Cat (named Cooper) is insulin resistant?

Status
Not open for further replies.
No. You have a little wiggle room with ProZinc. I believe that as long as the shot is within the hour you are fine.

I have had to adjust things by half an hour here and there to get back on track myself.
 
Because I have a very 'bouncy' kitty, I have to warn you that having gone so low, Cooper may bounce. You may see his numbers go up pretty high and possibly stay 'flat' for a period of time. That is a very confusing thing to see if you do not know what it is. It can take a couple/few cycles to work itself out. Just stick with your dose for awhile (unless, as discussed, you have a really low pre-shot test) and see what happens.

By the way, when do we get to see a picture of Cooper? :)
 
Took a Preshot BG test an hour after he had eaten and his normal PM shot time.. BG was 361 so I gave him his shot with a dose of 2.5u ....
Sorry to post yet again, but I wanted to mention that you will want to put the 361 as the PMPS on your spreadsheet. You can put in the notes that it was 160 before you fed him and waited and so on. Otherwise, it looks like you gave the shot when he was at 160, and he then rose to 361 afterwards. Trust me.. that kind of stuff will get confusing.
 
Question.. When you delay a shot, do you have to start a new 12hr cycle between shots? I could see where this could creep up over time to where one was having to give shots late after midnight if the answer is yes.

another option is to work your way back to your chosen shot times.....by moving the next few shots 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day, you can get that time back in a few days

Took a Preshot BG test an hour after he had eaten and his normal PM shot time

You should try not to feed him for the 2 hours immediately before Preshot times so you get a number that's not influenced by food....we usually expect them to be higher an hour after food (we call it a "food bump") and it's useful information to know in the future....knowing how much of a "food bump" to expect can help you when making a decision to shoot a lower PS number (like if you know he usually bumps up 80-100 points after food, that can make a difference if you're PS number is 150)

If you absolutely can't test without giving him something, try baked chicken or a little piece of tuna (or other pure protein) to distract him while you're testing
 
another option is to work your way back to your chosen shot times.....by moving the next few shots 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day, you can get that time back in a few days



You should try not to feed him for the 2 hours immediately before Preshot times so you get a number that's not influenced by food....we usually expect them to be higher an hour after food (we call it a "food bump") and it's useful information to know in the future....knowing how much of a "food bump" to expect can help you when making a decision to shoot a lower PS number (like if you know he usually bumps up 80-100 points after food, that can make a difference if you're PS number is 150)

If you absolutely can't test without giving him something, try baked chicken or a little piece of tuna (or other pure protein) to distract him while you're testing

I only feed him twice a day, so he is really hungry at pre-shot time.. I took the suggestion to feed Cooper a small amount of pure-protein wet food (1 oz) and then BG test within 15 minutes of feeding..Tried to feed while trying to get a blood sample off a moving head is too hard for me.. After test, I give him the rest of his meal.
 
Last edited:
Because I have a very 'bouncy' kitty, I have to warn you that having gone so low, Cooper may bounce. You may see his numbers go up pretty high and possibly stay 'flat' for a period of time. That is a very confusing thing to see if you do not know what it is. It can take a couple/few cycles to work itself out. Just stick with your dose for awhile (unless, as discussed, you have a really low pre-shot test) and see what happens.

By the way, when do we get to see a picture of Cooper? :)
The little owl has flown away and a pictured of Cooper is here :cat:
 
Cooper had a good Mid-point and I think the BG bouncing has settled down...Will keep him at current dose of 2.5u for now and let him settle in with the new diet and more active lifestyle.. He is laying on my keyboard right now watching me try to type...Thanks again for all the help you'al have given me, which my Vet would have billed about $10,000 for him time ;)
 
Need advice... Cooper's PM readings at +12 were low BG 119 and tested 30min later were 92, so I have delayed shot... Nothing had changed in dose, food or activity.. So not sure what is going on?? ...If BG goes up in a few hours, should I give Cooper his normal 2.5u dose or reduced about or just skipped this one?
 
Since you're using Novolin, you don't want to shoot anything under 200 because of the harsh nature of that insulin

Generally, if you're getting Preshots that are too low to shoot, it's a good indication that the dose is too high, so I'd probably skip tonight and if he's high enough in the morning, go with 2U and see how he does

Could you please add some information to your signature like:

Your name/cats name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems? and a general location

Having to go back and read the entire thread to remind ourselves of what's going on and this basic information takes a lot of time....and in a crisis, it's time we might not have.
 
Since you're using Novolin, you don't want to shoot anything under 200 because of the harsh nature of that insulin

Generally, if you're getting Preshots that are too low to shoot, it's a good indication that the dose is too high, so I'd probably skip tonight and if he's high enough in the morning, go with 2U and see how he does

Could you please add some information to your signature like:

Your name/cats name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems? and a general location

Having to go back and read the entire thread to remind ourselves of what's going on and this basic information takes a lot of time....and in a crisis, it's time we might not have.
Cooper is on ProZinc as of 9/12 .. will add that general information to Sig. ..Thanks for quick response.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top