Mom
Yes Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health
, Yes some say Classic in a little circle on the can some say gravy
They all look good , I just not crazy about the turkey and giblet one , read about certain animal organs that are in it. Tyler didn't like it anyway
I tried it was ,he wouldn't eat it
They day try not to feed a lot of fish because of mercury .
Maybe feed it like only twice a week
Here is one you missed
It's not a smooth pate like the others ,it's looks like tiny tiny pieces about the size of a pea
I do give it to Tyler occasionally and he likes it
pro-plan-urinary-tract-health-chicken-gravy-wet-cat-food.png
 
Also, is there any dry low carb cat food I could use just for treats? @Diane Tyler's Mom
OK here we go :p
Yes there is some dry lc cat food, but the members still say try to stay with an all wet diet. Besides that we have 2 dosing methods to follow with lantus
They tell you when an increase or decrease is needed . I will give you the link for lantus , maybe I did already can't remember .
If you do feed the dry you can't follow the TR method
You would need to follow the SLGS Method
Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Just a quick explanation but you should read the yellow sticky
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more agressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

I think you should start with SLGS , you can always switch to TR
When you decide add it to your signature and SS


As for treats when you test or give insulin
for treats for testing
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

You can even give plain boiled chicken pieces

Is this enough homework for you :p

Oh if you want the name of the low carb dry let me know, I'll tell you this it's very expensive for what you get and it's not sold in stores
There are a few and they are all expensive
They are around 6% carbs

Here's one 35.15 for a 6 lb bag
https://www.amazon.com/Dr-ElseyS-Cl...rmula/dp/B07FCPBMRT?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey-s-Chicken-Flavor-Dry-Cat-Food-Grain-Free-2-lb-Bag/790821573. 13.97 for a 2 lb bag

@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
Yes Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health
, Yes some say Classic in a little circle on the can some say gravy
They all look good , I just not crazy about the turkey and giblet one , read about certain animal organs that are in it. Tyler didn't like it anyway
I tried it was ,he wouldn't eat it
They day try not to feed a lot of fish because of mercury .
Maybe feed it like only twice a week
Here is one you missed
It's not a smooth pate like the others ,it's looks like tiny tiny pieces about the size of a pea
I do give it to Tyler occasionally and he likes it
pro-plan-urinary-tract-health-chicken-gravy-wet-cat-food.png
OK here we go :p
Yes there is some dry lc cat food, but the members still say try to stay with an all wet diet. Besides that we have 2 dosing methods to follow with lantus
They tell you when an increase or decrease is needed . I will give you the link for lantus , maybe I did already can't remember .
If you do feed the dry you can't follow the TR method
You would need to follow the SLGS Method
Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Just a quick explanation but you should read the yellow sticky
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more agressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

I think you should start with SLGS , you can always switch to TR
When you decide add it to your signature and SS


As for treats when you test or give insulin
for treats for testing
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

You can even give plain boiled chicken pieces

Is this enough homework for you :p

Oh if you want the name of the low carb dry let me know, I'll tell you this it's very expensive for what you get and it's not sold in stores
There are a few and they are all expensive
They are around 6% carbs

Here's one 35.15 for a 6 lb bag
https://www.amazon.com/Dr-ElseyS-Cl...rmula/dp/B07FCPBMRT?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey-s-Chicken-Flavor-Dry-Cat-Food-Grain-Free-2-lb-Bag/790821573. 13.97 for a 2 lb bag

@sandysh66
Well I’m just now reading this and of course the Proplan I got was 12 large cans..6 turkey and giblet and 6 ocean whitefish! Of course that’s the one I would get! Ugghh. And the vet’s office called in wrong prescription so now the Lantus pens won’t be in until late Monday! I am going to transition to an all wet diet..not using dry food…I feel like that’s the right decision.
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
OK here we go :p
Yes there is some dry lc cat food, but the members still say try to stay with an all wet diet. Besides that we have 2 dosing methods to follow with lantus
They tell you when an increase or decrease is needed . I will give you the link for lantus , maybe I did already can't remember .
If you do feed the dry you can't follow the TR method
You would need to follow the SLGS Method
Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Just a quick explanation but you should read the yellow sticky
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more agressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

I think you should start with SLGS , you can always switch to TR
When you decide add it to your signature and SS


As for treats when you test or give insulin
for treats for testing
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

You can even give plain boiled chicken pieces

Is this enough homework for you :p

Oh if you want the name of the low carb dry let me know, I'll tell you this it's very expensive for what you get and it's not sold in stores
There are a few and they are all expensive
They are around 6% carbs

Here's one 35.15 for a 6 lb bag
https://www.amazon.com/Dr-ElseyS-Cl...rmula/dp/B07FCPBMRT?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey-s-Chicken-Flavor-Dry-Cat-Food-Grain-Free-2-lb-Bag/790821573. 13.97 for a 2 lb bag

@sandysh66
Is the 50-100 range the target range even on the human Glucometer? I wasn’t sure if numbers are the same for humans and pets on the human Glucometer. I’m not sure I’m able to test 4 times a day due to work schedule..so does that mean I can’t do the SLGS method? I guess the goal for SLGS method has a 90-150 range.
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
OK here we go :p
Yes there is some dry lc cat food, but the members still say try to stay with an all wet diet. Besides that we have 2 dosing methods to follow with lantus
They tell you when an increase or decrease is needed . I will give you the link for lantus , maybe I did already can't remember .
If you do feed the dry you can't follow the TR method
You would need to follow the SLGS Method
Read all the yellow stickys
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Just a quick explanation but you should read the yellow sticky
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more agressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

I think you should start with SLGS , you can always switch to TR
When you decide add it to your signature and SS


As for treats when you test or give insulin
for treats for testing
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

You can even give plain boiled chicken pieces

Is this enough homework for you :p

Oh if you want the name of the low carb dry let me know, I'll tell you this it's very expensive for what you get and it's not sold in stores
There are a few and they are all expensive
They are around 6% carbs

Here's one 35.15 for a 6 lb bag
https://www.amazon.com/Dr-ElseyS-Cl...rmula/dp/B07FCPBMRT?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey-s-Chicken-Flavor-Dry-Cat-Food-Grain-Free-2-lb-Bag/790821573. 13.97 for a 2 lb bag

@sandysh66
So..I bought 4 bags of Purebites today..2 chicken and 2 salmon..I guess I should use caution giving too many salmon ones. Also, if I order the Vital essentials minnows should I use them with caution like fish? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
Well I’m just now reading this and of course the Proplan I got was 12 large cans..6 turkey and giblet and 6 ocean whitefish! Of course that’s the one I would get! Ugghh. And the vet’s office called in wrong prescription so now the Lantus pens won’t be in until late Monday! I am going to transition to an all wet diet..not using dry food…I feel like that’s the right decision.
@Diane Tyler's Mom
I'm sure you can still feed them both. I was just reading unbiased opinions in the turkey and giblet one, believe me I'm sure it's fine
Always add a little water to the food

Are you feeding any dry food now? If so you have to transition to wet food slowly
Let me know
@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
Is the 50-100 range the target range even on the human Glucometer? I wasn’t sure if numbers are the same for humans and pets on the human Glucometer. I’m not sure I’m able to test 4 times a day due to work schedule..so does that mean I can’t do the SLGS method? I guess the goal for SLGS method has a 90-150 range.
@Diane Tyler's Mom
Yes the numbers are the same for humans and pets. You would need to follow SLGS if you can't get 4 tests in a day.
The difference between the 2 dosing methods is that you can adjust the dose of insulin faster following TR than SLGS
But try and get as many tests in as you can , weekends may
 
I'm sure you can still feed them both. I was just reading unbiased opinions in the turkey and giblet one, believe me I'm sure it's fine
Always add a little water to the food

Are you feeding any dry food now? If so you have to transition to wet food slowly
Let me know
@sandysh66
Yes I’m feeding dry food also. Do you have any advice on how to transition the change to wet food? Like a timeline? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Yes Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health
, Yes some say Classic in a little circle on the can some say gravy
They all look good , I just not crazy about the turkey and giblet one , read about certain animal organs that are in it. Tyler didn't like it anyway
I tried it was ,he wouldn't eat it
They day try not to feed a lot of fish because of mercury .
Maybe feed it like only twice a week
Here is one you missed
It's not a smooth pate like the others ,it's looks like tiny tiny pieces about the size of a pea
I do give it to Tyler occasionally and he likes it
pro-plan-urinary-tract-health-chicken-gravy-wet-cat-food.png
This is difficult to find…the chicken flavor! Are you still finding it? I see there’s one that says complete essentials in gravy and written in French and English…thoughts? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
This is difficult to find…the chicken flavor! Are you still finding it? I see there’s one that says complete essentials in gravy and written in French and English…thoughts? @Diane Tyler's Mom
No you want this one NOT the complete essentials because the ine in the pic is urinary tract .I have no trouble finding it.
I either find it at Petco, Pet smart, I also think Walmart carries it
Where do you live?
 
Last edited:
No you want this one not the complete essentials . I have no trouble finding it.
I either find it at Petco, Pet smart, I also think Walmart carries it
Where do you live?
I’m in PA..they are all out of stock for shipping and Walmart is out of stock near me. Chewy is out of stock. The other stores were also out of stock near me. I ordered Beef and Chicken but would like just chicken too. Is there a way to read labels so I know the carb content? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
I’m in PA..they are all out of stock for shipping and Walmart is out of stock near me. Chewy is out of stock. The other stores were also out of stock near me. I ordered Beef and Chicken but would like just chicken too. Is there a way to read labels so I know the carb content? @Diane Tyler's Mom
There is a carb calculator you can use , but I have never attempted to use it.
How I found out what the carbs are is to type in what I'm looking for and I will see that Chewy has it I'll tap in that and you will see that people have asked questions about it. Tap on that and scroll down , most if the time I see what I'm looking for
 
The Chicken is 4.5 percent carbs
The Beef and Chicken were the same I can't remember where I found it but I wrote it down
Pretty sure the turkey and giblets was 10% carbs

Try looking for the chicken one at petsuppliesplus.com
 
Last edited:
The Chicken is 4.5 percent carbs
The Beef and Chicken were the same I can't remember where I found it but I wrote it down
Pretty sure the turkey and giblets was 10% carbs

Try looking for the chicken one at petsuppliesplus.com
Oh wow! I actually bought some turkey and giblet ones…should I not give those? Also, I just looked at the U-100 syringes…1u of Lantus is less insulin than 1u of Vetsulin right? Am I seeing that right? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
@sandysh66
The rule thumb is about 20 calories per pound of ideal weight.
So if Snuggles ideal weight is ,let's say 14 lbs
20x14=280 calories
I just looked at the 5.5 ounce can and it says there is 32.9 calories per ounce
So a 5.5 ounce can would be 180.95 calories for the whole can
They also come in 3 ounce cans , but I always try o grab the 5.5 ounce cans
I usually feed Tyler about 1 and a half cans of the 5.5 ounce cans a day
Bigger portion of that in the AM when I first test him and Bigger meal on the PM before I test him
Then smaller snacks of it about 2 teaspoons maybe 2 hours after that , then at the 4 hour mark
Same thing during the PM cycle
I’m going through and taking notes..you feed before you test? Also, if I’m still feeding HC and LC food do I figure out caloric needs and give her just that amount of calories a day? @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
I’m going through and taking notes..you feed before you test? Also, if I’m still feeding HC and LC food do I figure out caloric needs and give her just that amount of calories a day? @Diane Tyler's Mom
No No No lol With Lantus you test first ,don't feed anything 2 hours prior to testing
Feed , then give insulin
Whatever her ideal weight should be you times that by 20. That's how many calories you want to feed or close to it.
@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
Ohco . w! I actually bought some turkey and giblet ones…should I not give those? Also, I just looked at the U-100 syringes…1u of Lantus is less insulin than 1u of Vetsulin right? Am I seeing that right? @Diane Tyler's Mom
It's OK to feed the turkey and giblets just found another site that it said there are 3.5 % carbs not 10 so you're good
So you are comparing the lines on both syringes ,is that what you're saying?
What did you get the relion syringes?

Did you check out
Try looking for the chicken one at petsuppliesplus.com. for the chicken flavor

You said right now Snuggles is eating
It is the c/d wet not dry. I’m sure it’s not much better!
Which flavor and exactly , does it say urinary on it

@sandysh66
 
Last edited:
It's OK to feed the turkey and giblets just found another site that it said there are 3.5 % carbs not 10 so you're good
So you are comparing the lines on both syringes ,is that what you're saying?
What did you get the relion syringes?

Did you check out
Try looking for the chicken one at petsuppliesplus.com. for the chicken flavor

You said right now Snuggles is eating
It is the c/d wet not dry. I’m sure it’s not much better!
Which flavor and exactly , does it say urinary on it

@sandysh66
The turkey and giblets is the PurinaPro Plan and it does say Urinary on the can. I’m going to be giving Snuggles around 270 calories a day. She is 13.5#. I am updating my Spreadsheet soon and hopefully you can give me your thoughts. @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top